Tesla Model 3 ‘Highland’ facelift revealed, RWD and LR AWD now open for order in Malaysia from RM189,000

Tesla has unveiled the facelifted Tesla Model 3, which has been known by the codename ‘Project Highland’ for some time now. Although what you can see from the exterior is mainly a new front end inspired by the Tesla Roadster, Tesla says they have changed more than 50% of the parts on the Model 3.

Before we get into the details, we’ll get the most important part out of the way first – ordering is now open in Malaysia! Here’s the prices:

• Tesla Model 3 Rear Wheel Drive – RM189,000
  • Tesla Model 3 LR All Wheel Drive – RM218,000

You can order one now for a non-refundable RM1,000 fee. Estimated delivery is late 2023, which is ahead of the Model Y’s early 2024 delivery time.

The Tesla Model 3 Rear Wheel Drive with a single rear-mounted can do the 100 km/h sprint in 6.1 seconds, onto a top speed of 201 km/h. Maximum range is 513 km according to the WLTP cycle.

The pricier Tesla Model 3 Dual Motor All Wheel Drive (commonly called the LR) is much faster thanks to two motors – the 100 km/h sprint can be done in 4.4 seconds. Top speed is the same 201 km/h. Max range is 629 km thanks to a bigger battery. No Tesla Model 3 Performance available to order for now.

Pearl White Multi-Coat is the standard paint included, and you can add RM5,000 for Solid Black or Deep Blue Metallic. Upgrading to Stealth Grey costs RM7,500, while the most expensive Ultra Red is RM11,000. Stealth Grey and Ultra Red are new colour options.

By default, the Malaysian spec Model 3 comes with 18 inch Photon wheels, but you can upgrade to 19 inch Nova wheels for RM7,500. A black interior is standard, but a white interior upgrade can be picked for a RM5,000 upgrade.

Just like the Model Y, when it comes to driver aids Autopilot is included but upgrading to Enhanced Autopilot costs RM16,000 and Full Self-Driving is RM32,000.

The exterior sees a subtle yet noticeable transformation. The front lights are slimmer and sleeker, with more prominent LED daytime running lights. The fog lamps have been eliminated, replaced by a single central vent that gives the car a more aggressive look. The rear also gets new tail lights, and the bumper has been redesigned.

Inside, the dashboard has been redesigned with LED lighting and customisable dash trim. Tesla also says they have improved the quality of materials, aiming for a more luxurious feel. There’s more use of aluminium trim highlights around the cabin, so it doesn’t look so barebones.

The tech-savvy will appreciate the brighter and more responsive dashboard screen. The screen now allows you to turn off the passenger side AC blower to save on electricity if you’re driving alone, but like the previous Model 3, blower angle is still adjustable via the screen only, with no physical knobs.

The steering wheel is of a new design and now houses the indicators, eliminating the need for stalks, which might be either a good thing or bad thing depending on if you can get used to it. Yes, together with the deletion of the signal stalk is the deletion of the gear shifter. You now have to choose what gear you want to go into (P, R, D, etc) through the touchscreen.

If for some reason your touchscreen doesn’t work, there are physical gear selector buttons at the front of the roof on the panel between the driver and passenger sunshades.

Although it is a small car that competes with the BMW 3 Series, the car now also features a rear cabin screen for passengers, allowing them to control the stereo and climate, and even watch movies or play games.

One of the standout features is the focus on reducing cabin noise. Acoustic glass now extends to the rear windows, and additional sound insulation has been added. Tesla claims a 30% improvement in wind and ambient noise, 25% improvement in impact noises (think potholes, rough roads), and a 20% improvement in road noise, making the ride quieter and more comfortable.

Other interior comfort improvements include adjustments to the geometry of the seats to make them more comfortable. They re now perforated, serving both an aesthetic and functional purpose. The front seats now get ventilation in addition to the heating that was already previously available.

Tesla has also tinkered with the suspension – it gets new springs and dampers and a revised subframe design. It also gets fitted new comfort-oriented tyres, aiming to improve the ride quality.

The Bluetooth system now has two separate systems with microphones on each side of the car for improved audio during phone calls. Wi-Fi connectivity has been enhanced, allowing for downloads even when slightly farther away from a router. Tesla says Ultra-Wide Band gives better Phone Key performance.

The car’s audio system has been upgraded to include 17 speakers with dual amplifiers and dual subwoofers, up from the previous 14. However, this is only for the LR AWD model, as the RM189k RWD model gets a nine speaker, single amplifier system.

The Model 3 now comes with a USB-C port that can charge at 65 watts, powerful enough to charge a laptop like a Macbook Air. This is in addition to two other USB-C ports in the back, ensuring that all passengers can keep their devices charged.

Airbags – L: Original Model 3, R: Highland Model 3

Tesla has also updated the airbags for the Tesla Model 3 Highland. Previously, the Tesla Model 3 came with knee airbags. These knee airbags have been removed.

A new airbag has been inserted in the driver’s seat side bolster which inflates into the space in the middle of the front two seats.

This new airbag configuration matches the Tesla Model Y, which came out after the original Model 3.

Another new safety feature which was not found on the Model 3 before this is the addition of Blind Spot Indicators (BLIS), which comes in form of a light that will light up at the base of the A pillar.

No changes under the hood – the motor remains the same. Aerodynamic changes have led to an 8% improvement in efficiency and thus range, pushing the car’s range to 554 km for the rear-wheel-drive version and 678 km for the dual-motor long-range version.

The car’s drag coefficient has been reduced to 0.219 Cd from 0.225 Cd, making the new Model 3 the most aerodynamic Tesla yet, though streamliner-designed cars like the Hyundai ioniq 6’s 0.21 Cd and the EQS’s 0.20 Cd still has it beat.

The refreshed Tesla Model 3 is now open for order in Malaysia, with deliveries estimated in late 2023. Are you going to order one?

Learn more: ,

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• tesla on Sep 01, 2023 at 9:04 am

already on Tesla Msia website price model 3 at RM189k…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
    • Louisa on Sep 01, 2023 at 10:19 am

Farewell to A Class and C200. Both of A Class and C200 will be obsolete when tapau by this car

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 4
      • same for BMW too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 46
        • Agreed with someone said:

“Not all these like what you said will tapau by Tesla Model 3.
          BMW, Volvo and VW still have advantages but Mercedes surely won’t have any advantages
          BMW is good in handling, design and reliability. But BMW is still good in technology and performance feel
          Volkswagen is good in handling, design and performance feel. But Volkswagen still good in reliability
          Volvo is good in safety, design and technology. But Volvo is still good in reliability

Overall, not only Tesla, even BMW, Volvo and Volkswagen are much ahead compare to Mercedes”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 27
          • Richard Tee on Sep 02, 2023 at 11:44 am

Tesla > BMW > MERC > MINI > Toyota
            Tesla> > > > > > > > > > > > > > >Toyota

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 20
          • morphu on Sep 02, 2023 at 8:17 pm

@Richard Tee
            But toyota still more reliable and better resale value and more detail design than tesla

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
          • I’m sorry, but as my service says “BMW, after warranty period jialat liao….”

This Model 3 is Not too attractive, trying to be funny to make the car less drivable….no indicator stalks or gear shift lever. If the screen kaputt, there goes the drivability..

• Peppa on Sep 03, 2023 at 9:11 am

The amount of BMW fans abusing the dislike icon really amused me

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
          • Sooo…at least not only BMW fans and even non-BMW fans also give opinions with right truth not the one who against truth comments when people threatened those people from any fanboys like retarded mercedes fans was

• hailux on Sep 02, 2023 at 6:55 pm

still unable to beat toyota resell value

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • TESLA IS SLAUGHTERING on Sep 04, 2023 at 3:31 pm

TESLA IS SLAUGHTERING THE MALAYSIAN EV MARKET.

JUST WAIT TESLA GONNA BECOME AS UBIQUITOUS AS A F30/G20

• Mr Mar on Sep 01, 2023 at 9:18 am

Sleeker design to go head on with Lucid Air

• Bobby on Sep 01, 2023 at 11:44 am

Oh… this model 3 is more tempting comparing to the model Y, and the spec provided is very good. Looking forward for its new delivery n hopefully we can get some conventional treatment like show room, test drive and so on for this RM200K money spent.

• Dah Menang Semua on Sep 02, 2023 at 11:47 am

But Model Y gets roomier inside
        Either way U can’t go wrong
        Tesla already “King Of EV”

• Perlisian on Sep 01, 2023 at 9:24 am

Cheaper than model Y yet more handsome..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
    • Agreed. Only concern (for me) would be ground clearance on our lousy roads. Need to check how it compares to our regular sedans in that regard. Very tempting, but would still like to see a service center in my city first in case of repairs or warranty claims.

I hope their claim of improved NVH in this new Model 3 are true in the real world. Previous Model 3 was okay for N, but had mediocre V and terrible H. A fully spec’d version is around RM270k on their configurator, which is Harrier money, so if it can achieve Harrier/Camry level refinement/reliability while maintaining Tesla dynamics and technology, would be a huge win overall.

At least we are getting China assembled version, so no need to worry about panel gaps like the US assembled models.

• Peppa on Sep 02, 2023 at 11:04 am

The china made version is pretty much on par with American made. The one that really differentiate from the rest is from Giga Berlin

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
        • What nonsense, GIGA Shanghai is known for making the best Tesla’s in terms of closeness to the 0.1 micron quality scale, and somehow they’re the first to get all the latest features before they get into the other factories

• Hafiz Perodua on Sep 04, 2023 at 4:20 pm

The worst teslas quality are the american made ones and the best is the china made ones

• Louisa on Sep 01, 2023 at 9:28 am

Farewell to A Class and C200

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 4
  • Gonna trade my terrible merc and buy tesla for total peace of mind

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 7
  • Mercedez Benz A Class and BMW 3 Series will be made obsolete by Tesla Model 3.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 34
    • dingle on Sep 01, 2023 at 10:27 am

Not just these!

BMW 2 series, 3 series, ix series, Merc A class, B class, C class, GLA, GLB, GLC, Volvo XC40, C40, XC60, VW golf and many others.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 13
      • Chair on Sep 01, 2023 at 11:02 am

Not all these like what you said will tapau by Tesla Model 3.
        BMW, Volvo and VW still have advantages but Mercedes surely won’t have any advantages
        BMW is good in handling, design and reliability. But BMW is still good in technology and performance feel
        Volkswagen is good in handling, design and performance feel. But Volkswagen still good in reliability
        Volvo is good in safety, design and technology. But Volvo is still good in reliability

Overall, not only Tesla, even BMW, Volvo and Volkswagen are much ahead compare to Mercedes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 18
        • Sit Down La on Sep 01, 2023 at 1:17 pm

Chai…sit down la. Your BMW lose value already la. BMW is pure junk. Use or no use, after a few years it is programmed to deteriorate and spoil. Lousy car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 23
          • Stand up and accept (Logic?) on Sep 01, 2023 at 2:46 pm

This shows that how much you have hate BMW more when BMW have improved a lot or either that you have never used BMW at all. So if you think that BMW is not good ya, then your assumption. Hmm…maybe you drive old model but not the new model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
          • Dingle on Sep 01, 2023 at 8:14 pm

I remain with my opinion. BMW, Mercs, Volvos and Audis are all going down. BMW is nothing compared to Tesla. X1,X2, X3, 2 & 3 series are nowhere near what Tesla can offer. Even the higher specs like X5 and 5 series will loose badly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
          • Dr. Man on Sep 01, 2023 at 8:46 pm

@Dingle and also for @Sit Down La
            Are you really sure that X1, X2, X3, 2 & 3 Series are nowhere near what Tesla can offer?
            1. Have you test drive any bmw lineup models?
            2. Did you own bmw before?
            3. Did you study bmw latest interiors
            4. Did you know how bmw technology have been improving and upgrading to the latest today?
            If these 4 tasks that you didn’t do, that means like what Stand up and accept (Logic?) said, you only just talk talk only but never do the real test

• Dr. Man on Sep 01, 2023 at 8:56 pm

@Dingle

Also disagree that Audi and Volvos are all going down, Audis and Volvos are not going down if you test drive, own and get inside for Audi and Volvos. FYI, Audi and Volvo also have high tech. So doesn’t mean that Audi, Volvos and BMW are not going down but yea agree that Mercedes is going down further as nowhere to compare with other rivals and Tesla

• Holders on Sep 01, 2023 at 2:49 pm

Later, mercedes salesmen will come out and quickly defend that mercedes is the best but the rest are not the best but mercedes salesmen are twisting their stories to make sure that mercedes salesmen don’t want to admit that mercedes loses to others.

• Dr. Man on Sep 01, 2023 at 8:47 pm

I stand by you. Mercedes salesmen are getting more desperate and also behaving like PN rule government

• The front looks so much better now. A bit like the new Prius.

• Peppa on Sep 01, 2023 at 11:16 am

Sime Darby and Berjaya Motor will get butthurt :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 28
    • Same can be said for Hap Seng and Cycle & Carriage

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • Isaac on Sep 01, 2023 at 11:56 am

Mercedes will be scared by this….

• Mickey on Sep 01, 2023 at 5:21 pm

i wonder why is this getting so much downvotes, do ppl actualy like what the APs doing there? or are they the APs themselves?

• Peppa on Sep 01, 2023 at 6:22 pm

Because Sime Darby is BMW Malaysia distributor so they can’t accept the narrative. Oh yeah i forgot Hap Seng because i can barely see any Mercedes EQ on the road. Pardon me

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
        • And also barely see today mercedes models than those rivals. Even Lexus is CBU, but slowly can see more new lexus otr.

• Sime Darby i dont mind making profit bcoz govt owned entity that declare dividend to Govt annually….will flow back to govt’s pocket.

• anonymous on Sep 01, 2023 at 11:24 am

i don’t even like tesla but this is such compelling pricing like how is any car maker going to compete moving forward?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
  • Winner Ong on Sep 01, 2023 at 11:25 am

Good fortune to my fans of Winner and to rubbish pupil of battery car I hoping your otak can pakai. Pay 220k for battery car is make me laughing only no brain pupil doing this. My self no need worry I drive patrol luxury Conti car I can only say you happy with your toy car. Don’t let me see your face surely you kena from me like other day I see 1 sohai I tiau him until he face turn red. I ask him you thing your toy battery car very great ah? I say you are rubbish pupil with small kid otak. Don’t personal ok happy you always.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 83
    • Dugong on Sep 01, 2023 at 11:48 am

You england is so powderful it make me headache trying to read. You can continue driving your Vtec and dye your yellow hair.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 8
    • Isaac on Sep 01, 2023 at 11:55 am

You can cry whatever you want merc driver, people will not believe on what you said. Let them decide. Don’t like it fine, then you don’t buy simple. Second, there are many reasons on mercedes failure

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
    • Ok

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • Unker Sammy on Sep 01, 2023 at 12:10 pm

Go back to kopitiam-la, ktard! Come kacau here, tok kok sing song bikin apa, sohai! No money or brains buy EV no need kacau tree huggers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • name also sound like a Loser

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • Peppa on Sep 01, 2023 at 12:38 pm

Are you having seizure?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • Someone woke up, ate breakfast and then decided to act like a retard, thinking he’s a master troll but in reality he’s more like a sad fool who comes online to seek a reaction from others to fill the void in his empty life.

• Dunno if I want to laugh or cry seeing this comment

• Improve you English first, you can talk better non sense after that. Really sohai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • Holders on Sep 01, 2023 at 2:51 pm

But sorry, it sounds like you are sore loser aka failure mercedes salesman. Time to change your job

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
    • Brother Tes-la will beat your shit ICE car to a different decade. You can just continue paying your loan forever after this because its going to loose half its value in the next few months. After loan period, just sell it for scrap!

• Dr. Man on Sep 01, 2023 at 8:48 pm

Are you alright? It seems that you sounds like you are acting like PN rule government that time

• Nice Name on Sep 01, 2023 at 8:54 pm

Big fan of Winner he is funny

• Only those can believe Winner Ong on Sep 02, 2023 at 9:38 am

Fake comment from editor to create some topic here. This is how to increase traffic for comment.

• cant make decision without testing the car…

• He Long Must on Sep 01, 2023 at 11:54 am

Amacam PEKEMA? Still holding on to your old model 3 stocks? Better start giving ludicrous discounts

• Fariz on Sep 01, 2023 at 12:02 pm

Tesla Ketam sksks

• ROTI CANAI on Sep 01, 2023 at 12:08 pm

this is actually eating into honda seaweed territory. syabas kerajaan BN.

• Holders on Sep 01, 2023 at 2:51 pm

And mercedes too. Bagus la Anwar and Co. Even Anwar also dares not to buy mercedes but decided to buy Camry. Same can be said for BN also dares not to drive Mercedes but drives Toyota

• i think tesla will sell like goreng pisang panas here in Msia. Their pricing really shake the whole industry in msia …whether ICE or EV. Well done Tesla, u are THE TRUE DISRUPTOR! this will force all brand to RE-THINK about their current model prices….hahahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • What tremendous value. Wake up Malaysians car buyers — APs have been fed by our precious savings for so many years. This should be a signal for change so car manufacturers can have a level playing field. No more protectionism.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Wow, attractive ajd competitive price tag.

• Levin on Sep 01, 2023 at 2:21 pm

Is it just me or are we getting the first facelifted “Highland” Model 3 here in Malaysia compared to USA? A quick check on Tesla USA website still shows that they don’t have the facelifted Model 3 yet. China & Australia also getting facelifted Model 3. Guess this will be a game changer now in Malaysia. Recond car dealers to slash more prices now for their “used” Teslas.

• Thinking out loud on Sep 01, 2023 at 3:16 pm

Didn’t like the old Model 3’s half duck beak face. This is sleek!

• wow we are one of the first country to receive this updated model 3. Thank you bang non

• ICE in danger for survival on Sep 01, 2023 at 6:36 pm

Ayo yo yo like this price, no more luxury commission as Conti and T & H buyers will switch to Tesla. No more fleecing by SC too. No need for oil change and whatnot oil treatment, fuel injector clearning etc.
    FYI in my 2.5 half year CRV ownership, I spent RM2.6K for regular + recommended service. Before infamour CVT gearbox kaput make me poorer, I sold the SUV to MyTukar.

• Mr Fakta on Sep 01, 2023 at 6:46 pm

See, Tesla Sdn Bhd under Tesla US directly, fast action. No camouflage la, road testing la, waiting for official price for few months, Thailand get 1st… straight away price and booking open. This is how you do international professional business, not membela business like Malaysia teh tarik company.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
    • Heyy you never read the news ka? There are loads of spyshots of this facelift model on test prior this launch. Many photos with camouflage on the internet as well. It would be stupid if manufacturers didnt do a proper road test before launching new model. Just dont get it why you dont want manufacturers to do road test, you want a defective product? Or you want customers to do road test after they buy the car and discover loads of problems? So now you know. After this please read some news before commenting like you know it all.

• Anonymous on Sep 02, 2023 at 11:43 am

“Project Highland” was discovered as early as June last year. Highly camouflaged prototypes were spotted in December last year, April, July, and August in both US and China. This is how you do “international professional business”.

• khai2023 on Sep 01, 2023 at 10:47 pm

i wonder how the smart #1 will be price? if same with this Tesla model 3 sure boleh tutup kedai.

• Hahaha…all those recond cars seller have already slashed their prices for model 3. padan muka….hahahaha

• Tesla on Sep 02, 2023 at 12:11 pm

Lol for the same price about 220k. long range Model 3 AWD 4.4 secs vs BMW 218i 8.7 secs. which to buy?

• ICE is in danger for survival on Sep 02, 2023 at 7:07 pm

Tesla la… nowadays sophisticated girls will pay more attention to guys who are technologically advanced (think of cool Apple, Google, Tesla) and macho (think of her man saving Mother Earth), rather than driving Grandpa’s era brands like B & M..

• Teala Model 3 Performance Dual Motor All-Wheel Drive at UK £60,090 and BMW 218i M Sport Gran Coupé at UK £32,675 , that mean £27,415 is AP or tax (even BMW CKD).
      Another in UK for BMW iX1 xDrive30 xLine £54,655.

• Ben Yap on Sep 04, 2023 at 9:05 am

got ketam rear lights, Elon Musk also copy honda design…. this shows how good honda is.

• abcdefg on Sep 08, 2023 at 12:09 pm

First deliveries of the Model X began in September 2015. Honda Civic FC was first released in November 2015 in the North American market. So who copy who Honda fanboy?

• Most will be salivating Tesla cars until you drive one and realised that driving with that AIO control screen is a terrible experience. The omission of the turn signal stalk (now a button on steering wheel) and gear selector made it even worse.