BMW to expand on-demand services in future models, will not charge extra for existing hardware functions

BMW will expand its range of on-demand services and functions within its future models, however it will not be charging customers for the activation of hardware-based features in the future, Autocar has reported.

“We actually are now focusing on ‘functions on demand’ software and service-related products, like driving assistance and parking assistance, which you can add later after purchasing the car, or for certain functions that require data transmission that customers are used to paying for in other areas,” said BMW head of sales and marketing Pieter Nota.

“What we don’t do any more – and that is a very well-known example – is offer seat heating by this way. It’s either in or out. We offer it by the factory and you either have it or you don’t have it,” Nota continued.

BMW ConnectedDrive Store subscription services offered by BMW Malaysia in July 2022. Click to enlarge

Therefore, software products are more likely to be offered on a cost-option basis as these are better accepted by the buying public, according to the sales and marketing head. “People know it’s a certain piece of software they can download that costs money. It’s the same as downloading a film or an extra feature on an app. That is accepted and we do that increasingly successfully,” Nota said.

In July last year, BMW Malaysia introduced subscription fees for selected vehicle functions, including the aforementioned front seat heating, high beam assistant, steering wheel heating, Adaptive M suspension and more. This arrangement is similar to those introduced by the brand in other markets.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Peppa on Sep 07, 2023 at 8:17 pm

After severe backlash lmao

• ROTI CANAI on Sep 07, 2023 at 11:54 pm

meh. jailbreak time.

• MASAMI on Sep 09, 2023 at 12:33 pm

@Roti Canai, study hard la instead of selling roti canai. So cheap also want jail break. So poor la you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Add A Comment on Sep 08, 2023 at 9:02 am

But…but…. driving assistance and parking assistance also need hardwarew like sensors, radar and camera on your car from the factory right? right?? So, isn’t that “existing hardware”?

Just saying…

• FireAce on Sep 08, 2023 at 5:54 pm

Those sensors still being used by other standard features like 360 Panoramic View, Manual Reverse Parking camera & beep beep sound, Cruise control, etc. So the hardware is “being made available to use for free”.

They charged you on “software features” that also utilized the same hardware to provide “additional functionalities. Smart kan?

• Kosumaledoko on Sep 08, 2023 at 9:38 am

I dare them to offer “100% brake performance. upgrade from your standard 80% brake performance for RM200 a month.”

• LordG on Sep 14, 2023 at 2:05 pm

Later bmw is slowly turn into pay 2 win, still need to pay for heated seats