VIDEO: Boy in Grab car attacks driver with a knife in Sungai Petani – e-hailing cars need interior dashcams

A shocking video was recently posted in the ‘Penduduk Sungai Petani Kedah’ Facebook group (reposted by @sungaikelaut on X), where a passenger in a Grab car is seen attacking the driver in Sungai Petani, Kedah.

In the interior dashcam footage, a boy that netizens are claiming to be around 13 years of age is seen in the back seat while being driven by the elderly Grab driver. At around the 1:10 minute mark of the video, the driver pulls up to the destination and prepares to receive payment.

A few seconds later, the boy pulls out what appears to be a knife and attempts to stab the driver but is thwarted and proceeds to exit the vehicle and run away. The driver doesn’t appear to be physically harmed following the attack.

The motive of the attack is not known but this incident shows the importance for e-hailing cars to have interior dashcams installed. It is common for cars to have outward-facing dashcams to capture critical footage in the event of a traffic accident, but not many e-hailing cars have one for the interior. If you provide e-hailing rides, consider getting one for your car.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• ROTI CANAI on Nov 28, 2023 at 9:39 am

budak yahudi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 17
  • Make it compulsory! on Nov 28, 2023 at 9:57 am

i think many ehailing didnt put inside view dashcam bcoz :
    1. expensive to get a reliable 1
    2. whether it is ok/legal to record passenger. Scare of privacy dispute later.
    3. No clear guideline from the platform provider.
    Suggest that:
    Ehailing platform provide cloud based camera, auto record during job. Data store for 2mths in their cloud/server. So there will no risk for driver mishandled the data. Inform passenger/driver tht journey will be recorded.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
  • Ben Yap on Nov 28, 2023 at 10:28 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 107
    • yen bap on Nov 28, 2023 at 10:31 am

bro you think its normal for people to go around with a big knife is it?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 1
      • Kepala Bapak Hang, pujian sanusi for the boy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
      • budak ni on Nov 28, 2023 at 11:30 am

if this boy brought knife along, he oredi planned intention to hurt or rob somebody.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 1
    • Watdefax on Nov 28, 2023 at 10:42 am

Are you fucking retarded? This kid planned to stab him all along.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
    • Are you twisted ?

So if your school teacher scolds you
      You have every right to stab your teacher with a knife ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
    • And there’s the victim blaming. Classic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • Claire on Nov 28, 2023 at 11:32 am

Obviously is the boy planning to grab money with the knife that’s why he has no planned destiny, keep ask the driver pusing sini sana that’s why the uncle scold him, can’t you try to understand what is the video telling ? Who the hell will carry such big knife in a grab car for this age?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
      • Sir, no point arguing with shallow person. Safe your time for something more important.

• bro, not a time to joke. not this time

• where is the compassion? on Nov 28, 2023 at 11:39 pm

there is a serious problem here. What kind of upbringing tht can lead to such a violent child? Only 13yrs old, with the intention to hurt. Where is the compassion? Ask me to cut a live chicken also not dare. How can a boy so cruel??? Something really wrong here! If gment r serious abt the future, plz do something to correct it. It is very wrong to hurt anybody, no matter what kind of excuse. Need to look into root cause of this.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 139 Thumb down 0
  • Anak i baik on Nov 28, 2023 at 10:29 am

Anak i baik, dia x pernah macam tu, mungkin ada orang ajar dia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 6
    • Sanusi on Nov 28, 2023 at 12:29 pm

Kedah elok dohh.. LOL

• DonkeyKong on Nov 28, 2023 at 12:43 pm

Anak saya soleh.. tak pernah tinggal solat.. selalu membantu di masjid. Orang lain fitnah dia. Sekarang adik dah masuk penjara. Mama rindu.. mama masih lipat baju adik, terfikir adik masih ada di rumah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 25
    • Mungkin Si Sanusi kut

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • alihms on Nov 28, 2023 at 10:42 am

This is attempted man-slaugter. A very serious crime.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
  • far east on Nov 28, 2023 at 10:43 am

who would’ve thought seatbelts can save you from a stab. hope the kid will be punished accordingly. and uncle go buy 4D jackpot

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Froddo on Nov 28, 2023 at 10:55 am

Salah dap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 28
  • Peppa on Nov 28, 2023 at 11:38 am

I will gladly run over that kid.

• @NotBruceWayne on Nov 28, 2023 at 11:47 am

Good thing is uncle grabbed the weapon, finger prints of the culprit can be traced & someone check which school is he from! Shit getting outta control.

• newme on Nov 28, 2023 at 12:25 pm

The boy is probably one of the people that post “Nasib baik takde kenalan saya yang pergi konsert maksiat Coldplay” on social media.

• Geng boikot tapi masih pakai wasap & fb on Nov 28, 2023 at 12:54 pm

Saw many earth princes & sotong at the concert

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • It will be another story if the uncle didnt wear the seatbelt. So lucky!

• hazri on Nov 28, 2023 at 3:19 pm

imagine uncle wear white, not wear seatbelt and being stabbed. traumatized.

• Bdk pkai kopiah,korg kata dia pas,dia xtremist agama,sebut nama sanusi. Bangang korg ni. 13 tahun tu..bodoh tu simpan skit,pekat sgt,jgn tnjuk sgt. Dlm video nmpk sgt mmg bdk tu dh plan pisau kat tgn. Buat jht ni xde kena mngena dgn agama,kecuali korg tu yahudi israel yg rs diri dia suci blh salahkn org slalu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 33
  • 1stWorldThinking on Nov 28, 2023 at 3:55 pm

What the heck is an interior dashboard gonna do? Record the way you gonna die? That is so freaking dumb!

Government should have regulated to put rear passenger acrylic panel shielding up and only allow passengers to rear seating!

• EV user on Nov 28, 2023 at 5:13 pm

Exactly what I was gonna say. Use this incident to push dashcam sales. I’d say need both dashcam and acrylic panel.

• Alfred on Nov 28, 2023 at 3:56 pm

Next time don’t take anyone similar to this boy.

• An elder woman(a friend of my mon) was slaughtered, by stabbing in the abdomen and slitting the throat. Not sure what happened but if it’s attempted robbery, the robber will take the car but her body was left at the back seat. So scary is Malaysia becoming more dangerous?

• Ur moms car on Nov 28, 2023 at 5:30 pm

Well wearing a kopiah does not me he has an iman lol. I want to meet his parents so i can stab his entire family since their parents dont even teach how to become a good person and this kind of family does not supposed to exist at all

• br0ski on Nov 28, 2023 at 5:47 pm

lil’ bro reinforcing all the stereotypes with this one