The upcoming new sedan model from Proton, widely dubbed the ‘S50‘ has been sighted in public once again, this time with a unit having stopped to refuel at a station as shown in a video clip on TikTok.
Proton CEO Dr Li Chunrong said in early September that the S50 will be launched “in two months time”, which could mean early November at its soonest.
The S50 has been referred to internally as the SS11, referencing the Geely Emgrand, and this will be a B-segment sedan that will compete with the likes of the Toyota Vios and the Honda City. That said, the Emgrand-based S50 will be larger car externally, given that it measures 4,638 mm long, 1,820 mm wide and 1,460 mm tall, making it larger than the latest-generation Vios.
With Emgrand as a reference, the sedan sold overseas can be specified with a 114 PS/147 Nm 1.5 litre naturally aspirated four-cylinder engine, paired to either a five-speed manual or a CVT in China. Given its BMA platform shared with the Proton X50, the S50 could also use the 1.5 litre turbocharged three-cylinder engine in the B-segment SUV.
There will be no Android Auto nor Apple CarPlay, however, and the X50 will instead use an improved version of the infotainment head unit (IHU). Proton is still looking into Android Auto and Apple CarPlay, said deputy CEO Roslan Abdullah in July, “but the team is looking into the opportunity,” he said.
In terms of pricing of its Japanese rivals, the Toyota Vios starts from RM90k and goes to RM95k, while the Honda City that includes a hybrid variant at the top is priced from RM85k to RM110k.
With the Proton X50 priced between RM86k an RM113k, we think the upcoming S50 could be priced between RM70k – where the Preve was priced – and RM85k to get below the base X50 variant. How much do you think the Proton S50 will be priced?
@thisisfarelll jalan2 terserempak #protons50 ♬ original sound – thisisFARELL
Looking to sell your car? Sell it with myTukar.
Car segments are so cringey nowadays. Everybody trying to cross the segment , so confusing
Joke of the year seeing in camo
Like the camo wrap looks more shiny than the actual paint of the car.
Shouldn’t you be pumping Petronas instead to support local Malaysian company just like your Changing of the Shell to Petronas Engine Oil for the 1.5L Turbo engine.
So we have 3 SUVs,now 1 sedan from Geely.
That leaves us with the Jurassic sunset Exora,so called failed gamechanger Iriz,and the facelifted Saga.
So,by 2024/2025 Dr.Li would have completed the right hand drive versions of the replacements of these 3 vehicles.
In other words,P1 should be proudly renamed “GEELY M BHD “.
Proton…not relevant anymore…Geely is more relevant.
To compete against Camry and Mazda6 ?
We bet your based on total sales
Kelakarlah China-Proton ni nk camouflage bagai…kt internet byk ada gambar2 Geely Emgrand…setakat tkr design bumper, grill je pon…nk sembunyi2 pulak, malu2 tahi kucing !!!
City, Vios, Yaris sold >40K this years
So take your own sweet time Proton
They should name it something like Proton Prima or Proton Espira or maybe Proton Panthera. Let the S50/S70 name exclusive for overseas market
How about Proton Terbakar?
So is this camo color offered for flagship variant?
i wonder in this market climate if there is demand for such a vehicle, they should have strive to sell the mpv instead
Harap2 jgn mild hybrid ye….tak tentu pasal model panas jadi model hangus
this is a Geely car, its available in China and other countries that can buy Geely. Why cover it is camo when one google search can show all the car??? no more R&D and only re do the front grill and steering badge!!!
Saw this car at Cameron Highland accompanied by two X50 2 weeks ago
Who cares
Rebadged car need to take so long? Proton oh Proton.
Dont rush them. Weight against their history and ability.
If launch too fast you worry also.
You are talking about a brand that can’t get a power window to work properly not too long ago on a rebadge car as well.
It’s long overdue, big hype but no delivery!!!
Camo for junk product
Proton always do this type of marketing to bring up the hype.
Then when the real car is launched.
Most knowledgeable true car enthusiast will be truly disappointed one way or another.
The estimated price to be 70k to 85k?
Don’t get your hopes so high lah…
The lowest range is definitely the underpowered 1.5 NA engine and I dare to bet the range topping version with the range topping(but high maintenance) 1.5 TURBO engine will cost above 90k.
Based on Geelyton usual practise, it’s add 50% on top of the price in China for additional profit.
Unless they truly change their obvious game plan here in Malaysia.
Proton is no longer a vehicle for the Rakyat.
If it priced too close to a Vios / City, it is suicidal, regardless of the car having a kitchen sink.
So, ya, for their sake, I hope they do the sensible thing and price it below 70k
I mean, below 100k is attractive enough for 1.5T even without Direct Injection. Especially given the size, performance, and upmarket interior design. Unless you’re like me, worshipping the Japanese overlord, it doesn’t matter if 100k price come with 200hp, it still Chinese.
But the exterior S50 not attractive enough. Vios and city looks better.
If let say S50 launch together with perodua yaris cross rm85k, which car do u buy? The 3 cylinder timing belt 1.5 turbo or the 1.5NA 4 cylinder myvi engine?
Lol, I’d take the S50 in a heart beat. The advantage in performance and simplicity overshadow the disadvantages of timing belt or turbo. You don’t often see car stranded because of timing belt of turbo failure, other than engine overheating because of lacking maintenance. The Myvi 1.5NA is sluggish even in the lighter body of myvi, they remedied that with costly complicated hybrid system making the heavy SUV even heavier.
Honestly, I’ll take the 1.5 NA 4 Cylinder over the 1.5T. Main reason being the engine is tried and tested. It may be produce less HP & NM but the 4 Cylinder will always be better in the long run. Another thing is, Perodua & Toyota car actually has a higher resell value than Proton. So it’s another plus for me.
Hope next gen Saga & Persona will be Proton local in-house design. If all rebadge might as well replace Proton to Geely as a whole.
Proton better put a much improved transmission in this S50. The CVT in the Preve Turbo is extremely poor in performance and not reliable.