Proton S70 sedan – Executive, Premium, Flagship, Flagship X variant breakdown, colour options detailed

It looks like we are getting close to the launch of the Proton S70 sedan now. Official flyers of the SS11 sedan model has been posted on social media, detailing key highlights of the four variants – Executive, Premium, Flagship and Flagship X – plus the seven colour options available.

The variant breakdown is essentially the same as the leaked table we’ve already seen before, but it confirms the use of the 1.5 litre three-cylinder turbocharged engine across the board, along with a seven-speed dual clutch transmission. The combo is shared with the Proton X50, though the S70 gets the less powerful 1.5T MPI (150 PS and 226 Nm in the SUV; sedan specs to be confirmed) instead of the X50 Flagship’s 1.5T TGDi (177 PS, 255 Nm).

Beyond the engine and transmission, the base Executive variant (Standard naming has been dropped) gets six airbags, lane change assist, electric parking brake, 16-inch alloy wheels (design can be seen in the flyer), fabric seats and an 8.0-inch infotainment head unit. The Premium adds on LED headlamps, rear taillight bar, leatherette seats, auto air conditioning and a reverse camera.

Next up are the two Flagship variants. They gain the full Advanced Driver Assistance System (ADAS) suite, tyre pressure monitoring system, 17-inch alloy wheels, 10.3-inch LCD meter combination, driver power seat, 12.3-inch infotainment head unit, wireless charger and a 360-degree camera with 3D display. The top Flagship X adds on a sunroof.

The second page details the seven colour options: Snow White, Armour Silver, Space Grey, Passion Red, Marine Blue, Teal Bayou Green and Quartz Black. The green is brand new for Proton, while Quartz Black is a surprising addition to the range, having previously been exclusive to official government vehicles (bar a few special edition models). Refer to the table above for the colour/variant matrix.

It shouldn’t be long now until we know more about Proton’s brand new sedan model. As usual, stick to paultan.org for the latest updates.

GALLERY: Proton S70 in other colours

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Desperado hardcore Protong fanboys on Nov 11, 2023 at 5:57 pm

Today,if Datuk Mydin is dishing out charity to our enforcers,he just have to remove most of the price tags on his groceries,clothing etc at his hypermarts.
    One phone call or text,the enforcement dudes will take swift action.
    However,how come Protong can sell cars without price tags?
    High time,our enforcers SITA all the cars at showrooms without price tags.
    The odd thing is also people r like desperadoes who book the S70 without knowing the actual price.They might be buying a lemon at an exhorbitant price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 104
    • Too many low IQ low EQ PT forum commentators on Nov 14, 2023 at 1:29 pm

How to equate booking a near launching date new car to your daily grocery runs?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 93
  • Guys, don’t place your booking yet. Let Proton release their pricing first. I’m guessing they are taking in the booking to gauge the interest for this model.

The more people are booking, the more they know they have high demand and they can put the pricing high.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 76
  • Funniest c-seg spec ever at this era . Proton’s just betting at the drivetrain only to sell this B-pretending-to-be-C car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 93
  • opman on Nov 11, 2023 at 6:49 pm

Doesn’t look like an affordable car for the local folks unless priced below 60k. Car prices here are overpriced and burden to the masses.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 122
    • Autodriver on Nov 18, 2023 at 12:19 pm

Malaysia car overpriced? Just in case you don’t know SG is way higher and even the Thai are getting more expensive than us. Beside car price Malaysia almost cheap in everywhere related to car. Our fuel price is top 10 lowest in the world. Our parking fee and toll fare ain’t expensive. If car price is cheap and others fee also cheap then we can imagine a short distance of 5km will take you 1 hour to drive due to massive jam.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 85
  • Insider on Nov 11, 2023 at 7:07 pm

Selling price from 60,500 to 69,888 :))

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 111
  • FudgeMeSideways on Nov 11, 2023 at 8:29 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 150
    • Ex MP bersatu on Nov 11, 2023 at 9:50 pm

Agree. Baikbeli X50’s 1.5T TGDi (177 PS, 255 Nm)..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 73
    • Talk is cheap. No money so no buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 94
      • Aikon on Nov 12, 2023 at 11:23 am

Hahaha, good one!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 117
        • Semua mau cepat on Nov 13, 2023 at 1:18 pm

For some people. Cepat means good. Macam Saga modified dan Satria modified, seat also put low low. Moreover, put lots of stickers at back and front screen and they call this syok and good. Kereta tak cukup syok, the motorbike at home also change the exhaust pipe. Make it louder so it can go faster. Inilah standard number one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 104
    • Really makes me wonder what car u can actually buy rather than no buy this and that. Air liur tu percuma…put your money where your mouth is.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 108
    • carlzen on Nov 14, 2023 at 11:36 am

1.5T MPI engine is enough. 1.5T GDI is a maintenance nightmare with carbon deposit prone to stuck on valve.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 96
    • ron99 on Nov 14, 2023 at 12:25 pm

Even not GDI 177hp 226Nm at 1500rpm turbo more than enough lah, as altis 1.8na rm149k 137hp 177Nm at 4000rpm only. Somemore TGDI after few years cannot use fuel injector cleaner to clean valve.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 80
  • Geely fanboy on Nov 11, 2023 at 9:01 pm

I estimate the price would be from RM70,000 up to 95,000 for the flagship model

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 100
    • normal_user on Nov 11, 2023 at 10:49 pm

The lineup may be priced similar to the X50 range given the same engine, DCT, weight, & features. The X50 starts at 86k until 113k. So 79-98 is more likely I think. As long it’s below the 100k psychological barrier for B segment models. Those hopeful for Preve pricing will be disappointed.

Proton SA main USP? Civic size/refinement at City’s price. Altis comfort at Vios’s price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 101
      • Xc90 Owner on Nov 12, 2023 at 1:47 am

It’s a B segment car. Hence the same segment as City or Vios, but marketed as Civic and Altis rival? Proton try to upmarket this car by calling it S70 instead of S50.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 104
      • The X variant will easily shoot beyond RM100k mark.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 96
      • Sohai on Nov 12, 2023 at 9:45 am

I think the moment you hit vios / city pricing, is a no go for proton, and that doesnt matter you have a kitchen sink in the car.
        Why would anyone wants a proton instead of a toyota/honda if not because of the price?
        Perodua alza has to slash a rm20k for practically the same car as the Veloz.
        If proton doesnt get at least a rm15k difference than the vios/city, it has no chance. Is not just about feature or power. Is that it is going after the same target segment as vios/city which is established product.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 118
        • Nonsense on Nov 12, 2023 at 5:39 pm

LMAO “It’s not just about feature or power” said this fella with this username who’s always complain about features & power in the past.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 96
        • tapsoba on Nov 14, 2023 at 5:06 am

You talk like vios and city are the pinnacle model in this segment. Even this car is priced similarly, the feature and power offering is much more compared to those two that we feel like it’s a steal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 90
          • Sohai on Nov 15, 2023 at 8:58 am

If someone let you pick between the S70 and a City as a gift, which one will you pick? No cost involve.
            You maybe right that city is not the pinnacle. Infact people that drives a City really wanted a Civic but they can’t afford one. But they still very much wanted a Honda.
            It is the Brand value at play here. The problem is nobody wanted a Proton just like nobody wanted a Hyundai 20 years ago. Hyundai had to give long warranty and feature lists at a cheaper price to let people experience their brand and build loyalty. Proton is again slightly different here because most Malaysian has experienced the brand, and found the product to be subpar. Hence not much loyalty built.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 14
          • tapsoba on Nov 15, 2023 at 8:03 pm

Well, how about as a gift to someone who don’t ever want a Honda? Even if you say proton brand is subpar compared to honda (which I doubt many ppl will agree with), to those who despises the stereotype “must be honda or toyota” mindset will definitely not take honda as a gift.

“Nobody wanted a proton”, and yet it’s still the 2nd most car sold here with market share over 40% from your beloved honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 16
  • normal_user on Nov 11, 2023 at 10:25 pm

That 16″ wheel design looks so hideous. If not machine/diamond cut, at least should be black two-tone design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 81
    • tapsoba on Nov 14, 2023 at 6:36 pm

It has being repeated millions of times that “design is .. and always will be.. subjective to ones opinion”. Besides, do you really buy car based on wheel design alone? The one thing that you’ll end up replacing with aftermarket wheels anyway? *shaking my head aggresively*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 99
  • Same Lorr on Nov 11, 2023 at 10:43 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 122
  • amonrei on Nov 12, 2023 at 1:10 am

Should just have 2 variants instead of 4. Things on Premium should just be standard and it’s pointless to separate the sunroof model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 102
  • tricycle on Nov 12, 2023 at 7:36 am

Thanks Proton/Geely.

Now we have the option of getting the top specs WITHOUT having to have Sunroof/Panaromic roof as well.

We have/had 2 cars with panaromic roof, it is really freaking hot during the day (even after it was IR tinted RM900).

And we also keep on worrying of water leakages as well as rock/tree branches, coconut from hitting our car panaromic roof at any time.

We also have paid more than needed for the windscreen protection insurance not knowing whether it will cover the GLASS roof or not.

Again thanks Proton/Geely. The best ever option.

For those who wants the glass roof, there is still option to buy one on the Flagship X. Win win for all.

I wish other continental brands that sell their cars here in Malaysia to not force buyers to compulsory to have the glass roof for the top spec model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 78
    • N. I. H on Nov 12, 2023 at 6:32 pm

Bagus…
      Inilah komen paling cerdik… berdasarkan pengalaman sebenar dan sangat logik…

Bukan macam komen yang orang sebelum tu, acah pandai… kononnya pointless lah untuk separate sunroof model… hang buat conclusion ikut kajian mana…

Lepas tu kata sepatutnya hanya perlu ada 2 varians saja…. awat…? hang lebih pandai dari Proton ka…? ini orang kalau buat bisnes kacang butir pun lingkup… sebab jual 2 jenis kacang saja… acah pandai…

Konon tulis dalam bahasa inggeris tu cerdik sangatlah… sebab tu aku kata, acah pandai… buat palatao…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 93
  • REAL X70 OWNER WITH CAR STUCK AT WORKSHOP (FRUSTRATED) on Nov 12, 2023 at 1:21 pm

world class aftersales, conti car feel

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 100
  • Akotek on Nov 12, 2023 at 7:57 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 129
    • Civic Type Rawr on Nov 13, 2023 at 12:16 am

Your argument is pointless. The S70 neither of those. A few mm shy from Civic dimension, with way shorter wheelbase. A lot less power than the Civic, but plentiful to smoke the City on a climbing road.

Car segments is not real, it’s just a marketing tool to slot the car tier level. Different brands have different interpretations of their own segments. Just like how people in MY thought of Civic as high end car, in reality it’s a low-end family sedan everywhere else that’s not SEA. There’s not really a “segment” over there. The Accord and 5-Series is called “Midsize”, while 7-Series and S-Class is the “Full Fledged” sedan. Then what is the City? Simply too low of tier to even exist out of SEA (mostly).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 87
      • Altis old man car on Nov 13, 2023 at 5:21 pm

Goodluck then for proton to become global brand. Geely already sold this everywhere as a B+. Only the blind will accept this as a Compact car rivaling civic altis 3. Can only blind Malaysian

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 102
        • Civic Type Rawr on Nov 13, 2023 at 8:12 pm

They already are a global brand, though tiny one. Geely is not proton, thus “segments” between them is quite different, nor they care what people think of “segments”. Rarely any carmaker mentioned “segments”. They simply put a price and let people decide what it is. MY people are blind enough to accept Civic as high-end car, it’s more than acceptable if they think the S70 is way better than the City.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 95
  • Buyot on Nov 13, 2023 at 12:39 pm

buy car or buy engine ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 89
  • Kosong variant fan on Nov 13, 2023 at 1:52 pm

Buy premium variant lah if price around rm85k. Else just buy exec variant wrap leather seat outside.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 75
  • there is no proton dna,only Geely. You will lear value lesson after 3 years when come to spare parts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 79
    • Nonsense on Nov 13, 2023 at 8:23 pm

Work harder man. You think those who decide to buy a car equipped with 18″, 19″ tyres aren’t capable of paying for spare parts? Don’t be silly, spend your money on something you can afford. Perodua is there for you always.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 95
    • Proton 90's king on Nov 13, 2023 at 8:39 pm

Got, still using timing belt since 1985.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 101
      • Yamaha Powertrain Engineers on Nov 14, 2023 at 1:43 pm

Timing chain seizure cost more to fix major overhaul engine compares to timing belt snapped. Timing chain engine noisier, heavier and uses more lubricant than timing belt engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 96
        • Autodriver on Nov 18, 2023 at 12:34 pm

Do you mean using timing chain is inferior than timing belt? A normal timing chain expectancy lifespan is 400k km before need of change due to solid build. There are 90% of people do not drive beyond 400k km before the car got scrapped or abandoned, it is basically no need of change for timing chain. Timing belt is silent but more fragile than timing chain. Usually need to change every 120k km and cost few hundred to thousand.

If timing belt is so good why most Conti, Japanese, Korea and even Chinese cars are using timing chain instead of timing belt?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 82
  • Mahathir on Nov 13, 2023 at 5:33 pm

Since u r not aware, let me share with u, all cars sold in malaysia need to get government approval. U read it right, even imported cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 105
  • ThePolygon on Nov 14, 2023 at 8:57 am

I fear the price might not be Madani.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 78
  • Grease monkey on Nov 18, 2023 at 12:53 pm

Volvo S70 owners be like…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 71
  • Syaiful Nizam Hassan on Nov 18, 2023 at 1:29 pm

Why no more Standard variant for S70? Is it to balance with Saga (no more Executive variant since its 1st facelift on 2019)?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 104
  • Mumtaz on Nov 19, 2023 at 11:48 am

Proton , saya akan tunggu awak sendiri buat Sedan atau +Japan .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 75
  • Hurain on Jan 14, 2024 at 2:45 am

Since u r not aware, let me share with u, all cars sold in malaysia need to get government approval. U read it right, even imported cars.

• Hurain on Jan 14, 2024 at 2:46 am

I agree it