2023 Kia Niro EV in Malaysia – full gallery; eco-friendly interior; 460 km range, 204 PS, AEB, ACC; fr RM257k

Here’s a comprehensive gallery of the Kia Niro EV, which is the second electric vehicle (EV) to be launched by Dinamikjaya Motors after the EV6. Offered in just one variant, the Niro EV comes fully imported (CBU) from South Korea and is priced at RM256,668 on-the-road without insurance. Each purchase is accompanied by a five-year, 150,000-km manufacturer warranty as well as an eight-year, 160,000-km battery warranty.

For the money, you’ll get an underfloor-mounted lithium-ion battery that has an energy capacity of 64.8 kWh. This provides a WLTP-rated range of 460 km, with drive provided by a front electric motor rated at 204 PS (201 hp or 150 kW) and 255 Nm of torque.

The Niro EV supports a maximum AC input (Type 2) of 11 kW, with a full charge taking six hours and 20 minutes. It can also handle DC fast charging (CCS2) up to 80 kW, which will get the battery from a 10-80% state of charge in just 49 minutes.

Buyers will also get a portable three-pin to Type 2 charging cable that can be used with a conventional household outlet (230 V/12 A), but the charge time is a lengthy 27 hours and 30 minutes. Another accessory included with each purchase is an adapter for the car’s vehicle-to-load (V2L) system that outputs 3.6 kW to power electrical accessories or appliances. There’s also a three-pin power socket (250V/16 A) under the rear seats if you need to plug in a device.

In terms of size, the Niro EV measures 4,420 mm long, 1,825 mm wide, 1,570 mm tall and has a wheelbase of 2,720 mm, putting it in between the Hyundai Kona Electric and Ioniq 5. You’ll also get 475 litres of boot space that can be increased to 1,392 litres with the 60:40 split-folding second-row bench down. For more storage, the front trunk (frunk) offers 20 litres of space.

Design cues seen on the Niro EV include a closed-off grille flanked by large headlamp clusters that integrate projector LEDs and a unique LED daytime running light signature. The charge port is located at the front, just above the wide lower intake that features trim with the same pattern as the grille.

You’ll also notice the Mineral Blue exterior finish of this unit is contrasted by patches of black on the lower sides, C-pillars and rear bumper. The black sections also apply to units painted in Cityscape Green, while the third body colour called Snow White Pearl has a different contrast colour for its accents. Look closely around the C-pillars and you’ll notice air channels that are like flying buttresses.

Inside, the asymmetrical dashboard swoops around the driver and passenger and incorporates a curved panel that incorporates a digital instrument cluster and touchscreen infotainment system – both measuring 10.25 inches. Like the EV6, the Niro EV has a dual-function touch panel beneath the centre air vents to control both the climate and infotainment systems, the latter supporting Android Auto and Apple CarPlay.

Meanwhile, the centre console houses a rotary gear selector as well as buttons for other functions such as seat ventilation and heating, steering wheel heating as well as driver assistance (brake auto hold, reverse camera and parking sensors).

The Niro EV gets a Charcoal (black) interior that features plenty of eco-friendly materials. For example, the headliner is processed by adding about 56% of recycled PET plastic to the nonwoven fabric, while the seats are upholstered in bio-leather made by mixing the vegetable components of eucalyptus trees with PU (polyurethane) artificial leather.

The trim pieces on the dashboard and door cards also come with a stone-like embossing that was achieved by using a chopped carbon pad print that is re-formed from leftovers during the carbon-fibre weaving process.

Standard equipment for the Malaysian-market Niro EV includes 17-inch wheels, front and rear LED fog lamps, LED taillights, electric folding and heated side mirrors, a sunroof, roof rails, a powered tailgate, front and rear parking sensors, keyless entry and start as well as an electronic parking brake (with auto brake hold).

There’s also a 64-colour ambient lighting system, dual-zone climate control (with rear vents), a wireless phone charger, an eight-speaker sound system, a reverse camera, powered front seats with driver-side memory function and the front passenger gets to enjoy the Premium Relaxion function that puts the seat into a “zero-gravity” lounge mode.

On the safety and driver assistance side of things, the Niro EV has seven airbags (front, side, curtain and driver’s knee), the usual array of passive systems (ABS, EBD, brake assist, ESC, traction control), hill start assist, tyre pressure monitoring, Rear Occupant Alert and Safe Exit Assist.

Active systems include High Beam Assist, Blind Spot Collision-Avoidance Assist, Rear Cross-Traffic Collision-Avoidance Assist, Lane Keeping Assist, Driver Attention Warning, Forward Collision Avoidance Assist (autonomous emergency braking with junction turning support), Lane Following Assist and Smart Cruise Control (adaptive cruise control) with stop and go support.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Volvo XC40 is better choice, come with built in connection, faster acceleration and interior for Volvo way more advanced, even though that both Kia and Volvo are reliable cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • Wow buying this at RM257k (at 204 PS (201 hp or 150 kW) and 255 Nm of torque) or buy Volvo C40 at RM289k (408 PS (402 hp or 300 kW) and 660 Nm of torque) – your choice!

• Peppa on Aug 24, 2023 at 1:29 pm

Unrelated question. Why are people keep saying AP system is a Malay supremacy when company like Sime Darby Motors, ETCM, Berjaya/Bermaz Auto, Boom Siew and Hap Seng are clearly not Malays even the vast majority of UMW toyota HQ high ranking employees are chinese.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 20
    • Then you have to go back to history to know the king of AP namely Four businessmen – Tan Sri Nasimuddin SM Amin, Datuk Syed Azman Syed Ibrahim, Datuk Mohd Haniff Abdul Aziz and Datuk Azzuddin and the amount of imported stuff are of RM millions to RM hundreds of million and not the small fry business of RM60k – RM300k car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
      • Peppa on Aug 24, 2023 at 5:49 pm

I thought i was talking about the present, not the past lmao. Opressed much?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
        • hazri on Aug 24, 2023 at 9:43 pm

I guess what alan trying to say is “tiada yang lama, maka tiada yang baharu”.

• PeppaPig on Aug 25, 2023 at 9:16 am

Peppa you confirm malay. backwards thinking and reeks of jealousy. Now i understand why Singaporean Malays look down on malaysian malays. mindset very important.

• lol blog on Aug 24, 2023 at 3:17 pm

Your right, totally irrelevant question/statements.

• Chicken Rice on Aug 24, 2023 at 6:07 pm

They’re referring to open AP holders rather than franchise AP holders, though I could be wrong

• PNB Fapboii on Aug 24, 2023 at 7:14 pm

Maybe you need to look higher to see the 1% of the 1%?

First, AP policy is not about whether the high ranking employee is malay or not malay. It is about whether the companies have at least XX% bumiputera “ownership” in order to get the AP(Approved Permit) to import the car.
      The key here is “ownership”. High-ranking staff here don’t mean shit.

To add more knowledge, you can check out another policy “BUMIPUTERA EQUITY REQUIREMENT FOR PUBLIC LISTED COMPANIES”

• Sohai on Aug 25, 2023 at 11:15 am

Is a complicated structure.
      Paultan did an artical quite a while back to explain.
      Still relevant I think.

https://paultan.org/2005/07/24/how-franchise-ap-holders-make-their-money/

• The Saint on Aug 24, 2023 at 1:54 pm

I think this car will be a very rare sight on Malaysian roads.

• Shook on Aug 24, 2023 at 2:44 pm

I have seen more Tesla Model Y than Hyundai-Kia evs combined

• billie dharmajaya on Aug 24, 2023 at 3:32 pm

so u mean that the tesla model y that just arrive in malaysian market just get their popularity surpassed the hyundai ioniq 5 and kia EV6 that already arrive in malaysian market more early than the tesla model Y

• billie dharmajaya on Aug 24, 2023 at 3:30 pm

rare because of waiting list i think but i do believe that this cars still have its own buyers like ioniq 5 and EV6

• Kia Robert De Niro is rare indeed

• ThePolygon on Aug 24, 2023 at 2:34 pm

This rumah mampu milik price is not for normal people to drive. But problem is those that can afford that price will not bat an eye for a Kia.

• Yeahsure on Aug 24, 2023 at 2:57 pm

nop…very tight rear space and terrible suspension..take a test drive and see….design and power goes for the XC40 , everything else this Niro looks much better if u have family

• BMW i4 e35 than this?

• laughs in BMW i4 and Model Y. These kimchis not awake yet, so pathethic!

• there is a blur line between being distinct and being weird. Hyundai crossed the line and starting to dominate the weird part. It’s not ugly but what’s the point of that black pillar to be black?

• MASAMI on Aug 24, 2023 at 5:44 pm

257K ???? Hahahahahahahaha.. Bye bye

• Malaysian usually compared cars in similar price range, not the segment, so do I. The better choice for me will be BMW i4 M30.

• Louis on Aug 24, 2023 at 6:53 pm

I would buy if this is priced at RM188k.

• Need to wait for faster charging batteries.

• at this price, who would choose this over literally any other brands?