As part of Malaysia’s Budget 2024, the government will continue to bear the cost of the B2 motorcycle licence test fee for 40,000 youth from underprivileged families under the MyLesen scheme. The licence test fee cost for e-hailing and taxi licences, dubbed MyPSV, will also be borne by the government under this incentive to help the B40 group.
A part of government income generated from the issuance of special number plates will be allocated for this, amongst other measures to reduce the financial burden of those in the B40 category. With an eye to road safety, Prime Minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim also said 100,000 helmets will be given to under privileged families.
The helmets will include those in child sizes to help reduce the injury rate amongst Malaysian motorcyclists. In Budget 2023, Finance Minister Datuk Seri Tengku Zafrul Abdul Aziz announced the abolition of the Public Service Vehicle (PSV) and B2 motorcycle licence test fee.
Looking to sell your car? Sell it with myTukar.
Income from selling special number plates..should also go to purchase CCTVs at most traffic junctions to nab the blardy e hailing riders who r color blind when they approach traffic lights.
Rakyat friendly n tolerant. Syukur madani govt
HANG ON…
THAT MEANS… ALL THOSE WHO PAID SO MUCH FOR NICE NUMBER PLATES.. ARE ACTUALLY FUNDING MORE MOTORBIKE RIDERS WHO ARE GONNA CAUSE MORE STRESS ON THE ROAD???…
AND HELMETS??? PREVENTIVE MEASURE OF ACCIDENT IS PROPER ROAD-USER EDUCATION. NOT HELMETS!…
FUNDING MORE HELMETS IS LIKE SAYING “WE ARE OK WITH THE ACCIDENT RATES AS IS AND WE ARE NOT GOING TO CURB IT BUT TO EMBRACE IT”…
Funny you said 100k helmets to underprivileged families. If they’re poor how can they even afford a motorbike in the first place? Stolen bike? Isn’t a helmet cheaper than a bike? Look…these folks are on suicide missions. You give them ironman suits also they die.
Have you ever bothered to think deeply enough that these poor folks could have bought cheap 2nd hand bikes or the bikes were given to them by relatives or friends?
ini jenis komen dulu, fikir kemudian. genetik pertikaian national in their blood. dont they realize among that 100k is their voter in last pru?
PMX, since u planned to give 100k crash helmets to these folks, why don’t you include another 100k of helmets for their d**ks. We need help with population control too
Procreation is what you’re on earth for. Nice try with the sly racist remark. Too bad you can’t get it up to produce any children.
You’re absolutely right. There won’t be any rich if there’s no poor. T20 won’t exist if there’s no B40 setting the benchmark so low. Be proud you’re a T20. As for population control, they have their own vices to keep their numbers under control
Ya..some species in malaysia just made too many babies without the capability of raising them..all want government to support..such tongkat species..lol
Dah macam kucing liar kan? We no shame
but condom is not the pure solution for this, especially in pantai timur, because anak-anak itu rezeki and ummat ramai mentality, proud with many kids. maybe gov can start the 3 or 4 children policy per family. but if people want more than 4, dont restrict. just give more reward or bantuan to the family who follow the policy.
The problem with motorbikes is that there will be no incentive to aim higher once they get a free license. For example there are two people, one has a bike, the other for whatever reasons can’t get a bike. The person (where a bike is out of the question) will have to work hard enough to be able to get a car instead or otherwise be stuck with public transport. Over time, the person without a bike gets a car, but the one with the bike tends to stay on the bike. I see this all the time. Madani govt knows this is just to appease the masses, while they ride around in the latest EV’s.
Any strict criteria going to be implemented to select the 40,000 youths? Otherwise this action would be doing more bad than good. One of them would be contributing to more reckless riders on the road. And on the 100,000 helmets for the underprivileged, this is even more of a populist step. Use the money to install body cameras on PDRM. It is high time they should have that to protect justice both ways, the public especially. And to monitor how efficient they are in catching lawbreaking riders and drivers. Doing it in a more thorough and extensive manner. Not doing it in a prejudiced manner, distorted or with unethical interest. You can easily see riders are still not abiding the law riding without helmets. And you can easily see police personnel just look at them from across or even nearby without doing anything. If law enforcement on the road is strict enough you won’t see riders without helmets zooming on the road nonchalantly. Improve on enforcement, justice and corruption ( which I personally given up ).
What is the assurance that the people will use the free helmets given to them.
The people in authority d not have observation powers!!.
We can see many parents sending 2-3 kids(+ wife) to school on their bikes. The kids don wear helmets. Only the husband and wife!!.
These parents can afford expensive and noisy exhausts, modify their bikes, big tyres, smoke and vape while on the bike but have no money to buy helmets for the kids!!!
Epitome of irony!!