Toyota can’t CKD EVs in all ASEAN markets – will use each country’s strengths to offer low cost EVs for all

Toyota EPU EV Pick-up Truck Concept pictured.

Toyota Motor Asia Pacific (TMAP), at its pre-show brief before tomorrow’s Japan Mobility Show opening, has revealed ongoing difficulties the company is facing in trying to set up a manufacturing plant for its upcoming EV models in the ASEAN markets. “All governments are telling us to invest in their country,” said TMAP president and Asia deputy CEO Hao Quoc Tien.

It’s only natural that nations would want an automotive giant like Toyota to invest in them – certainly with extra incentives offered as added stimulus. But, Toyota can’t possibly CKD its EVs in all ASEAN markets, according to Hao.

“In order to achieve a sustainable operation, the price has to be affordable. We need volume for that. Imagine if we have to make our EVs in this country, that country and every country, the prices of the components will end up being more expensive,” he explained.

However, Hao went on to say that Toyota had gone through a similar issue with its traditional models, and has worked out a solution that, in theory, should also work for its EVs. The Toyota Centres of Excellence model of having various countries “specialise” in different major parts, and then taking advantage of the ASEAN free trade agreement is key here.

“We will still localise the components (but not all in one place). Maybe Indonesia will manufacture the battery, and perhaps Thailand can make the electric motor. Then, another country can assemble the battery, and together we can all enjoy a low cost EV,” Hao elaborated.

In basic terms, Toyota plans to use each country’s own strengths to its advantage, ultimately to offer more affordable EVs for all ASEAN markets. Major countries will get some (though smaller) investments, keeping everyone happy. That sure sounds like a fair trade for everyone, but the question is, how will Malaysia fit into this?

GALLERY: Toyota EPU EV Pick-up Truck Concept

GALLERY: Toyota Land Cruiser Se EV Concept

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Eddy marang on Oct 24, 2023 at 8:48 pm

Rebadged P2 from toyota EV sell below rm50ribu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • Dah Menang Semua on Oct 25, 2023 at 11:49 am

Toyota only do retailing
      P2 to rebadging CKD
      Consolidate SCs

• Peppa on Oct 25, 2023 at 8:14 am

Toyota is right tho. But people don’t and will never understand from a business perspective.

• Sohai on Oct 25, 2023 at 8:20 am

Fair trade? Since when we know how to fight fairly?
    Noticed they mentioned indonesia and Thailand but not Malaysia?
    We are no longer the tiger we once were. The sooner we realise the better for us. Then we can start proper restructuring if we are serious in the automotive game.

• Peppa on Oct 25, 2023 at 6:29 pm

They also don’t mention Singapore and Brunei. Does that make them a bad country? No. Take a good look that our two neighbours you mentioned are much larger than us. You should be glad Germans luxury autos are working to CKD’ed their ev in Malaysia instead of our neighbouring countries. So stop belittling Malaysia unless you have this self-hate mentality which is famous in Twitter

• kckfen on Oct 25, 2023 at 10:41 am

At this stage Toyota cannot rely on its toyota factory to build their EV. Their EV car actually is not built entirely by them but joint venture with SAIC to build.. hence they is no way they can essemble EV in Asean at this moment.

• Ex VGM staff on Oct 25, 2023 at 11:55 am

Malaysia still is capable to supply conventional car parts like windscreen, seats, seatbelt, airbags, tyres, brakes, lights and suspension system. Indonesia can supply battery, thailand supply motor.

• That is the problem. To succeed, asean must start working together instead of trying to compete with one another.
    We have asean free trade but never honoured it.trade in rice is not even free, what more motor vehicles.