Geely launches 11 low earth-orbit satellites for self-driving cars – network now at 20, aiming for 72 by 2025

Geely said it has launched 11 low-earth orbit satellites last week to support more accurate navigation for autonomous vehicles. The satellites, launched from the Xichang Satellite Launch Center is Sichuan, was the Chinese automaker’s second dispatch following the nine units it sent up in June last year.

The units are part of company’s ambitious Geely Future Mobility Constellation network, a commercial initiative to integrate communication, navigation and remote sensing within a single satellite network. The company plans to have 72 satellites in orbit by 2025 before eventually reaching a full constellation strength of 240 satellites.

In addition to providing high-precision positioning support for self-driving cars, Geely said its network will also serve other commercial functions such as connectivity to the consumer electronics sector, among others. The satellites have AI remote sensing function and are capable of providing clear high-resolution remote sensing imaging.

Development of the programme began in 2021, when the company obtained the license to begin the commercial manufacturing of satellites. In October that year, its subsidiary company Geespace began production of the satellites at its plant in Taizhou, Zhejiang province.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Peppa on Feb 06, 2024 at 9:31 pm

Hope it fail :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 26
    • Shazmin on Feb 06, 2024 at 10:34 pm

Watch the CCP fanboy troll get triggered GAHAHA

• MI6 CIA Al-Mossad on Feb 07, 2024 at 1:49 pm

Our mission success completed once troll triggered

• call me by your name on Feb 07, 2024 at 7:23 am

what is wrong with you? geely did your family wrong?

• He is Far Lonkang member on Feb 07, 2024 at 1:51 pm

CPC foiled crippled his online scam business

• Chinese Dragon is Back on Feb 07, 2024 at 9:07 am

Wow when they said China speed is fast I didn’t know it was this fast. After their 100 years of collapse because of wars and internal conflict, they started from scratch 40 years ago and now they are in the number 1 spot. This is crazy speed. Basically China is back. The dragon has woken up to make the world better. I believe even Palestine will be free soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
      • newme on Feb 07, 2024 at 11:14 am

This is low. Using Palestine to gain support despite their own record with Xinjiang. When you are losing friends everyday, you will treasure every crumb.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
        • Endia fail because Jeles Culture on Feb 07, 2024 at 12:54 pm

Dah la newme aka Peppa, x yah nak guna multiple name as if you have many anti-china support. U ingat people stupid like your spesis ka. Hahaha. Look at Endia first and help make it better instead la. You use so much negative energy only to fail. It only make your race looks weak. And you wonder why other race don’t like to deal with your race. Look in the mirror la. Your race will fail further with more negative kind like you. Kami skong CCP. Kami sokong China. Kami sokong Palestine

• newme on Feb 07, 2024 at 2:00 pm

Dahlah, berapa ketul je yang masih communist? Ada pun pariah state. Kawan makin kurang. Nak perang pun guarantee kalah. Rakyat sendiri pun dah mula memberontak. Ekonomi makin merudum. Semua FDI lari.

• Uighurs Expats at ASEAN on Feb 07, 2024 at 1:54 pm

Why are you discriminating us and spreading negativity our homeland?

• Peppa the one and only Ular Spesis in Malaysia on Feb 07, 2024 at 9:27 am

Glad Peppa hope it fail because he will be more frustrated when it doesn’t. Hahahaha. Balik Endia la bro. Tgk status negara kau tu dulu baru risau pasal others. Bual malu je culture jeles dan kotor kamu tu. Yuck

• Pepas on Feb 07, 2024 at 9:43 am

You must be one of those type of people who cannot see other people success.

• Boleh tahan on Feb 07, 2024 at 5:56 am

Really ?.. waw. Thia ia quite something to shout about

• kckfen on Feb 07, 2024 at 8:00 am

So later Proton with android auto and Apple car play will be pale comparing to this??

• newme on Feb 07, 2024 at 8:52 am

For self driving or self spying?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
    • MI6 CIA al-Mossad on Feb 07, 2024 at 1:57 pm

Don’t be naive soul, you are Insignificant and redundant to get spied by our contractors

• Pooh Bear on Feb 07, 2024 at 9:55 am

CCP surveillance, nothing more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
    • MI6 CIA Al-Mossad on Feb 07, 2024 at 1:59 pm

Sigh. No backdoor access granted for our contractors yet…..

• alihms on Feb 07, 2024 at 10:02 am

Tips on how to deal with trolls.

Trolls live off of your responses. They crave for attention. That’s their source of enjoyment. The best way is starve them of this source of enjoyment. Ignore them. Do not respond to their comments; be it in positive or negative ways. The more you argue, the more excited they become. Do not downvote either. You are only ‘feeding’ them by downvoting. Just ignore. Treat as if the comments aren’t even there.

They may persist for a while. But a continued ‘ignore’ from everybody is debilitating. It is like cutting off the ‘oxigen’ for them.