Proton S50 spied again testing on Malaysian roads – SS11 B-segment sedan test unit with added bodykit

The upcoming Proton B-segment sedan, which has been tipped to be called the S50, has been sighted once again running trials on Malaysian roads, and this time it has been photographed by paultan.org reader Joseph Kong.

Last seen in the wild towards the end of June, the upcoming sedan has been referred to by its SS11 internal codename by Proton CEO Dr Li Chunrong, following the Aapico-Proton joint venture announcement in July.

The removal of camouflage foil at this juncture is most gradual, with the latest example shorn of the foil on its side mirrors and rear quarter windows compared to its last sighting. There’s actually more, though.

As for what’s still covered, this example also appears to wear a bodykit relative to the previously-sighted example of the S50, with this latest example given extensions to its front bumper lip, side sills and rear bumper lower edge, plus bootlid spoiler; this could be for a version of the Emgrand-based sedan of a different trim level, or accessory body kit package.

Given the Geely Emgrand serves as its base, the S50 could use the 1.5 litre naturally-aspirated four-cylinder petrol engine that outputs 114 PS and 147 Nm of torque, which can be paired with either a five-speed manual or CVT sending drive to the front wheels.

A more advanced powerplant could be had, thanks to its use of the B-segment Modular Architecture (BMA) as on the Proton X50. That could be the B-SUV’s turbocharged powerplant, namely its 1.5 litre inline-three cylinder turbo petrol that makes 150 PS and 226 Nm.

The Geely Emgrand measures 4,638 mm long, 1,820 mm wide and 1,460 mm tall, and so the upcoming Proton S50 will be a larger car that Proton Preve it appears set to succeed. This lines up in terms of Proton’s sizing convention, where the X70 that competes with the Honda CR-V, is priced closer to the HR-V.

We would guess the S50 will be priced between RM70k, which would be similar to Preve pricing, and RM85k, to slot in below the base-variant X50. How much would you be prepared to pay for the new Proton sedan?

AD: Drive the Proton model of your dreams. Submit your details and Proton PJ will get in touch with you.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Peppa on Aug 22, 2023 at 8:41 pm

Ahh. The forgotten pLoton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 22
    • From the web on Aug 23, 2023 at 8:00 am

Would be way cool if it looks like a mini BMW >o<

• Dah Menang Semua on Aug 23, 2023 at 5:06 pm

Poor aerodynamic
        = loud A-pillar noise
        Faster engine
        = louder the boise

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 21
      • Dulu Proton Waja sudah Asia BMW lol

• Nice Proton Team on Aug 23, 2023 at 7:55 pm

Proton design department did a good job on the grill. Thats all they do. All from Geely

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
  • Pudinga on Aug 22, 2023 at 9:15 pm

The car has landed in the Philipines for ages.abd

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • From the web on Aug 23, 2023 at 8:01 am

But officially this car does not exist in RHD configuration yet.

• It’s a wildly different car just with the same body.

• Krim Beets on Aug 23, 2023 at 7:04 pm

It was released in the Philippines in 2022. Not that long.

• VanMarkus Wong Kok Wing on Aug 22, 2023 at 9:32 pm

Some more want to camo for what it’s just a geely maybe testing the grill I think bcos got r&d ma

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 31
    • LHD to RHD conversion is a major conversion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
      • Civic Type L(ol) on Aug 23, 2023 at 9:32 am

LHD to RHD involve internal modification only. That has nothing to do with camouflaged exterior(other than the grille and few body kits ofc) still useless camo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 22
        • Logical Deduction on Aug 23, 2023 at 1:08 pm

Even X50 and latest X90 has obvious exterior changes as compared to donor car so of course they will want to cover up these USP features until launch. Duh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
          • 4.7L V8 SUV on Aug 23, 2023 at 3:03 pm

Perhaps, they should wrap front & rear only where they make those changes, like those pre launched face-lift. It’s very gimmicky when people already know what the rest looks like.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 19
      • Jaguh Global on Aug 23, 2023 at 10:11 am

As if the most difficult complex engineering than space rocket propulsion system worth to be proud of.

Geely don’t have enough own expertise, need to subwork to others?

Yet still stick the signal stalk on left side which is assumingly cost a billion dollar to remake.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
      • Meaningless, better just buy X70 for that price.

• Wanmarkustupid on Aug 23, 2023 at 9:54 am

ahhh sohai like to comment with no brain..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
  • Ah. If its come with inline 4 with turbo, its going to be one of the hottest car again like the x50. I like what the x50 engine offers, but i am a bit skeptical on its long term reliability. Never the less, X50 is my goal by end 2023 or early 2024

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
    • Bob Mal on Aug 23, 2023 at 9:45 am

Sadly I just don’t think that it would happen anytime soon since the 1.5 TGDi is assembled here in Malaysia & likely they would try to bring in to as much CKD model as possible and likely it will be similar to X50 2 engine version and possibly NA to keep cost down.

Surprisingly of all the countries Geely sold in only the X50 type sold in Saudi have the latest 4 cyl Turbo Engine while the rest of the country and other model still 3 Cyl Turbo parts Volvo family.

• Krim Beets on Aug 23, 2023 at 7:06 pm

If it comes*, not “its”.

• Anonymous_C on Aug 22, 2023 at 10:48 pm

Inline 4 manual can still get consumer buying?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • Civic Type L(ol) on Aug 23, 2023 at 9:19 am

Wakeup, nowadays you wouldn’t get a manual unless it’s a sports car, or driving school specs.

• Sohai on Aug 23, 2023 at 7:57 am

1.5L na.. you want me to pay rm85k?
    Unless the car is call vios or city.
    This car should not price above rm70k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 57
    • Civic Type L(ol) on Aug 23, 2023 at 9:08 am

Bold of you to assume this car is being made for you. Don’t pay anything, don’t even consider maa, what are you even doing here lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
      • Hi brother, i never have my own car been passionate to wait for this so called pengganti preve . Will it be worth it ? I never have my own sedan :)

• Is it worth the price, i missed the preve & waja era. Looking forward to reward myself a good looking sedan

• Bob Mal on Aug 23, 2023 at 9:35 am

Well considering in Geely Philippines the car is priced lowest among all the type of X50, 70 & 90 it will be unlikely it will be priced higher than the starting price of X50 for the non-turbo ones.

• Krim Beets on Aug 23, 2023 at 7:07 pm

If it comes*, not “its”.

• Boy Racer on Aug 23, 2023 at 8:46 am

Almost 2 years of testing since the launch of the Geely Emgrand in the Philippines.

It better come to Malaysia with the 1.5 turbo engine at least.

• msia driver on Aug 23, 2023 at 8:59 am

Proton SA told me they target will get record this comapre to x50, they expect to get 80-90k units booking on the first day launch.

• @NotBruceWayne on Aug 23, 2023 at 9:21 am

Unless if it offers something better than City/Vios even Myvi, this will not achieve a milestone in sales, especially if priced more than 60K.
    *Proton, we understand it’s a rebadge; at least invest in redesigning the exterior for Msian flavour please. Take inspiration from good looking cars made throughout the decade. The look matters to hook buyers for a sedan in a world of crossovers & suvs. Just my 2 cents.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 25
  • Ben Yap on Aug 23, 2023 at 9:43 am

the 1.5 NA with 114hp is a joke. even honda city NA can do 120hp.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
    • Civic Type L(ol) on Aug 23, 2023 at 12:47 pm

Here some context: Even toyota made 168hp out of 1.6 when there was no emission standard. Euro 5 Honda 1.5 NA 119hp may not pass EU regulations in the future as EU is moving to Euro 6 standard. Geely 1.5 NA already passed that Euro 6 standard with mere 6hp different than Honda. No one would even notice the power difference.

• Hi brother,
        I’ve been waiting for my first car . I missed the preve & waja era . So this is going to be massive upgrade in my life . For family car too . Is this worth the price

• Last car before EV on Aug 23, 2023 at 12:56 pm

If 1.5NA 4 cylinder timing chain rm70k, i buy to replace my 7 years old persona. If rm80k+ 3 cylinder timing belt turbo with lots of ADAS or ACC junk no buy.

• Chinese on Aug 23, 2023 at 1:09 pm

more china car are coming into malaysia and are doing very good. thanks china for transforming our car market

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 10
    • TempeKeras on Aug 23, 2023 at 4:28 pm

Good time to migrate there. Boleh makan sup kelawar

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 26
      • Ah beng on Sep 06, 2023 at 3:55 pm

Not rebadging,proton just ckd them and just call them national car. We should call Proton Geely Malaysia for now on.

• Benadzir Buto on Aug 23, 2023 at 1:17 pm

whats the point of national car when its just rebadging Geely cars, and ONLY GEELY CARS. might as well, have Geely operate her as their original brand. Cheaper price too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
  • Ewww. Ploton..the dream of an old man aka ex pm..now everyone suffer need to buy expensive car while the tongkat ploton took over by communist

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 38
  • mechanicnextdoor on Aug 23, 2023 at 9:25 pm

Bad news for u, this thing will most probably start at 80k+

• John Geli on Aug 24, 2023 at 10:44 am

Sell it with actual Geely brand name, not Proton.

It’s time to stop pretending berpura-pura anymore.

• I hope proton and Geely will bring Lynk & Co 03+ sedan to Malaysia and just removed drl headlight and put it like saga premium mc2..