Illegal to ride a motorcycle in Malaysia with slippers?

After answering the question of the legality of driving a car in Malaysia while wearing slippers (check out the official answer here), it naturally begat the question is the same applied to riding motorcycles. We posed the question to our friend in the Bukit Aman Traffic Investigation and Enforcement Department (JSPT) and he was at a loss for words for a moment.

Abang, are you playing the fool with me or what? You’re a biker for many years and you want to ask me this question?” he finally said. After confirming we were indeed serious in asking the question, he replied, “no, it is not against the law.”

The Road Transport Act 1987 does not clearly specify protective riding gear for motorcyclists, nor does it make any safety equipment except for helmets mandatory, he elaborated. “However, we riders know riding without gear is, for want of a better word, stupid,” he said.

“I would ask all riders of all bikes, big or small, to please wear a helmet and if possible, gloves and shoes,” he advised. “I have attended to so many accidents on the highway where proper safety gear could have prevented, or at the least, reduced the severity of injuries and in some cases, death,” said our JSPT source.

Compare this to France, where it is mandatory to ride a motorcycle wearing a helmet and gloves, at a minimum, has been mandatory since 2017. so, the answer is yes, you can ride a motorcycle wearing slippers in Malaysia, but it would be foolish to do so.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Bund sung Lee on Oct 18, 2023 at 6:08 pm

Another good side income at road blocks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
    • Edidi Siasat...those without helmets on Oct 19, 2023 at 4:48 pm

I dont give a damn whether the dude wears slippers or bare foot.
      What is illegal r those 3-4 in a bike without helmets going to sekolah everyday…PMX ,if PDRM needs more collection on samans,pls station enforcement officers at all sekolahs..sure can collect berjuta juta Rm..give to rumah anak yatim better or B40.

• Wut?..u expect mat rempit to buy nice shoe and do wheelie superman?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • Best comment on Oct 19, 2023 at 8:04 am

Those rempit doesn’t need nice shoe because they will die if they crash, waste money only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
      • Reality on Oct 21, 2023 at 2:54 am

I dont agree with mat rempit on jln,but so far that i know if mat rempit xde,whos gonna buy ur fancy kit from ur shop ahpek?they ni la yg drop their money there n make u unton maa ..

• Full leather riding suit on a kapchai in kl traffic will be a sight to behold

• Safety comes first. Helmet with visor, gloves, suit or windbreaker and protective footwear are essential. Good if a facemask is worn to protect the nose and mouth, taking into consideration the air-pollutants.

• Ben Yap on Oct 19, 2023 at 9:11 am

should make it mandatory for all riders to wear fullface helmet, protective gloves, jacket, pants and shoes. wearing the jacket terbalik should be made illegal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
  • Dunno what 7 u say on Oct 19, 2023 at 10:07 am

Riding wt slippers is not illegal. I understand that all commercial vehicles must wear proper shoes while driving. I’ve seen many lorry drivers wearing slippers.

• the driver on Oct 19, 2023 at 10:45 am

I speak for all motorcyclists in M’sia. When will they ever develop a helmet that is cool to use and easily washable for our climate? I really sympathize with folks who have to work daily with those awful helmets

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • Ah Chong on Oct 19, 2023 at 12:57 pm

How easy is easy for you? My cheapo givi helmet just a few clips away from removing inner lining. Or maybe you think givi isn’t cool?

Also, headscarf or balaclava does wonders.

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 19, 2023 at 12:58 pm

What have you been wearing then? The better ones all come with removable and washable pads. My fullface isn’t necessarily too hot when moving. If heat is your concern, get an offroad dual sport helmet.

on the flip side, better helmets would do shit, when the people using them don’t even bother strap them on properly.

• Improvisation is the name of the game on Oct 19, 2023 at 4:52 pm

Aiyah..improvise..bradder…buy a big coconut..cut into 2…clean shave ,drill 2 lobangs,then tie something to connect the lobangs.This is safer than those helmetless dudes,that r an eyesore.