2023 Kawasaki ZX-25R open for booking in Malaysia – coming in September, two versions, below RM40k

Booking for the Malaysia market 2023 Kawasaki ZX-25R is now open with expected delivery in September. This was announced during the Kawasaki Green Mana day at Gamuda Cove by Edaron Modenas (EMOS).

The long delayed launch of the ZX-25R was due to various reasons and it is now official Kawasaki’s quarter-litre four-cylinder sports bike will arrive next month. There will be two variants of the ZX-25R on offer – the SE and RR.

While pricing for the ZX-25R has not been divulged, Modenas chief executive officer Roslan Raskan said it will not exceed RM40,000 recommended retail. From sources in the industry, the price for the ZX-25R is likely to be around RM34,000 for the SE and RM38,000 for the RR version.

The ZX-25r coming to Malaysia will be the latest version complete with TFT-LCD instrument panel and two ride modes – High and Low. Also standard will be traction control, two-channel ABS, quickshifter and floating brake discs clamped by four-piston monobloc callipers.

Mian difference between the versions of the ZX-25R is in the suspension, with the SE getting preload-adjustable upside-down front fork and monoshock. Meanwhile, the ZX-25 RR gets Showa SFF-BP 37 mm diameter upside-down forks with preload adjustment and Showa BFRC monoshock with adjustable preload and compression along with graphics inspired by the Kawasaki Racing Team in the World Superbike Championship.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Kah kah..this is really LEBIH BAIK AMIK…….sila sambung

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 21
  • a classic case of better late than never… thank you lah modenas

• Ben Yap on Aug 07, 2023 at 11:55 am

If the badge is Kawasaki, boleh beli. if the badge is Modenas, kurang minat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
  • Peppa on Aug 07, 2023 at 12:20 pm

Overpriced periodT

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • The “lebih baik amik” geng will come, but they won’t understand. Where can you get a screaming 4-inline, 250cc, 50hp today? Its basically a 500cc bike with lower cost of maintenance, roadtax & insurance. The most important aspect is the no need for a B-full license. Basically “why u need to spend time & money on a B-full license if you can’t afford to buy nor maintain liter bikes?”

Oh and those screaming 4 but didn’t have to go beyond speed limit. Those are marvelous.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
    • Its ok if in Indonesia related, in Malaysia become expensive. better get 400-700cc 2nd hand around RM22-33k) anytime with just half RPM 7-8k RPM can overtake this ZX25r.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
      • Lane Splitter on Aug 08, 2023 at 8:42 pm

If you think pre-owned bigger cc is better, you missed the whole point. Some of us wanted 250cc for a reason that bigger cc can’t provide, not because of the price. Based on my experience owned a CBR650RR for a year, then downgraded to CBR250RR until now. (if only ZX25R available earlier, I would’ve bought that one)

1) Most people already have license for it.
        2) Cheaper overall maintenance. Not limited to valvetrain service only. There’s also tyres, drive chain, brake job, etc is cheaper than bigger cc.
        3) We’re not speed demon. We want to enjoy the sound of inline 4 without excessive speed. We won’t exceed 200kmh even if we can. We want to up and down shift more before reaching the next traffic light, just to enjoy the sound.
        4) Fun factor in a small but adequate package. With smaller cc, you can use all the powerband available to the fullest without being held back by powerful torque or tiring weight. Plus, that inline 4 sound in this ZX25R is addicting.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 0
    • donno on Aug 07, 2023 at 6:45 pm

Lower cost of maintenance??

I once had both Versys 650 and ZXR-250R 4cyliner at the same time.

I will tell you, the ZXR service cost is 2x the Versys. The fuel consumption is the same (yes becoz new FI tech vs carburettors).

You need 4 bottles of engine oil for ZXR, only 2 bottles for Versys. Valve clearance service for ZXR is also much more expensive (16 valves to check vs just 8 valves for Versys).

The only +ve aspect is no need B full license. If you have B full, its cheaper to use 500cc rather than 250cc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
      • jayjay on Aug 08, 2023 at 10:06 am

May I know whether you recommended getting a B full license for over RM1000, and then exploring the possibilities of 2nd hand big bike for 50% way less than the retail price of the new bike, is it?

• Donno on Aug 08, 2023 at 1:02 pm

If you have cash, then it is the way to go (instead of getting 4cylinder 250cc screamer).

ER-6N or ninja 650 would be a good beginner bike to start with.

• well the zx25r only uses 2.5L of EO only

• Sape tu? on Aug 10, 2023 at 11:50 am

Did you know that honda will release a 4-inline cbr 250rr?

• sunrock on Aug 07, 2023 at 2:59 pm

Remembered the price of the 40hp ZXR-250R Type C in 1996 was only RM16,365

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • luqman on Aug 07, 2023 at 6:28 pm

mampuih la nak harage die belibeli

• KAWASAKTI? ok wat

• Negromancer on Aug 08, 2023 at 12:51 pm

Mohan. Horsepower berapa

• Hime Chan on Aug 16, 2023 at 9:23 am

51hp..tpi ada dpt info klau yg paling latest kt japan tambah 3 lagi hp dia..

• Hime Chan on Aug 16, 2023 at 9:26 am

51hp ntuk yg Malaysia pnye.. tpi ada dpt info klau yg paling latest kt japan tambah 3 lagi hp dia haha..

• Kidam on Aug 09, 2023 at 8:33 pm

It is not comparable to a similar priced 500cc, because the ZX25R is a sports bike. As the name suggest, it eats corners, it’s sitting position, suspensions, throttle and brakes are tuned for racing, not just bising and power.

ER6N or the Z900 may produce more power but is sluggish around corners and wet roads, whereas the ZX25R will be perfectly poised, because the bike will be giving the rider feedback ma, geli depan, geli belakang, balanced, brek pun cepat, etc

Besides, kalau aku sampai depan awek, ahmoi atau achi, aku nak sampai dengan superbike gorgeous full fairing, bunyi engine 4 dapur ma..

bukan naik motor 2 dapur, tegak, macam orang sakit belakang.

• Sahin sk on Aug 20, 2023 at 5:40 am

I Love Kawasaki

• Sahin sk on Aug 20, 2023 at 5:43 am

Hi sar

• Tarik on Sep 06, 2023 at 9:53 am

Kawankasi

• Ada duit masing masing pergi beli , bukan duk “ dari ambik ini “ dari ambik itu apa bagai

• Helmy on Oct 15, 2023 at 1:59 am

Over priced.