With traffic bound to increase in volume over the next week, the Selangor state police says it is preparing for the expected swell in vehicles, with drones and helicopters being deployed to monitor traffic as people travel back to their hometowns for Chinese New Year.
Selangor police chief commissioner Datuk Hussein Omar Khan said the use of the Airwing Unit and police drones will provide real-time traffic monitoring in the state. Police personnel will also be on enforcement watch in key areas to ensure everyone adheres to the law, The Star reports.
“We will be monitoring traffic along the Kuala Lumpur-Karak Expressway near Gombak, Jalan Kuala Lumpur-Ipoh, Jalan Kuala Selangor-Klang,” he said, adding that 11 locations have also been identified by the police for its speed trap operations.
“We will focus enforcement efforts on six traffic offences, namely speeding, beating the red light, emergency lane misuse, overtaking on double lines, cutting queue and using mobile phones while operating a vehicle,” he stated. He said that 61 officers and 432 personnel will be involved in the enforcement operations, while 42 police patrol units and 89 police motorcycles will also be deployed.
Hussein advised motorists to ensure their vehicles are properly maintained and roadworthy prior to their journey, and to adhere to the speed limit and drive safely. “Last year, we recorded a total of 4,042 accidents during the holiday period compared with 2,810 accidents the year earlier. We believe the main reason for the rise in accidents is due to lack of road safety awareness,” he explained.
They should instead monitor traffic daily and figure out how to reduce congestion during peak hours!
Using drones or other high tech gadgets to nab bastard rogue drivers..good idea but please,please STOP the blardy BAD HABIT of giving saman rebates at year end.
Or you can pay on the spot. 100 setel. Much cheaper.
The hidden reason for them do more enforcement is for money angpaus
https://paultan.org/2024/02/06/pj-traffic-police-probed-for-cash-found-at-roadblock/
How to trust Selangor when their polis, to the mentris, to the state gomen, to MB, up to PM, is corrupted to the max.
How to reduce congestion if everybody is using vehicles to commute? The police can only control the traffic not the volume of the traffic. This should also come under the purview of the local council and MOT on how to at least reduce the flow.
MOT is useless he is more concerned on selling fancy plates which the latest is GOLD so you can see where his priorities as minister.
Police have instant pay summon on the spot for CNY ah?
I’m afraid no. The kind hearted cop is taken away from active duty
This is why Msia will never become advanced when people who are helping to reduce redtape and long process are removed. We need more of these people that can make things run more efficiently and settle things on the spot.
Please use all available resources to study better traffic flow all around the year..all over Msia..not only during festive season & specified states only.
Shouldn’t this be the job of highway concessionaires or are they sitting smugly in their offices collecting and not bothering about their customers
Drones to monitor traffic?? What year are we living in? Pakai satelite la adui… Can see the whole highway. How many drones you need to pakai? Adui