Hyundai Ioniq 5 ASEAN Tour concludes in Vietnam – 3,197 km travelled; total cost per EV was just RM537

After 11 days and travelling 3,197 km across five Southeast Asian countries, Hyundai’s “Go Far with Zero Worries” Ioniq 5 ASEAN Tour came to its successful conclusion in Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam, on November 30, 2023.

The tour served to showcase the Ioniq 5’s reliability, eco-friendliness and long-distance capabilities, with the company pointing out that total distance covered was actually 446 km more than initially calculated.

It added that the total cost was only USD116 (RM537) per car in terms of charging for the entire journey, which makes the electric vehicle (EV) approximately two times more cost efficient when compared to an internal combustion engine (ICE) vehicle.

“Hyundai is fuelled by an unwavering commitment to innovation and shaping the future of mobility – a commitment that reverberates in every action we take,” said Youngtack Lee, president of Hyundai Motor ASEAN HQ.

“Our dedication to making electric vehicles more accessible as the definitive clean mobility solution of tomorrow has taken a giant leap forward. Witnessing the tremendous success and excitement generated by the Ioniq 5 ASEAN Tour, we are propelled to intensify our comprehensive innovation aimed at fortifying the EV infrastructure and ecosystem across the region. The journey may have concluded, but the electric excitement has just begun,” he added.

Five units of the Ioniq 5, including two manufactured in Indonesia and three in Singapore, were part of the convoy that started its journey in Singapore before progressing to Malaysia, Thailand, Cambodia and finally, Thailand. They were joined by participants representing Hyundai, the Association of Singapore (AAS), local community influencers and key opinion leaders.

“Being part of the Hyundai Ioniq 5 ASEAN tour has exceeded all my expectations! I am convinced that electric vehicles, particularly the IONIQ 5, are the future of transportation. This transformative tour removes my anxiety on EVs capabilities, conclusively proving that EVs not only cover long distances but do so with such style, comfort and reliability,” said Nithi Thuamprathom, an influencer who joined the tour from Hat Yai, Thailand.

“As the first proud owner of the Ioniq 5 in Indonesia, my electric vehicle journey shattered the anxiety about city limits. This tour not only confirmed that beyond urban boundaries, we experienced zero worries and unmatched convenience during long-distance drives with the Ioniq 5 crossing borders of different countries, but it also erased anxieties about finding charging stations. We arrived at our destinations rejuvenated, waking up to a fully charged vehicle the next morning,” commented Fitra Eri, an influencer and automotive expert from Indonesia.

“Even during the challenging stretch from Cambodia to Vietnam, where charging stations are limited, the Ioniq 5 showcased an impressive range, boasting around 50% battery life remaining. This journey emphatically validates the tour’s slogan, ‘Go Far with Zero Worries,’ underscoring the pivotal role of electric vehicles in shaping the future of transportation. Importantly, it signals that the ASEAN region is ready for future electrification,” he added.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Badigol on Dec 22, 2023 at 1:08 pm

Diesel much cheaper, and saved time to fuel up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • Mat Rambutan on Dec 22, 2023 at 5:57 pm

If covering the same distance within Malaysia, hybrids filling RON95 also cheaper.

Using Corolla Cross Hybrid as example;
      36L tank filled with RON95 = 36 x 2.05 = RM73.8

If you fix one tank for 600km (already very pessimistic since real world can get much more), you would only be spending a little under RM400 for a 3200km trip.

Maybe will be different story once they start removing fuel subsidy, who knows…

• furu odc on Dec 26, 2023 at 8:23 am

Yes… coz u have to know that the RM2.05 is subsidized fuel price in malaysia. Filling it up in Spore and Thailand will simply jack up the price.

• Dah Menang Semua on Dec 26, 2023 at 12:27 pm

People often forget battery performance deteriorated after a few years. Just refer to your smartphones.. (do U change battery or phone usually?)

• t333son on Dec 22, 2023 at 1:10 pm

No one even doubted the ability of EVs to travel thousands of kms, provided got battery charge.

What I am concerned about and keen to know are

1. how long did the charging take along the trip
    2. rural areas apa macam ? if cities and highways no problems as it is a planned trip.
    3. what speeds were the convoy travelling at?
    4. overnight charging at hotels ? or public chargers ? on std wall socket ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • 11 days EV compared to ICE probably take half the time?
    if take in the extra accommodation and food costs definitely won’t go far with a similar budget.

• “Five units of the Ioniq 5, including two manufactured in Indonesia and three in Singapore, were part of the convoy that started its journey in Singapore before progressing to Malaysia, Thailand, Cambodia and finally, Thailand”

– Ioniq 5 manufactured in Indonesia & Singapore?
    – Why back to Thailand after Cambodia?

• FireAce on Dec 22, 2023 at 3:53 pm

RM537 = 262 Liters Petrol @ RM2.05.

My 11 old Prius-C Hybrid, 1 tank = 36 Liters = 700+KM (Highway + KL Jam Daily).

262 Liters = 7.3 tanks = 5094KM vs. 3197KM.

Now we know why they didn’t even try to mention comparison with Hybrid. hahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • Subsidy Enjoyer on Dec 26, 2023 at 9:47 am

Heck, even my 11 year old, kind of inefficient Peugeot 408 Turbo does similar distance for that money…

1 tank = 60L = 650km+ on mixed drive (12.8km/L average past 3000km)

That should cover roughly 3350 km for 262L of petrol depending on the driving conditions… Considering the savings in refueling time it’s pretty clear that compromises has to be made when going with EVs.

Let’s see how it goes when RON95 subsidy ends and electric bill get it’s price hike…

• Seitha on Dec 23, 2023 at 6:49 pm

None of the journalists reported if these cars are standard or mdoified for the advertisement.
    Was weight reduced?
    Was additional battery added without anyone’s knowledge
    What other mods was carried out?
    When manufacturers call up journalists to test their models, one of the conditions is journalists have to report only “good” findings. Bad or negative findings are often deleted from the reports
    We saw this during the covid pandemic where almost all Big media harped on Ivermectin as horse dewormer but the inventor was awarded a Nobel peace prize.

• Michael Teo on Dec 25, 2023 at 10:19 am

Its gonna be a big headache when its time to change the battery.