The home ministry announced that PDRM collected RM5,614,100 of unpaid saman over three days of the ‘One-year with the Madani government’ (Setahun Bersama Kerajaan Malaysia Madani) event, which was held from December 8-10 at the Bukit Jalil National Stadium’s grounds. The breakdown is in the graphic above, and it’s no surprise that collection was highest on the final day.
Of course, this is thanks to the 50% discount offered for on-the-spot payment. “The PDRM’s 50% discount for summonses received hot response and helped the public to check for saman and pay the fines. Congratulations to PDRM for successfully collecting unpaid saman over the programme,” KDN said in a Facebook post.
The cops giving saman discounts is nothing new, but it’s in stark contrast to the JPJ, which under the transport ministry led by Anthony Loke, upholds a policy of no discounts.
Loke said that the transport ministry has adopted the policy of no discounts since 2018. The Seremban MP said that summonses are a form of education, and giving discounts is unfair to those who pay their dues on time. He added that JPJ, as the agency responsible for road safety, will no compromise on this issue, and the cabinet and chief secretary to the government Tan Sri Mohd Zuki Ali have been informed on the matter.
So, revenue or principles?

So, Home Ministry and PDRM are proud on the collection? Need to give 50% discount to get the summons to be paid? What a joke.
It’s money in the govt coffers. Why u such a salty opposition.. not 1st time discount. LOLz!
Well, they can collect even more if they actually follow through enforcement and threaten legal action against people with unpaid summons instead of giving away discounts like Shopee/Lazada 1/1 2/2, etc.
the best policy is that the longer the person accumulate the summons past it’s expiry date, the person will be charged compounding interest. once it has reached the threshold, the person will be blacklisted and declared bankrupt.
Maknanya kalau xde discount, government akan dapat 11.2 juta. Sapa yg rugi sebenarnya? Cerdik pandai ramai, tapi semuanya ke laut…
so komen macam ni rasa dah jadi cerdik pandai ke? celah mana pulak gov rugi. 5 juta ke 11 juta gov still untung, yang penting dapat in short term terus. saman ni macam sale la, kalau dapat diskaun 50 buat apa bayar 100. if no discount, bukan kata 11 juta, nak dapat 5 juta pun ambil masa la. yang ni terus dapat on the spot in short term. aku pun tak sokong ada diskaun. kalau nak buat diskaun juga saman maximum kena buat 500-1000 kot. 300 ni sikit sangat.
JPJ and PDRM singing as a duet.
Have u heard people who r tone deaf singing like Pavarotti?
The moral of the story…when u see JPJ..be a good boy..dont langgar undang.No discounts from under cover agent Ahlokekor.
When u see PDRM…
That’s a 5.6 M loss! well done. well .. better than nothing
Nice
Next time no need to pay bribes anymore..just wait for saman discount day
Win win situation
Yabadabadoo
Commit road offence, got discount. These kind of discounts makes those who paid early look like a bunch of fools. It’s just sending the wrong msg. Never mind, there’s always discount day
How about announcing that outstanding fines will be doubled next year? That should also get a hot response, without eroding revenue and without compromising principles
Why don’t spend the lost 5.6million in revenue to buff up payment enforcement? Why take the easy way out. By enforcing it you might collect 20million instead
Issusing Saman is the Easy part
voluntary paying saman is low single digit %
Any CASH receive is Income to govt, Saman in not Income to govt.
no matter how many times you change the ministers, those KP, PKP, PP are still same melayu malap species
I hope Home Ministry do not give any discount in the future for offender who violate traffic rule. Why should we reward people who found guilty? Yes this will encourage the offender to make payment but this is glory for them because they finally “forced” the government surrender.
I did have 3 summons and I paid them without taking the Madani discount. I do not need government reward me on my fault and I do not take it for granted.