Toyota Vios, Veloz recall – letter to owners sighted; rectification for upper front shock absorber nut

A letter appearing to have been sent to an owner of a Toyota Vios in Malaysia has been sighted on the Toyota Vios 3rd & 4th Gen Community Facebook page, shared to the group by an anonymous participant.

While the posted letter appears not to have specified the years of manufacture involved, other Facebook users responding to the post on the group state they have also received a similar letter, and another recipient of the letter confirms that they had taken delivery of their vehicle on July 2023, which would likely make it a fourth-generation model, which was launched in Malaysia in March 2023.

A check with our source at UMW Toyota Motor confirms that the service campaign involves the “Vios and Veloz“, however no further information is available at time of writing.

“The purpose of this special service campaign is to retighten the front shock absorber nuts. Due to an improper tightening instruction on the nuts fixing the upper portions of the front shock absorbers, the tightening torque of the nuts might be insufficient,” the sighted letter read.

“If the vehicle is operated continuously in this condition, the nuts may become loose, causing abnormal noise, and the nuts may come off, resulting loss of vehicle stability. Therefore, we are conducting this special service campaign to rectify this issue,” it continued.

The standard retightening process would take approximately half an hour, according to the letter, and the cost of rectification shall be borne by Toyota Malaysia, the letter read.

Learn more: ,

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• LEGOFanInPJ on Jan 30, 2024 at 11:01 am

This, along with Toyota/Daihatsu recalls and scandals in Japan, makes me want to stay away from buying a Perodua.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
    • What choice do you have? The one with couple of fire incidents but no any sort of recall or fixing?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
      • Celup King on Jan 31, 2024 at 6:00 pm

Buy P1, no issues so far. Lagi can survive a 150kmph crash test. The other brands boleh ke?

• Sohai on Jan 30, 2024 at 12:36 pm

And buy what? if you were considering Perodua at the first place….

• Daim-ler on Jan 30, 2024 at 11:29 am

Luckily I bought and took delivery of the Honda City last month than this Perodua Vios, we all knew that it is not a real Toyota but an overpriced third-world budget car based on the RM62k Perodua Veloz

• pengayuhbasikal on Jan 30, 2024 at 12:10 pm

New Alza dengan Veloz bukan sama kilang dan guna tools yang sama ka ?

• Thank you Mick Chan for this news. I like U. U saved me

• Alza model is same as veloz, alza is not the victim of the recall

• Zuskopi on Jan 30, 2024 at 9:20 pm

No quality control on quality control on quality control.

• Alex VN on Feb 07, 2024 at 10:46 am

Is it common for the doors to have squeaky noise just after rolling out a few months from the show room? And this is just the display unit for test drive. Dont think I’ll book the veloz then