Can you drive a car in Malaysia wearing slippers?

A conversation with a friend raised the question, “is it illegal to drive a car in Malaysia while wearing slippers?” For a definitive answer, we checked with our source in the police Traffic Investigation and Enforcement Department (JSPT) in Bukit Aman, and this is what he has to say.

“The answer is, yes, it is against the law to drive a vehicle wearing slippers in Malaysia,” he said. “But this only applies to drivers holding a Public Service Vehicle (PSV), or Goods Delivery Licence (GDL),” he adds with a laugh.

Under the Road Transport Act 1987, a driver with a PSV or GDL is required to be dressed in accordance with regulations which includes wearing shoes. Failure to do so is a compoundable offence.

This includes wearing collared shirts for PSV drivers who are required to maintain “a professional appearance” while on duty. Our source said this rule does not apply to drivers of private vehicles with a Competent Driver’s Licence (CDL) who are free to dress as they wish while driving, including wearing slippers.

We asked the question if it was okay to drive shirtless and our source laughed, saying that is illegal too and relating an incident from early in his career. “Abang (elder brother), I was at a road block once and stopped a driver who had no clothes on, absolutely nothing, not a stitch on his body.”

“I looked at him and I didn’t know what to say. I didn’t even want to ask him for his licence because I was afraid where he was going to take it out from,” said our JSPT friend. He continues, laughing, “I just looked away and waved him on. Anyone brave enough to be driving naked is already in enough trouble I think.”

What about wearing slippers while riding a motorcycle, then? Check out the police’s answer to that here.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Riding motorcycle without helmet, running red lights are more dangerous than wearing a slipper while driving.

Unless you can settle these motorcycles, please don’t summon us, there are plenty riders without helmet, not to mention those food riders run red lights

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 121 Thumb down 19
    • Peppa on Oct 12, 2023 at 6:57 pm

Tiba2 nak mention pasal motor sebab terasa kan? Termakan umpan clickbait Paultan kan?LOLOLOLOL. Walhal banyak je kereta yang langgar lampu merah. Belum bincang lagi pasal yang lawan arus.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 85
      • Abraham Lincoln on Oct 13, 2023 at 6:14 am

It is better to stay silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all the doubt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
        • Abraham Lincoln's psychiatrist on Oct 13, 2023 at 9:02 am

It’s prudent to voice out an opinion & risk being criticised, than to keep quiet & be thought a cowardly dumb & mute.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
      • Peppa Babi on Oct 13, 2023 at 8:52 am

Tiba2 Peppa Babi ini gang rempit x berakal nak comment je. U rempit xde duit beli kasut pun, kena saman ke ? HAHAHAHAHAHAHA poor rempit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
      • Berapa peratusan motor langgar lampu merah berbanding kereta?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
      • B•doh Rempit Peppet on Oct 13, 2023 at 10:24 am

Rempit triggered lmao. Siapa yg makan cili terasa pedasnya.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • Arafat on Oct 13, 2023 at 1:52 am

Kalau naik motor pakai helmet tapi bogel macamana?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • Very true food riders are the worse off beating red light coming in on one way and getting angry for no reason.

• Guilty as charged on Oct 12, 2023 at 4:58 pm

Kena tangkap basah. Tak sempat pakai baju terus cabut

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
  • Would wearing slippers post potential safety issues? If yes, the law should be kept updated to be relevant in this manner. But if the law only wants to cover the decency of the vehicle users, are such law relevant?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • Anonymous on Oct 13, 2023 at 8:06 am

There is a slight risk with wearing slippers. It’s not a very secure footwear. If during an emergency and you are switching pedals very quickly, or the car is bouncing about your slippers can become loose.

However, you still can operate the vehicle so for private vehicle drivers it’s excusable. For those operating the vehicles for work purposes it’s the same as any other work environment. Safety is priority, and there is a degree of professionalism. You don’t come to work in a workshop wearing slippers. You don’t come to work in a government office wearing slippers. You don’t come to work in a lab wearing slippers. You don’t drive as a profession wearing slippers.

• Not wearing slipper on Oct 13, 2023 at 9:58 am

Some driver didnt even wear sliper when driving… they bring shoes to wear after they arrive at work… Thats simple… Some people cant even drive when they wear lipper or shoes, because they cant feel the pedal…

• hehehe on Oct 12, 2023 at 5:55 pm

some people don’t even wear slipper, just bare foot. So is it illegal or not?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • Chiew Lee Yih on Oct 12, 2023 at 8:51 pm

Slippers could stuck at gas pedal, cause car to accelerate uncontrollably, can barefoot cause that?

• Peppa on Oct 13, 2023 at 7:36 am

That’s me because i don’t want my pedals to get dirty

• kosumaledoko on Oct 13, 2023 at 9:28 am

When I drive manual car, will drive it barefoot if I wore slipper la, for better pedal modulation and no risk of slipper stuck at pedal.

Auto usually just drive with slipper on, because gap between pedal is bigger, lesser risk of stuck slipper.

• vicky on Oct 12, 2023 at 8:34 pm

how bout motorcyclist ride on the fast lane and blocking cars? worse on edl Johor Bahru

• how bout those who drive 140 beaming those car that drive 110 which attempting to take over a lorry

• Die all stupid driver on Oct 13, 2023 at 12:24 pm

If you cant fkin takeover a lorry quick enuf thn just stay middle lane

• Chiew Lee Yih on Oct 12, 2023 at 8:51 pm

Slippers could stuck at gas pedal, causing car to accelerate uncontrollably

• Asking man question on Oct 12, 2023 at 11:48 pm

Is it legal a man riding motorcycle upper half naked or wearing singlets driving car?

• I already like your source of information from the police force. He sounds like a jovial man and seems pretty level headed too! Nobody will want to stop a driver whom is stark naked!
    LOL!

• Dr. James Fernando on Oct 13, 2023 at 6:44 am

That’s right. If I am not mistaken this is taught when we take up Driving Lesson. A handbook is also given out.and it is also reflected as such.
    Slippers can get entangle on the paddle and an accident can happen. There are few such cases being reported I the local media but drivers choose to ignore it

• Manogaran on Oct 13, 2023 at 7:46 am

Stupidity of human is always trying to be right when they correct others.Imagine if you are driving a lorry from JB to Penang how long can you keep your shoes on your feet.Such rules are sometimes lunatic.Government should look into faded lane dividers and many faulty traffic lights.Some flash thrice green some five times.Imagine one in JB and going to Ipoh where he expects 5 flash but ends up after three.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • 4G63T DSM on Oct 14, 2023 at 9:58 am

By right, if you are operating a HGV you should be in safety boots and a hi vis vest. There are bigger companies that mandate drivers to be appropriately dressed for the job.

As mentioned in the article, even taxi drivers are required to be dressed appropriately for the job.

Its just here we are a bit lax.

• Ben Yap on Oct 13, 2023 at 8:26 am

so particular, then better just wear full face helmet like those rally drivers.

• Hunky Dory on Oct 13, 2023 at 8:39 am

Before enforcing ludicrous laws that inconvenience more people, resolve the loutish behaviour of delivery riders nationwide and especially motorcyclists in Penang.
    Nobody owes the delivery riders a living. Don’t endanger us, the other road users, while you’re chasing a few more dollars.
    Penang motorcyclists are the worst. Not only have they taken over the other side of the road against the traffic but they’ve also turned into louts. You’d get a middle finger or some profanities if you honked at them for encroaching into your lane.

• Gaviny on Oct 13, 2023 at 9:05 am

Thank goodness, have you ever sat in car where people kept their shoes and socks inside and never change them out ? Bau bangkai

• Millert Bylon on Oct 13, 2023 at 11:35 am

I think law enforcers need to be humane too..advice is more important than strict enforcement right?

• biased law on Oct 13, 2023 at 12:44 pm

what about not wearing helmets on motorbikes?
    Every Friday, without fail, 100% consistently, we can see motorcyclist without helmets riding motorbikes to mosques. Is the LAW taking a break on Friday during prayer time? Can we rob a bank during this time?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Deric Foo on Oct 13, 2023 at 2:56 pm

Got one time when I was young and still standard five at 2005 my mom drive me to school in just her satin panties and t shirt I was so shock isn’t that illegal too but she’s a woman. Woman has the right to wear what she wants but we have no right to control them, is that a serious matter too in Malaysia? Will the police stop her if they notice it?

• Pulis Sudan on Oct 13, 2023 at 7:26 pm

Cik nak ke mana ni? Cantik seluar dalam? Warna apa tu? Tunjuk sikit boleh? Sila ke tepi….and the story continues in front of the poor innocent boy….

• Zainal Rabun on Oct 14, 2023 at 2:16 am

Have a valid question on PDRM carrying out road blocks on tolled highways causing massive traffic jams when users pay the toll charges specifically to avoid the traffic jams? Would the highway operator agree to refund the users the toll charges incurred when these road blocks occur?

• Very true food riders are the worse off beating red light coming in on one way and getting angry for no reason.

• klgan on Oct 15, 2023 at 11:37 am

Wearing slipper when driving is a safety risk. It’s not about fashion or convenient. If you only have slipper, than take it off and drive bare footed, it’s safer than driving with slipper on.

Tak pernah kena tak tahu, but when really kena the time, maybe too late to save life.

• Sakthi on Oct 15, 2023 at 8:10 pm

Hi Paul pls do me a favour…its çompulsory for commercial vehicles below 3500 BTM to wear a seat belt whereby its not for heavy vehicles….a parcel delivery van does around 150 stops perday çompared to heavy vehicles…its not feasible to strap and unstrap seat belts….the ruling by KPM or JPJ must change ….

• Seitha on Oct 16, 2023 at 10:57 am

This includes wearing collared shirts for PSV drivers who are required to maintain “a professional appearance”..

Wear shirt and carry goods when the driver arrives at his destination.
    People who write laws must do the work first before they write the laws…
    real idiotic laws!!