Perodua Kancil EV – how much are you willing to pay for a small, back-to-basics electric car in Malaysia?

For a car to truly go mainstream, affordability is key, and from a Malaysian perspective there are few cars that are more affordable to own and run than a compact runabout such as the Perodua Kancil.

Its present-day successor is the Perodua Axia E, and at RM22,000, is the cheapest new car on sale Malaysia as of its launch in June last year. What if Perodua rolled out a fully electric model in the same vein, and possibly brought back the Kancil nameplate with it?

Visual rendering maestro Theophilus Chin has offered his take on what the electric Perodua could be, drawing inspiration and visual elements from Daihatsu concepts and models such as the Daihatsu me:MO concept, the Osanpo concept and the Mira Tocot.

The black cladding of the me:MO van and Osanpo roadster concepts, as used on the imagined ‘Kancil EV’ lends itself to a possible entry-level variant with unpainted bumpers, with the front fascia, bonnet and headlamps of the Kancil EV taken from the Osanpo, while the fenders and wheel arches are from the me:MO.

Neither concept has the glasshouse as seen in the eventual rendition, so that is from the Mira Tocot, coming together with the other styling elements for a rendering that is at once boxy and rounded.

It’s certainly a cute, or at least unique look that results here. Would you buy a fully electric Kancil that turns out looking something like this?

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• anonymous on Feb 02, 2024 at 12:24 pm

i wouldn’t pay any amount of money for a perodua, period. they are the worst and are proving to be the worst with this absolute silence during the whole daihatsu-toyota scandal at current. they can go bankrupt for all i care.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 23
  • motorcycle is hero on Feb 02, 2024 at 12:29 pm

hahahahahahahahahahaha :D

• People buying a kancil don’ give a hoot about environment, EV nor the time hooking on FB reporting their outstation journey to seek comfort and validation. They just want a cheap A to B vehicle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
  • ThePolygon on Feb 02, 2024 at 1:13 pm

RM 12,500.

• merzwan on Feb 02, 2024 at 1:37 pm

Depends. If China or French tech, you pay me also I won’t take. If Japanese tech, maybe will get one as beater car to drive to dodgy places like pasar or to pick up my messy kids.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 36
    • merzwan peppa on Feb 02, 2024 at 4:18 pm

Firstly nobody will pay you anything. Secondly I think you better stick with Made in India TATA instead. No other car brands want you to drive their car and make it look cheap anyway

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
      • Vagabondze on Feb 04, 2024 at 9:13 pm

What’s wrong with TATA? It’s been making cars for more than 80 years, and is sturdier, more reliable than most of the rotten trash you find here today

• chin Lie on Feb 04, 2024 at 6:48 am

Japanese don’t give a hood about EV cars. Do your research first before commenting to show your ignorance.

• Ramee on Feb 02, 2024 at 2:53 pm

very cute especially black bumper here,

better than Renault Zoe EV,
    both also low spec EV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Duke Malaya on Feb 02, 2024 at 2:58 pm

Give good specs RM40k ish? Without those bloody ADAS, lane depart warning or what so ever detecting cow dung sensor… just plain car with ABS, TCS, electric parking brake? + Apple Carplay.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
  • EV user on Feb 02, 2024 at 4:41 pm

Who was the Japanese Var manufacturer who gave Hybrids a BAD NAME with its Battery Fire and Failure. Then Costing 30% of car value to replace ? Batteries used by Ja pan nuts are known for its “failure” ???

• EV user on Feb 02, 2024 at 5:34 pm

No point talk about something that don’t exist.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Frankc on Feb 02, 2024 at 5:48 pm

With 200km range and recharge time of 45mins, perhaps a good run about car which is what kancil do best. Price must be lower or on par with saga

• This design is cute. Would buy just for the sake of it’s cuteness

• wohoo on Feb 02, 2024 at 8:13 pm

rahmah price rm5

• The driver on Feb 02, 2024 at 8:19 pm

Small EV equates to small range and small power. SUV sized EVs are currently the only way to go for reasonable range and power. Teslas are full sized cars BTW

• Won’t pay more than 25k . Looks plastic

• Junkies otr on Feb 03, 2024 at 6:59 am

No money better stfu. BTW, all vehicles above 20yrs must scrap

• Peppa_Need_Love on Feb 03, 2024 at 11:57 am

I’d love to buy this Perodua Kancil EV so I can go out and discover actual friends instead of spending too much time with my imaginary friends (to brain-damage point). And hey, I think I have superpower the moment I touch my keyboard (not myself of course…) just like how a Kancil would be with EV in it. I’d love to be negative about almost everything as well! Which is good… I love my life. Thank you.

• Peppa on Feb 03, 2024 at 3:06 pm

You must be pissed because of my never-ending mockery against china lmao

• Maximum I would pay is around RM15k. Hmm.. sorry no no, I would not pay anything for P2.. P2 not a safe car.

• Aniki on Feb 03, 2024 at 1:00 pm

It’s not about affordability but it is the sustainability that decide the future. You know why Japanese don’t full force on EV? Because lithium battery is not ideal to be the future as degration and no second value hence more trash on the street. They only see Hydrogen car as the future.

• when the 100k and below EV market opens in 2027 Proton will have a Gelly panda for sale

• Stone on Feb 03, 2024 at 2:23 pm

Not going to be the same customer with Perodua Axia E. Better to market it to someone who already has a big vehicle at home and needs a small runabout/short distance car.

• Not more than 20k.

• Ironman on Feb 03, 2024 at 9:40 pm

Paul Tan, can u don’t do stupid survey, how much u going to pay. Just bcoz Perodua hire your company, people not interested with stupid survey so done by Paul Tan

• I like good ground clearance, high roof and safety in crash. A 4wd style.

• Rm24k should be okay