2023 Toyota bZ4X – 500 km range EV in Malaysia soon

Toyota has been a firm believer in multiple pathways towards carbon neutrality, which includes battery-electric vehicles. For the latter, the bZ4X is the Japanese manufacturer’s first mass-market BEV, which is undergoing local testing prior to its official Malaysian market introduction later this year.

In Malaysia, the bZ4X gets a 71.4 kWh lithium-ion battery pack that offers the EV a range of up to 500 km based on the WLTP testing standard, and feeds a front-mounted electric motor producing 204 PS and 266 Nm of torque; this is the same as the configuration employed in the Indonesian-market bZ4X.

Charging the bZ4X is supported by AC at up to 6.6 kW, while DC fast charging at up to 150 kW is via a CCS2 connection, which will bring a 0-80% state of charge in 30 minutes. In Thailand, the bZ4X is also available in dual-motor AWD form, where it gains a rear-axle motor to bring increased outputs of 218 PS and 337 Nm.

On the outside, this bZ4X is outfitted with LED lighting, 20-inch alloy wheels and a powered tailgate, while interior appointments include a seven-inch digital instrument cluster, a 12.3-inch infotainment touchscreen, wireless phone charger, synthetic leather upholstery, front dashcam, power-adjustable driver’s seat and dual-zone climate control, among others.

Here, our man Hafriz Shah takes an up-close look at the bZ4X, along with a stint at the wheel for some driving impressions and what it feels like compared to some of the entrants already on sale in the Malaysian market. Watch the video, here.

GALLERY: 2023 Toyota bZ4X in Malaysia

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• anonymous on Sep 12, 2023 at 12:20 pm

one thing about toyota is that they totally dropped the ball on this launch because more likely than not, most people would have already placed a booking on the tesla model y. itulah tease tease tease sampai over a year now and i can imagine tesla will eat up a significant amount of it’s sales. that being said, tesla does have that unfair advantage of being tax free so i do hope the other car makers make noise to abolish the AP system for them too so us normies can actually afford cars because let’s be real that policy only exists to protect you know what brand(s).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 6
    • Toyota is really giving us a sub-par vehicle. Nothing about this is industry-leading or even inspiring. This car doesn’t even have a glove box. It also has poor charging performance and no “pure” one-pedal driving (the car doesn’t come to a full-stop. It coasts down to 5km/h). It’s almost as if Toyota launched this car as a “filler” to be in the EV business, while working on a proper EV a few years down the road.

• Squid on Sep 12, 2023 at 4:02 pm

All EVs are import tax free my friend so there is no unfair advantage.

• unfair advantage because there is no AP for Tesla. AP still applies for other imported EVs.

• Used to be a PN supporter on Sep 12, 2023 at 4:20 pm

Rakyat truly happy dan grateful for EV tax rebates. TQ to all PHBN voters.. I saved rm174k for my brand new Tesla Y^^

• If I’m not mistaken BEV or Battery Electric Vehicles in Malaysia all are tax-free. You can see it in the prices for Neta, BYD Atto & Dolphin, Great Wall’s Ora Good Cat, and soon Smart#1, etc. AP is another story altogether although we all wish they disappear forever in our country. For now “Abang Tesla” is the only one imported without the AP requirement as part of the MITI arrangement.

• AP cost up to RM30k each if I were to try import my own car. They make more money than car distributors and no need for service and cakes centre. Just a small. Office is enough.
        Gomen uses this AP to reward retired army chiefs, judges and civil servants,senators too I think .
        These allocations are then sold to the car retailers.

• Busy 4 10 on Sep 12, 2023 at 5:36 pm

Those motorist could not afford Lexus RZ may consider this BZ4X as toyota salib badge alternative KEK

• anonymous on Sep 12, 2023 at 12:22 pm

one more thing, if toyota is smart, they will eventually launch this car with the upgraded jbl sound system because it really should be a requirement for cars over 200k (surly this will hit the 200k+ mark) to have upgraded speakers. heck any car above 100k should have upgraded speakers because we are all literally (sadly) stuck in traffic for 3 hours of our day so the least we could get is good sound coming from the metal box we are in.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
    • anonymous on Sep 12, 2023 at 6:55 pm

it’s insane that anyone can dislike this comment because you are literally the problem being a consumer who just bows down to the capitalistic ways companies screw us over. open that closed mind that if yours because kesian tau us malaysians getting screwed over je for years and years.

• He Long Must on Sep 12, 2023 at 12:26 pm

Tesla Model Y – Like
    BuZy 4or your eX – Dislike

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
  • Fiat Multipla Designer on Sep 12, 2023 at 12:27 pm

Those black wheel claddings, the front.. this is by far the worst looking Toyota vehicle I have ever witnessed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
    • Goofy on Sep 13, 2023 at 12:16 pm

Totally agree. Toyota designer went way too far in putting those ugly plastic panel. Wait for a few months after you own it and it will definitely fade making this ugly car more uglier

• Expecting this to be priced unrealistically high…

• Sohai on Sep 13, 2023 at 10:33 am

Under new management Sime Darby now… we can only hope it will be different from before.

• Squid on Sep 13, 2023 at 4:51 pm

Living up to your name? What makes you think its under new management? Share buy over only adds to their portfolio. Stepping in to manage is an option but is not always the case especially when the company is running fine and breaking sales records on their own.

• A bit too hopeful on Sep 12, 2023 at 1:43 pm

I like the looks better than most other EVs in the market right now. And still seems like a driver’s car rather than most other EVs.

Anyways, spec is spec. What’s the price?

• ThePolygon on Sep 12, 2023 at 1:50 pm

Not to break some hearts but it’s gonna be north of RM 200k so its gonna be a rare sight on the road. It’s just not affordable for normal working class.

• Peppa on Sep 12, 2023 at 2:18 pm

I don’t know what on earth bz4x+-lgtv designer is on to say this a good looking car. Plus this might D.O.A if it is more expensive than Tesla offerings

• ROTI CANAI on Sep 12, 2023 at 6:13 pm

if above 200k. bye bye.

• Ugly, ugly, ugly……………………….

• Current EV including Tesla is way too heavy so I will wait till. Proper batteries are produced.
    I read Honda may introduce solid state hrv EV which is 50% of current weight if batteries and charges in 5 minutes in 2025.
    Toyota too.
    So that is not too far away.
    Only problem is by then no more tax free.

• msia driver on Sep 12, 2023 at 9:02 pm

For EV car, Tesla > all in term of luxury, technology, power, value and etc…. there is no other one on earth planet can make a EV car like tesla…lulxxx

• ahbeng on Sep 13, 2023 at 7:47 am

This will be the worst reliability from Toyota. The jap are way 5 years behind EV technology and Toyota fan bois will sure buy this thinking it’s the best but get con big time when under the sheet is China OEM. Malu lar toyota with their anti EV many years ago. They bet on hydrogen and fail big time.

Now they have a big catchup to go.

• Mike Tee on Sep 13, 2023 at 4:24 pm

Perhaps brand familiarity and lack of competition here in Malaysia will result in Toyota being able to shift a few more of these here but in China this is an all round s**t car in almost all reviews. BZ4X sold 741 in August’23 and in comparison Tesla Y sold 51,117 in China.

The conclusion (from reviews) is that Toyota is still stuck in ICE thinking. Performance, design language, charging speed, interior, dashboard, entertainment, sound proofing, everything is wrong with this car and Toyota is still stuck in 2013.

Just YouTube “丰田BZ4X” and you will see what I mean

• Mike Tee on Sep 13, 2023 at 4:28 pm

Perhaps brand familiarity and lack of competition here in Malaysia will result in Toyota being able to shift a few more of these but in China this is an all round s**t car in almost all reviews. An indication of this is that BZ4X sold 741 in August’23 and in comparison Tesla Y, an older model, sold 51,117 in China.

The conclusion (from reviews) is that Toyota is still stuck in ICE thinking. Performance, design language, charging speed, interior, dashboard, entertainment, sound proofing, everything is wrong with this car and Toyota is still stuck in 2013.

Just YouTube “丰田BZ4X” and you will see what I mean

• Levin on Sep 13, 2023 at 8:24 pm

If more than 150k for full spec, better keep teasing it around Malaysia and don’t sell it coz ain’t no body gonna buy it. Sweet spot will be around 130k.

• TempeKeras on Sep 13, 2023 at 9:33 pm

Lebih baik dari kete topu