BYD 1H profit increased by 204.7%, revenue up 72.7%

Chinese manufacturer BYD has recorded a 204.7% gain in 1H profit for the six-month period ending June 30, Reuters reported, citing a stock market filing by the automaker.

Net profit for this period was 10.95 billion yuan (RM6.98 billion), which represents the aforementioned 204.7% increase over the 3.6 billion yuan (RM2.29 billion) profit figure recorded for the first half of 2022, arriving on the back of a 72.7% increase in revenue to 260.12 billion yuan (RM165.8 billion) in this period.

For the second quarter, BYD posted a profit of 6.82 billion yuan (RM4.36 billion) for the period of April to June, which was up 144.7% according to Reuters‘ calculation. This was the second-highest quarterly profit following its Q1 figure when profit gained five-fold, and was within the manufacturer’s net profit forecast, according to the news wire.

The record-setting spree by BYD was joined by its monthly sales record for the month of July, when vehicle deliveries reached 700,244 units in the second quarter of this year, the report added.

The Chinese manufacturer’s financial performance carries on from its net profit of US$ 2.4 billion (RM10.6 billion) for its 2022 financial year, which was a 403% increase over its net profit recorded in 2021.

In April, BYD founder and CEO Wang Chuanfu announced that the carmaker aims to sell 3.6 million vehicles in 2023, which is double the sales volume it achieved in 2022. Should it succeed in doing so, BYD will become the best-selling Chinese automaker by the end of the year, Car News China reported at the time.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• President Xi on Aug 30, 2023 at 5:56 pm

China numba one!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 12
    • Casual reader on Aug 31, 2023 at 4:53 pm

Meanwhile Anwar prefers to setup a Tesla sales oftice than setting up a BYD factory that will give thousands of jobs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 22
      • Nurul Izzah on Aug 31, 2023 at 6:13 pm

Anwar menang Tesla mari

• pravda on Aug 31, 2023 at 10:01 pm

It’s no mistake that as a commercial branch of Zhongguo Gongchandang, BYD will create thousands of jobs as a show of success in the struggle of the working class.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 19
        • I Miss BN 60 Years Rule on Sep 01, 2023 at 12:22 pm

Yet they are not coming here thanks to Anwar

• Selamat Hari Malaysia on Sep 01, 2023 at 5:29 pm

which means he is a communist repellant

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
      • mr1031 on Sep 01, 2023 at 3:52 pm

why not both? is it even wrong to bring tesla here to begin with?

• Lu Betul on Sep 03, 2023 at 9:33 am

@Casual reader, you are absolutely right. You must understand, Anwar is a USA agent, meaning he is indirectly supporting the Yahudi killing the poor Palestine people. All anti China ad pro western supporters are Yahudi worshipper and supporter without even realizing it. USA= Yahudi. That is why the happy to allow Tesla to open shop. Its good for me that Tesla is cheap i Malaysia but what I cannot agree is Tesla sales office is cosidered an investement i Malaysia. Its actually an investment to make money for Tesla only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 30
        • Selamat Hari Malaysia on Sep 03, 2023 at 10:03 pm

You must be practising on how to become a spy thriller fiction author by dreaming up conspiracy theories. However, the following is the reality.
          1) PRC has diplomatic relations with Israel. Malaysia does not.
          2) PRC has close economic ties with Israel, which helped PRC to purchase Israeli military technology to upgrade the PLA, which is why PRC is confident in its South China Sea claims, which has brought about protests from neighbouring South East Asian countries including Malaysia.
          3) PRC sends its Uighur Muslim citizens for reeducation which includes putting the ruling communist party & its leaders at a level above their religion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 11
        • Lu betul2 berfikir mcm budak kecik on Sep 04, 2023 at 12:59 pm

You are thinking like small kid. Of course, any foreign company (not only Tesla) which comes to invest in Malaysia, intends to make money. Did you think the word ‘investment’ means ‘charity’ or ‘donation’? Isn’t profit the purpose of any company in the business world?
          And you also had to spice things up with your Clancy/Ludlum style story.. May be it will become the bookstore best selling fiction.

• MASAMI on Aug 31, 2023 at 9:03 am

If good product and good price, it will sell like hot cakes. Consumers not stupid. All fake news about fire la etc clearly not working. Malaysia weather so hot 1 fire pun not seen. BYD makes life better and more affordable. Build your Dreams

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
  • I am waiting for BYD Seal to launch here. If rumour is correct, selling around RM250k, I can at least have a chance to own a car with super car performance. Those AMG or M performance are too expensive for a working adult like me.