Perodua issues statement on dress code etiquette notice at service centre in Kuantan, Pahang

Following emergence on social media of a dress code etiquette notice photographed at a Perodua service centre, the national carmaker has issued an official statement on the matter.

“It has come to our attention that there has been an issue regarding an irregular ‘dress code etiquette’ notice which was displayed at the Perodua Service Centre in Kuantan, Pahang.

“We would like to inform you that we have already taken immediate action by removing the signage. This particular dress code etiquette is not aligned with our official guidelines and we are now conducting an official investigation into the matter followed by corrective measures to ensure that such an incident does not repeat itself,” read a statement by Perodua Sales COO, JH Rozman Jaafar.

We sincerely apologise for any inconvenience experienced by our valued customers at the Perodua Service Centre,” the statement concluded.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments mostly express strong opposition and skepticism toward Perodua’s strict dress code policy at the Kuantan service center, with many deeming it excessive and inappropriate for a car service environment. Several comments compare it to fine dining standards and criticize the ruling political influence, especially PAS's involvement, viewing it as overzealous religious extremism. Some highlight that customers should not be forced into formal attire when servicing vehicles and warn that such policies could harm sales and reputation. A few comments suggest that dress rules should be modest but reasonable, emphasizing practicality over formality. Overall, sentiments lean towards frustration and ridicule of the dress code enforcement, with discussions often veering into broader political or racial topics, but the key theme remains opposition to perceived overreach and unnecessary restrictions.

• Almighty Snack Bar on Aug 09, 2023 at 5:27 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 204
    • PH Supporter on Aug 09, 2023 at 6:19 pm

Not Gomen office so dont blame the state gomen ya. Selangor pon ada buat jugak tau.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 25
      • Dah Menang Semua on Aug 10, 2023 at 2:21 am

I will wear a tie next time
        As going in for an interview

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • TunggangJgnTakTunggang on Aug 09, 2023 at 7:15 pm

PAS suka hati tafsirkan ayat2 Quran utk kepentingan politik masih dapat berkat ke?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 13
      • Kari la lu mat on Aug 10, 2023 at 2:56 am

Abes ko ganti lah PAS tu kalo hebat sgt. Kalo x perform sembang kari jugak, kasi 10 sebatan.

Politik semua sama je bangsat, slagi xde HUKUMAN berat kalo x perform.

Amcm brani?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
    • Ozawa on Aug 10, 2023 at 5:40 am

Simpan la cket bodo tue ekstremis PN. Lebai cant get enuff wiv 4 wifes

• pika-you on Aug 10, 2023 at 11:00 am

stupid PAS and followers, only stick unrelate matter til end of world. Soon ask all malaysian female cover whole body.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
      • Sundaralingam V eloi on Aug 11, 2023 at 3:29 pm

Remove the idiot who came up with this instruction. Ask him to work where the management requires to check if people are wearing underwear or not

• DonkeyKong on Aug 09, 2023 at 5:36 pm

More and more people transforming into extremists.. Those who cannot control their lust, where even wearing shorts is an affront, are the same ones that end up violating animals and underaged kids.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 167 Thumb down 19
    • seancorr on Aug 09, 2023 at 6:19 pm

Yep you only see those cases happening in their area.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 4
      • Why So Serious on Aug 10, 2023 at 9:06 am

Then why go to their area. Its like going to the ghettos in the Bronx and not expecting to be robbed or harrassed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
        • Ramdan on Aug 10, 2023 at 4:18 pm

They are coming to KL, Selangor etc with their mindset and culture, not the other way round

• This is not in KL or Selangor, read the headlines again bro

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
      • Dah Menang Semua on Aug 10, 2023 at 9:47 am

Higher density of sicked mind
        Now they are everywhere
        Twisted other’s mind
        In the name of Allah

• History Bender on Aug 09, 2023 at 6:28 pm

In the past all these are legal, it is only man that made things illegal. Same as smoking weed, in the past is illegal now it is legal. Nothing is immutable or perpetual.

So what is legal or illegal as even laws are in flux. As well human morality are changable and terms such as what constitutes an extremist is flawed as the logic cannot withstand the perpetuity of time. Only the law of animal kingdom have remained constant through the evolution of life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 3
      • i miss Kunta Kinte on Aug 10, 2023 at 10:23 am

So you’re saying its okay for people to commit crimes like rape and upskirt videos. Bodoh criminal like your friend Angry Voters wanting a military coup

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
        • I Miss BN 60 Years Rule on Aug 10, 2023 at 2:24 pm

Its the only way to save our country from PH enforcing laws as dress codes, confiscating rainbow watches, and cancelling concerts, and trying to jail artists. Down with PH!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
    • Ethan on Aug 09, 2023 at 6:55 pm

Who would have thought that looking at knees would give some people raging hardons

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 1
      • SELF RIGHTEOUS RECALCITRANT SQUARE PEGS on Aug 09, 2023 at 7:55 pm

Those dudes r using “their moral thermometers’ at a perodua service centre,oh my gaud.
        If your girlfriend so happen to wear a tight tanktop,with a voluptious buxom figure…oh my…r the salesmen salivating,without control,semen seeping thro their trousers?
        Those people who r so self righteous…pls give solutions how to STOP a dad raping his 9 year old daughter,a grandpa raping his 10year old cucu,a mum suffocating her toddler to death etc.
        The blardy Perodua staff should be sacked n sent to a workplace where he/she can preach to hardened drug addicts,pushers,call girls etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
      • thamuz on Aug 10, 2023 at 8:52 am

ankles too, apparently. mind blowing.

• Lockdown sick dudes on Aug 09, 2023 at 8:03 pm

Dont be surprised,one fine day “LADIES WITHOUT CHASTITY BELTS ..no entry “.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • Roti canai atas kepala on Aug 09, 2023 at 9:54 pm

But but our cousins from the same belief are doing camels in the desert

• thamuz on Aug 10, 2023 at 8:51 am

yea even showing ankles is supposed to be lusty, according to malaysian religious leaders.

• TT laman on Aug 10, 2023 at 11:02 am

watch news, many ustaz commit unforgiven tragedy.

• Sundaralingam V on Aug 11, 2023 at 3:31 pm

When can we have all the holes in the cars closed because their imagination is anything exposed can be used for sex

• This is a tiny dose of what comes next when the overzealous is in power.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
  • serioussssss… need to wear tie to service car at P2 in Pahang! tahap gaban nie

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • Right? on Aug 10, 2023 at 3:02 am

I think modest attire should be okay/ no problem. As long as tutup aurat for muslim.

• PlaySafeDriveSafe on Aug 10, 2023 at 9:51 am

Hahaha. Ini mengalahkan pejabat Kerajaan di Putrajaya ni.

• need to wear tie ah? you ingat apa? i orang miskin yang beli perodua je…aduh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • PERHATIAN
    Boycott this BS outlet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 2
  • Justice on Aug 09, 2023 at 6:31 pm

Boycott perodua

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 7
  • Truth on Aug 09, 2023 at 6:32 pm

Perodua an extremist car company

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 8
  • From educated and civilized to uneducated & uncivilized attire,, wth

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • When people go to fine dining restaurant, they never label restaurant owner as extremist. Because it is inherited from white man tradition.

When non-white man tried to enforce ethic at their own place, suddenly they were labelled extremist.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 92
    • Vedder on Aug 09, 2023 at 9:06 pm

Is that a restaurant?

• uMunkii on Aug 09, 2023 at 9:14 pm

Restaurants, Clubs, Parties, Casinos are social gatherings, dealerships are essentially supermarkets, marketplaces. What you’ve done is a false equivalence.

• Why So Serious on Aug 10, 2023 at 2:28 pm

Whats the difference, you go to either for something right? Why is it acceptable for some and not for others? Try going to a social club with shorts.

• Where else is not ATAS? on Aug 09, 2023 at 9:25 pm

Suddenly perodua service center become same level as fine dining area. Wow. PAS got power then perodua also follow suit upgrade

• MassivelyAnnoyed on Aug 10, 2023 at 8:05 am

You said it yourself, it’s called “FINE DINING”. This is a “SERVICE CENTER”. PERODUA SERVICE CENTER!!!!!!! Even if it’s a Merc or BMW SERVICE CENTER, it is still not acceptable and you can service your car bawah pokok in full suit if you feel this is not extremist behavior.

• Nazmi on Aug 10, 2023 at 8:54 am

fancy places still udnerstandable. but this is a car repair, service workshop. where we send car for repair, service, mechanic stuff. wear fancy dress?

Dad: ah girl, why you wear so pretty today? Going to prom ah?
      Girl: No papa, i sending my axia to service at Perodua,

• Danny on Aug 10, 2023 at 10:19 am

Are you saying is ok for pas to do this since white man is doing it ? Best mentality

• Lets See on Aug 10, 2023 at 4:40 pm

If the sauce is good for the goose it is also good for the gander.

• What are you smoking? on Aug 10, 2023 at 2:00 pm

If you want dress in singlet and stand out among the fine dining crowd, no one is going to stop you. I don’t see a sign board saying no entry unless you are properly dressed.

Also you know what you are getting into when you go fine dining.

For a car service center, 1st of all, there’s no precedent to dress in a certain manner, esp. towards a certain cultural or religious prohibition that does not apply to all. 2ndly, Perodua in a corporate entity, you don’t decide what you can do willy nilly, there’s a corporate conduct you need to follow. 3rd, unlike fine dining, the need to dress according to certain code, isn’t spelled out when someone bought a Perodua. I bet there will be sale implication is there’s such communicate.

But one thing I agree, calling this extremist maybe is overdoing it. Maybe just a over zealous person and misinformed jaguh kampung.

• Lets See on Aug 10, 2023 at 4:41 pm

Yes they would, it is obvious you never been to a fine dining place before.

• Hong Yee Hong on Aug 10, 2023 at 3:18 pm

You really don’t know what you’re talking. It reflects your social knowledge.

• Charoen on Aug 09, 2023 at 6:53 pm

If that guideline for the staff , that is understable Why are you enforcing on your customers ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
  • bobby on Aug 09, 2023 at 7:01 pm

its time to buy proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 9
  • Green wave on Aug 09, 2023 at 7:13 pm

Walaun staff tak boleh concentrate nampak paha putih licin. Nanti tertuang coolant masuk enjin. Jahanam jadinya.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
    • Nk buat mcm mne, byk sgt tgk hamster, onlyfans, subscribe telegram dll. Pstu gaji pulak sikit, bil da tertunggak, nk gi red light district pulak da naik harga.

Jd bertabahlah ya dgn dugaan hidup.

• “Rilaks lah bang. Buat apa nak keje kuat. Mari minum teh dan makan kuih talam dan kuih lapis. Nanti boleh buat. Rilaks dulu. Eh tengok awek kilang, cun betul, bezz kalau dapat kongkek kat bilik stor. Jom mari lepak. Rang nak tido ni. Letih”

• Anak Malaysia on Aug 09, 2023 at 7:27 pm

Luckily I don’t buy Perodua cars anymore. Hahaha, need to wear a tie to the buy/service car now?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 1
  • Saran on Aug 09, 2023 at 8:48 pm

There are top selling car brand in malaysia.dats y do some useless rules.im also using perodua(2 car).

• PakBusu on Aug 09, 2023 at 8:51 pm

This Malay land so just follow the rules when in china you can wear your see tru dress and be happy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 18
    • BusuSusu on Aug 10, 2023 at 1:12 pm

this is not malay land. this is orang asli land.
      malay is pendatang.

• Forever mentality kedua.

• Sanusi reverence

• Ah beng on Aug 09, 2023 at 9:37 pm

I goto bmw and merc shop and their service center in shorts and slipper also they never question. In fact they welcome me whole heartedly with free brewed coffee and pastries. Perodua need to wear tie and suits….wow.

• Go to car showroom like going to official function.

• Jeffrey Tan on Aug 09, 2023 at 10:54 pm

No problems go service outside .

• klguy on Aug 09, 2023 at 11:38 pm

the SC manager’s lil bro easily get triggered i guess…that why the rules…

• Paintero on Aug 09, 2023 at 11:47 pm

Not sure why people here are offended by “attire rules” in some places but are totally fine/igonore in other places.

E.g. Can the public go to a fine dining restaurant in any clothing they want?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
  • jasoho on Aug 09, 2023 at 11:48 pm

DAP fault…. Hahaha… PAS always right

• Aku ke syurga on Aug 10, 2023 at 4:05 am

Next month Perodua got promotion. Buy any P2 car, free necktie & long skirt. While stock last

• James KWON on Aug 10, 2023 at 7:28 am

Pahang is not even under PN. why this guy does this? for sure he is PAS supporter. we are in 21st century not in stone ages. even Saudi moving away from extreme religious ideas. P2 better fix this.

• I agree on this. Wear a proper attire, the place is automatically looks nicer and harmony.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • Ben Yap on Aug 10, 2023 at 8:39 am

i can guess the person’s race that did this signage.

• who am i on Aug 10, 2023 at 8:50 am

even german marque showrooms do not care what you wear. I like dressing down to shorts and tshirts to get my car serviced on a weekend, whats wrong with that? what was the Kuantan perodua branch thinking? Wearing ironed long sleeve shirt and slack pants to get your car serviced? Seriously, this dress code issue is getting out of hand.

• CunNia on Aug 10, 2023 at 10:03 am

Small matter saja. Balik tukar baju dan datang la balik. Tak perlu kecoh2. Yg penting niat nak beli kereta P2. I see no issue with this.

Pls move on ya..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
    • No Etika No Car on Aug 11, 2023 at 5:10 am

etika pakaian ni hanya utk nak servis kereta. Kalau nak beli kereta, pakai apa pun boleh. Kalau customer nak kena pakai tie bila nak beli kereta, dia boleh batal niat nak beli kereta so masa nak beli kereta, boleh la pakai cincai!

• Hong Yee Hong on Aug 11, 2023 at 7:42 am

Hahaha! From your comment we can see that you’re either a retiree or a student. You have a lot of free time, good for you.

• dong gor on Aug 10, 2023 at 10:10 am

when things get bad at this magnitude, ppl should start thinking moving out of there already! they belong there by themselves.

• ROTI CANAI on Aug 10, 2023 at 10:12 am

why stop at tie? should enforce full business suit

• Roti Kirai on Aug 17, 2023 at 12:01 am

Why stop at business suit. Should be green underwear also for service rebate.

• jangan ketawa on Aug 10, 2023 at 10:32 am

Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha

• Chin B on Aug 10, 2023 at 10:35 am

What nonsense is this? Somebody must have has “mental diarrhea” If you know there’s gonna be backlash in your sale or whatever? Pls put some common sense when you want to push a ruling.. Netizens are no longer “stupid” nor idiots!!

• barbie and kane on Aug 10, 2023 at 12:31 pm

Fairly said no need office attire but dun terlampau pendek until exposes north or south half ball. People allowed u in pun later terkenal naik utube or dik talk.

• TruthIsHurtful on Aug 10, 2023 at 12:54 pm

Wear short pants or not this Malays still going to rape their own kids and grandchildrens. Ban Malays from every place in the earth, then problem will be resolved. This signs not going to help since the one who put the sign is Malays. Comedy pieces.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • dong gor on Aug 10, 2023 at 3:18 pm

no need to be racist here. Not all malays agree with what is happening too. it’s just the extremist in that area ok. Be fair and respectful to all races here!

• Racism at its finest on Aug 17, 2023 at 12:09 am

By saying that, are you agreed with what Ridhuan Tee said about the chinese community?

P/s : Rape regardless race or religion.

• SURESHK on Aug 10, 2023 at 12:55 pm

Come on Perodua! You expecting customers above B40 group to patronise your premise only. Don’t disgrace the B40. What’s wrong with decent clothes?

• This is over extremist idea. Why force customer to wear unreasonable wear.

• While reading through the comments, wonder why most of the guns are pointing at Perodua? It’s either the dealer or the enforcement is stxpxd. Kesian la Perodua.

• Daihatsu shareholder on Aug 10, 2023 at 7:38 pm

Mulai hari ni semua pakai cosplay

• boycott on Aug 11, 2023 at 4:31 am

Boycott Perodua tetap boycott. Let them have zero sales, if not things will never change, and repeated irritating and violating rules will be here and there on and off. Only dirty minds will see everything dirty!

• Sohai on Aug 11, 2023 at 8:31 am

I beli Axia e to drive Grab lah. Where I have attire like this with tie and all? How to service my car lah??
    Like Genting dulu ke, Service Center has counter to loan a Batik before enter?

• Sundaralingam V eloi on Aug 11, 2023 at 3:27 pm

Remove the idiot who came up with this instruction. Ask him to work where the management requires to check if people are wearing underwear or not

• Francis Lim on Aug 12, 2023 at 2:20 pm

‘Wokeness’ has invaded Perodu and taken over the branch. “Go woke go broke”

• Only the miskins drive berodua why need such dress code like going into bentleys showroom?

• Jeek67 on Aug 13, 2023 at 4:18 pm

Bro no need to be sooo sooo sexy when you come to other stores

• Mr therapist on Aug 13, 2023 at 4:22 pm

I think perodua needs a therapy check loh