2024 BMW i5 eDrive40 Malaysian review – 582 km range; fr RM400k; is the first-ever 5 Series EV good?

Launched in Malaysia during this year’s PACE, the BMW i5 is the fully electric version of the eighth-generation (G60) 5 Series. Available in a sole eDrive40 variant currently, the i5 retails for RM399,500 on-the-road without insurance, inclusive of a standard two-year vehicle warranty and eight-year high-voltage battery warranty.

If you want the extended five-year vehicle warranty and six-year service package, the asking price rises to RM419,800. For the money, you’re getting an electric vehicle that provides an WLTP-rated range of 582 km thanks to a battery with an energy capacity of 83.9 kWh.

If you’re running low on charge, the new Max Range function can increase range by up to 25% by limiting power, speed (90 km/h) and deactivating comfort functions. Charging via an AC wallbox at 11 kW will take eight hours and 15 minutes from 0-100%, while DC fast charging (max rate 205 kW) from 10-80% SOC takes 34 minutes.

The battery powers a rear-mounted electric motor with 313 PS and 400 Nm of torque. With My Mode Sport and the Sport Boost/Launch Control function engaged, outputs are temporarily increased to 340 PS and 430 Nm. Performance-wise, the i5 eDrive40 gets from 0-100 km/h in six seconds on its way to a top speed of 193 km/h.

As for standard equipment, the local i5 comes standard with the M Sport design package, 21-inch M Aerodynamic style 954M alloy wheels, the Iconic Glow kidney grille, a panoramic glass roof, BMW Individual Merino leather seat upholstery, dark silver M accent and aluminium rhombicle trim, an anthracite headliner, Crafted Clarity glass applications and n M leather steering wheel.

Tech features include adaptive LED headlamps, Adaptive Suspension Pro and Integral Active Steering (rear-wheel steering), four-zone climate control, Comfort Access, powered sport seats with ventilation function, a wireless charging pad, the BMW Interaction bar, an 18-speaker Bowers & Wilkins surround sound system and BMW Live Cockpit Professional.

The last item consists of a 12.3-inch digital instrument cluster, a 14.9-inch central touchscreen and a head-up display, all of which are powered by BMW Operating System 8.5. The infotainment includes Iconic Sounds Electric crafted by famed composer Hans Zimmer.

The i5 comes with Driving Assistant Professional that includes adaptive cruise control with stop and go, lane departure warning, lane change warning, rear cross traffic alert and collision prevention, exit warning as well as autonomous emergency braking. There’s also Parking Assistant Plus with reversing assistant, active park distance control, assisted parking and a surround view system.

So, how do the i5’s powertrain and features feel to use? Well, here’s our man Hafriz Shah sharing his thoughts in our video review of BMW’s first fully electric 5 Series. Do you agree with his assessment? Share your own views in the comments below.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Nice

• Sohai on Dec 29, 2023 at 9:40 pm

Hafiz said it like he owns BMW shares… hahaha
    But ya, the car is appealing because it is a full spec car. The only thing that is stopping it from gaining top marks, is its somewhat modest power output in the sea of EVs.
    People like to use Tesla as the benchmark, and this is no quicker. Well, are you ok that your BMW is slower than a Hyundai?

• ROTI CANAI on Dec 30, 2023 at 10:04 am

it’s overpriced yahudi rubbish

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
  • MAHALINGAM A/L SINNATAMBY on Dec 30, 2023 at 11:23 am

I bought this car one week ago. Previously i had 525i. I love to drive this car, excellent. It’s not a boring car. A lot of fun and the semi-autonomous is excellent. City drive become fun, even with high traffic jam. Nothing to complain so far. Very spacious. Go green.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
  • Silverado on Dec 30, 2023 at 3:31 pm

Fierce!

• First glance, second glance on Dec 31, 2023 at 8:01 am

Find it weird that the front could be mistaken for a 2 series. Usually the series would be quite differentiable especially the 5 but the new bmw design language and concept is very very ultimately confusing.

• Laugh on Jan 02, 2024 at 8:22 am

All EV are good.
    Everyone should shift to EV immediately.

I’m sticking to ICE.

• saleman car chinese on Jan 02, 2024 at 9:41 am

wow,my ready in malaysia job sale car now VLL 6263 for rm5k-rm30k in job saya kerja penjual kereta bmw i5 nanti ramai pelanggan datang

• Ikhwan on Jan 02, 2024 at 11:19 am

EV ada org nk FREE aku ambi lps tu jual balik..

FULLY PETROL kuar duit sendiri pun aku sanggup.
    PETROL DULU KINI DAN SELAMANYA