2023 Subaru Forester facelift now cheaper in Malaysia, from RM164k to RM186k OTR – specs unchanged

2023 Subaru Forester facelift now cheaper in Malaysia, from RM164k  to RM186k OTR – specs unchanged

Prices for the 2023 Subaru Forester facelift range have been updated here in Malaysia, where the SUV is on sale in four variants.

As of August 16, the facelifted Forester is priced at RM164,288 for the 2.0i-L EyeSight, RM170,288 for the GT Lite Edition EyeSight RM174,288 for the 2.0i-S EyeSight and RM186,288 for the GT Edition EyeSight; all prices listed here are on-the-road without insurance for Peninsular Malaysia, and vehicles sold through Subaru Malaysia come with a five-year, 100,000 km warranty.

These prices represent a RM10,000 drop compared to the launch prices across all four variants, when the facelifted fifth-generation SUV was officially launched in Malaysia in May this year, with no change to the equipment lists of the respective variants on sale in this market.

Price sheets for the 2023 Subaru Forester facelift, effective August 16 – click to enlarge

As before, listed as optional on the revised pricing for the 2023 Subaru Forester facelift in Malaysia is the Subaru Connex package, priced at RM1,900; this includes automatic crash response, enhanced breakdown assistance, VIP Assist, and more, according to the price list item for each of the four Forester variants.

As the variant names indicate, all four variants of the facelifted Forester in Malaysia come equipped with Subaru’s EyeSight ADAS suite. This is comprised of adaptive cruise control with lane centering, lane departure warning and prevention, lane sway warning, lead vehicle departure alert and pre-collision throttle management; the 2.0i-S and 2.0i-S GT Edition variants add pre-collision braking with autonomous emergency steering and rear vehicle detection.

Powertrain is shared across the board, being a 2.0 litre naturally aspirated boxer four-cylinder engine producing 156 PS at 6,000 rpm and 196 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm, going to all four wheels via an active torque-split AWD system and Lineartronic CVT. The base 2.0i-L and 2.0i-L GT Lite Edition variants get X-Mode, while the 2.0i-S and 2.0i-S GT Edition variants get dual-function X-Mode.

GALLERY: 2023 Subaru Forester facelift range launch in Malaysia

GALLERY: 2023 Subaru Forester facelift, Eyesight GT Edition

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Mat Hijau on Aug 23, 2023 at 2:25 pm

hahaha 186k for a piece of ugly metal. Buyer must be extreme Subaru fansi or real Soar High.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 18
    • msia driver on Aug 23, 2023 at 2:46 pm

Lol not laku, want drop price… with the price I rather buy model Y 199k only…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
    • Ruslan on Aug 23, 2023 at 4:36 pm

Deswai pipu buy Honda CR-V b4 nxtgen datang.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
    • leftlane on Aug 23, 2023 at 11:22 pm

70K also I won’t buy. Tested the car, dam farking no power. even turbo sti is outdated now. should have case operating.

• Nice

• dong gor on Aug 23, 2023 at 2:37 pm

price almost the same as the Model Y…but design is like those Mahindra used in the bollywood movies. Keep it up!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
  • Ben Yap on Aug 23, 2023 at 2:40 pm

because of PH, prices of subaru forester goes down. this is the first step towards the success of PH.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 17
    • Vader on Aug 23, 2023 at 3:43 pm

Bodoh piang. Tan Chong had always been dropping prices long time ago since BN era but it only serves to make existing customers angrier when their RV drop much more.

• anonymous on Aug 23, 2023 at 2:48 pm

no hate to subaru because i kind of think they’re cool but this is such a disservice to early buyers. unless absolutely no one bought a single unit (i find this hard to believe because you’ll find at least 1 buyer for even the most niche cars).

ps// i can’t get over the rims because they look like a cheap aftermarket rim option.

• Sohai on Aug 23, 2023 at 3:23 pm

Dont worry, nobody will buy also despite the price decrease.
      No need to feel stupid if you are the early buyer.

• anonymous on Aug 23, 2023 at 3:43 pm

nah not a buyer of subaru (malaysia) because can’t justify their prices but they were really nice to have especially during the winter months when i lived abroad.

• That’s what you thought but buyers have otherwise thought cause subaru still have advantage

• Vader on Aug 23, 2023 at 3:44 pm

As above shown, PH is happy that Subbie owners are angry with this disservice.

• I owned XV 2021, so far no issues and heard that there are no longer issues on todays subaru aftersales than before

• DonkeyKong on Aug 23, 2023 at 3:46 pm

The awful bodykit makes it look like they’re targeting 1980s sci-fi B-movie fans with this car. What type of brainless morons designed this “GT Line” that worsen the look of the car?? Look at the Wilderness version in the US. That is ruggedized in a functional way. This GT bodykit on the other hand is made to appeal to people with absolutely no taste in aesthetics.

• Jackson on Aug 23, 2023 at 3:59 pm

Thank you Subaru Malaysia for reducing the price.
    A bigger thank you for launching with the higher price and reducing to this new price with no change to the specs.

It shows that you really know how to price your poroduct to sell.

Great job Subaru Malaysia!

• hazri on Aug 23, 2023 at 4:58 pm

i dont care about the specs, but subaru please redo the rear lamp. no way people would spend 164k for this. the first impression is important.

• Still in Dinosaur age on Aug 23, 2023 at 5:42 pm

Still look ugly, outdated interior, and expensive. There is a slim chances ppl will buy even they reduce to 150K. I think it’s time for Subaru Malaysia to close shop permanently. RIP bruh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
    • Cause you haven’t look at new subaru before. You think that subaru now is dated as before. I’m sorry to you as subaru hater

• The older version looks much better. There’s just too much of chrome on the new version. As mentioned by others, looks like a car designed by Mahindra in the earlier days. At these price range, there’s plenty to choose from and some even comes in 6-7 seater version.

• Vedder on Aug 23, 2023 at 7:56 pm

No turbo? No thanks. It will be a hunk of junk in 5-7 years.

• Those haters here who don’t like Subaru shows that they can’t never owned one and try one to see the difference between now and before. Owned XV 2021, so far no issues and spec & interior also looking good than before

• Fan Subie on Aug 24, 2023 at 3:44 pm

Agreed. Recently bought Subaru Forester S-spec in July, was given around rm8k for rebate. Not to bad as compare to the latest offering of rm10k.

Has been driving CRV 2010 for the last 13 year. And one hell of SUV, built like a tank but its getting older and maintenance cost start to creep up. Switching to Forester to have the experienced of driving all symmetrical all-wheel drive and boxer engine design.

If you buy Forester for traffic light racing, for showing off latest design language etc, please go away.

People buy Forester because of capability its offer on safety features, capability for light off road, practicality and driving dynamic. And if you choose Forester for this reason, you will not be disappointed.

Yes, a bit boring design, but its practical. Good enough for me.

• Nice car. Considering to order 1. Pedulik hape pasal RV.

• OUTDATED DESIGN!

• New crv coming and it is huge. Unfortunately it failed the TFL awd diagonal test on you tube.
    Subaru should have locally assembled the outback instead of this.