2024 Mazda CX-5 facelift details leaked for Malaysia – 2.0 and 2.5 petrol, 2.2D, 2.5T engines; RM149k-197k

The updated, 2024 Mazda CX-5 appears to be nearing its Malaysian market introduction, given that it has been sighted on a transporter truck, and now we have leaked details of the facelifted SUV, sent to paultan.org from an anonymous source which goes by the handle Pirates R Us.

The leaked internal document shows that the 2024 CX-5 will be sold in Malaysia in five variants – the 2.0G 2WD Mid, 2.0G 2WD High, 2.5G 2WD High, 2.2D 2WD High and the 2.5T AWD High, the range-topper being the sole variant with all-wheel-drive this time.

Prices as listed on the leaked document start from RM149,469.20 for the base 2.0G 2WD Mid, moving on to RM166,469.20 for the 2.0G 2WD High, RM179,960.40 for the 2.5G 2WD High, RM185,322.80 for the 2.2D 2WD High, and RM193,760.40 for the 2.5T AWD High; all prices are for Peninsular Malaysia, on-the-road without insurance, with metallic paint (premium paints, Soul Red Crystal and Machine Grey, add RM3,300), before accessories.

Key updates according to the document for the 2024 facelift begin with the 2.0G Mid, which gets a new front grille and bumper, 17-inch alloy wheels of a new design, auto folding exterior mirrors, keyless entry with walk-away locking, and the new ‘CX-5’ badge design.

The same exterior kit is found on the 2.0G High, while the 2.5G High gets larger 19-inch alloys. So far, it appears that the kit from the 2.5G High will be on the 2.5T High as well.

Inside, the changes brought by the 2024 facelift range begin with the infotainment, where the 2.0G Mid now brings wireless Apple CarPlay in addition to wired Android Auto through the eight-inch infotainment display, plus a wireless phone charger and LED interior lamps.

Next in the 2.0G High, this adds paddle shifters to the kit list, along with the introduction of ADAS equipment to the CX-5 range, plus a 10-way power adjustable driver’s seat with memory function. Moving on to the 2.5G High, this adds front seat ventilation, and a seven-inch colour TFT display to its instrumentation, where lower variants used an analogue speedometer.

Moving on to the diesel-powered 2.2D High, this shares the interior updates with the naturally aspirated petrol powered 2.5G High. At the top of the 2024 CX-5 range, the interior of the turbocharged petrol 2.5T High adds on Offroad Traction Assist.

Additionally, the source says that bookings for the 2024 CX-5 are now being taken with a RM1,000 refundable deposit, and vehicle stock is expected to arrive in March 2024 for delivery the following month, in April.

These details, of course, are leaked, and confirmation of the updated SUV’s specification and pricing will come with the official announcement when the time comes. For now, pricing indicated on this document shows that the 2024 Mazda CX-5 in Malaysia will start from RM149,469.20 for the base 2.0G 2WD Mid, ranging up to RM193,760.40 for the 2.5T AWD High, plus RM3,300 for the premium paint options.

GALLERY: 2022 Mazda CX-5 facelift

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• MRCC, Stop & Go, LKAS should be available. Not only on the 2.5T.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 10
    • Ahmad Fitri on Dec 12, 2023 at 2:53 pm

kalau MRCC bukan standard untuk semua CX5 , baik saya beli Honda City , semua City pun ada ACC

• ROTI CANAI on Dec 07, 2023 at 10:56 am

so wheres the 10 inch screen

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
  • Better get Tiggo Pro 8, X90 or Omada 5

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 18
  • CX-5 facelift not so special. Better opt for either Tiggo 8 or CR-V, look way updated than this CX-5, even facelift, but way outdated

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 12
  • alibaba on Dec 07, 2023 at 11:08 am

why same segment X70 can sell that cheap? is government collecting higher tax from outside brand or protong potong material from their products?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
    • abcdefg on Dec 07, 2023 at 4:02 pm

Mazda keeps increasing their car prices because they think they are premium brand now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
  • Jacky on Dec 07, 2023 at 11:09 am

Almost a decade car, now only bring facelift. Way too late.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
  • anonymous on Dec 07, 2023 at 11:30 am

while i welcome the addition of mrcc and cts, it’s unfortunate that they are keeping the old Mazda connect system (from pics it’s not the new 10.25” screen). the new system found on the 3 and the cx-30 is so much quicker i feel. and i wonder if this will be getting the Bose speakers too. let’s hope it’s available on the most expensive variant at least or offered as a cost option. the 6 speaker setup in the current car just doesn’t cut it. and one more thing, kind of wished they went with the one color look without the black plastic bits and the rims from the promo shots. looks a bit classier i feel. but with this car coming in as late as it is, i guess it is what it is. Bermaz really needs to step up they game with Mazda here i feel. because i feel like a lot of people like Mazdas, it’s just that most times, the specifications offered don’t justify the cost of the cars (because from what i understand toyota, mazda and honda have similar price points elsewhere but in malaysia it’s significantly more). and with toyota and honda malaysia offering a lot more standard features from all trim levels, i can understand why it becomes a no brainer for most to purchase a toyota or honda instead.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 2
    • True. And now mazda also losing to car makes like byd, chery, p1, etc in terms of every aspects

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
      • Oh yea sure on Dec 07, 2023 at 5:08 pm

really depends on the perspective bro. that’s quite an unfair conclusion to make… considering that mazda is a smaller car company, and not to mention it isn’t really their interest to pursue world domination… just engineering excellence. please do your own research and not just blindly follow what youtube tells you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 25
        • What unfair conclusion? Have you test driven chery, proton or byd, if you don’t, then how makes you think mazda is better and still world domination than chery, proton or byd. Sorry to say what you said, many people won’t go back to mazda once already get on to chery, proton or byd. Even other countries that driven byd or chery or geely, makes them feel more difference than driving mazda and ordinary brands

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 23
          • lol. sure dude. just an opinion. no need to be so agro. lol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 12
          • But the question is that, have you test drive? Or you just defending mazda cx5 as if you can’t accept that CX5 have losing to other rivals

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 19
          • @lol

But the question is that, have you test drive? Or you just defending mazda cx5 as if you can’t accept that CX5 have losing to other rivals

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 20
          • like i expressed in an opinion, it is just perspective.

of course i have driven them. why would i comment if i did not drive them. thats how i understand whats great about each of them.

but i also check the global info. im sure u also know honda is bigger.

so i say what i like, you say what you like. i defend anyone who likes cars. i dont really care who wins or lose.

like i said, no need to be so agro. lol.. noone is attacking you oso. geez. some ppl get offended so easily. .. lol.

• john is otak batu on Dec 08, 2023 at 8:36 am

agree!!!base on perspective & personal financial capability will go for this aspect!!!

• I feel on Dec 07, 2023 at 1:32 pm

Whatever it is, you sure feel a lot…..

• Agreed. but i cannot agree on the choice to compare it with toyota/honda. the execution of the features in those cars are just… not right. toyota infotainment for example.. is terrible. and honda’s material fittings do not last well enough. i’d glady pay for the mazda whatever it is they got. because the basics are of high level quality and finish. and the ergonomics are top notch. and the driving.. wow. all those type-R and TNGA cannot even come close. seriously.

end of the day, dont really need so much stuff. as long as it turns, accelerate and brake in the best way and feel… i think that’s gotta be the perfect car for anyone..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 23
    • Radikal on Dec 07, 2023 at 3:22 pm

Missed those days when Mazda under Naza World

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • Unfortunately, no 10.25 inch screen, no Bose system, no body colour painted bits on any of the variants.

• Mason on Dec 07, 2023 at 6:37 pm

I agree with you. I am CX5 owner, I am also BAUTO shareholder for yrs. Mazda is way to slow in upgrading their car. Bermaz even worst, this facelift should bring in 2 yrs earlier. 7 yrs coming should change next gen cx5, not facelift. Because of this, i decide to not become BAUTO shareholder.

• Carlos Gone so is Nissan on Dec 09, 2023 at 5:55 pm

The next Tan Chong motor. Can’t even bring in new Nissan models. Soon will end up like ford and mitsu sell lori pikap only

• broma on Dec 07, 2023 at 12:02 pm

Outdated and boring.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • Useless Facelift on Dec 07, 2023 at 1:48 pm

RIP on arrivals! Pls go back to cave Mazda!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • Ashraf on Dec 07, 2023 at 1:55 pm

Mazda always thinks its a premium brand

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • And Honda always thinks its a Mazda brand.

• hazri on Dec 07, 2023 at 6:38 pm

bmw of asia they say. syiok sendiri. even mazda 3 liftback owner think they drive a ferari. omg wth

• Dong gor on Dec 07, 2023 at 1:56 pm

Cx5 face and technology outdated d la with all the Chinese models coming in. Honda and Toyota still have got some income from city and vios while Mazda’s bread winner is the cx5 which in this case, is tough to justify for the asking price…salesman just sit and wait only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Gonna wait for this instead of new CR-V.

Tested the new CR-V in Aussie… omg. terrible.
    I’ll gladly wait for the Mazda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
    • Enlighten on Dec 07, 2023 at 3:41 pm

Care to elaborate brother?

• CR-V.. the front overhang is too much. harder to judge the front nose movements and also the clearances. the big bonnet curves on the front do not help either. i do not find this to be a problem for other cars like CX-5.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
        • Depends on what you suit. But mazda needs to redesign on cx5 interior, already feels a bit dated and there is still come with small info screen while other brands already got bigger info screen like 10.25 than this

• Alexe on Dec 14, 2023 at 6:25 pm

Bigger screens don’t make better drivers. lol. clearly u have not driven a real car.

• hazri on Dec 07, 2023 at 6:40 pm

good luck matsuda salesman

• hazri on Dec 07, 2023 at 6:49 pm

bapak mahal. i cant deny the fact cx-5 handling is superior than cr-v. but, to spend more than 150k for old same body, just little update on head and rear light, something i have to ponder. mazda is not brave enough like honda. old & new cr-v look different. mazda just brave to give free maintenance because their car expensive. if no free maintenance, their sale will be very bad.

• Contender on Dec 07, 2023 at 7:24 pm

Another Mazda6 more than 10 years still facelift this CX-5 also facelift and facelift….. c’mon !

• the diesel looks interesting…i’m looking for a replacement for my 6 y/old current turbo petrol D class sedan, might consider an SUV but with a different engine vs mainstream….a turbo diesel looks enticing wt it huge torque

• Mazda car is more like Mechanical watch brand Oris. Still Independent. And has its own flavour.

• Memek on Dec 10, 2023 at 9:05 pm

Apa punya bengong. Yg 2.0 dpt 8″ screen, 2.5 dpt yg 7″ pulak.

• Errmmm... on Dec 11, 2023 at 6:44 pm

Where is CX-50? CX-60?

• Karl Shaw on Dec 12, 2023 at 1:41 am

I am interested in the CX5 2.5 liter with no turbo. Does anyone know when this may be available in Thailand? Thanks.

• AWDLover on Jan 02, 2024 at 12:54 am

Top-most variant pricing jumped from 177k to 197k? Are u kidding me?