Perodua Alza recall – letters sent out to owners for rectification of upper front shock absorber nuts

Owners of the second-generation Perodua Alza have received letters inviting them to bring their vehicles in for a quality inspection service. According to letters shared and comments posted in the Perodua Alza D27A Malaysia Facebook group, the issue involves the Alza’s front suspension, which may require the bolts holding the shock absorbers to be tightened as they could be loose.

The rectification work will take about an hour, with all related costs being borne by Perodua. “We assure you that your vehicle is safe to drive. This courtesy quality inspection is to provide our valued customers with the highest standards of quality and care,” the sighted letter read.

This rectification of the upper front shock absorber nuts is similar to special service campaign issued for the Toyota Veloz and Vios, which we reported on previously.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Yeahsure on Feb 15, 2024 at 11:09 am

how tightenig a bolt takes an hour??which sounds like the recall is more than that..probably changing the strut as well?

• Perodua Fan on Feb 15, 2024 at 11:10 am

Why use letter? Should use email. Save the trees

• Ben Yap on Feb 15, 2024 at 11:15 am

just to tighten the nuts also need to take one hour?

• Retired Akio on Feb 16, 2024 at 10:01 am

Inspection takes 45 minutes, tightened bolts and nuts takes 5 minutes , paperwork takes 10 minutes.

• Building cars, forgot first

• newme on Feb 15, 2024 at 12:57 pm

“The rectification work will take about an hour, with all related costs being borne by Perodua.”

Yes, rectification is one hour but getting a human to answer the phone for appointment takes forever. Also checking in your car also takes forever.

It’s not about monetary cost only. Customers need to take leave as they don’t do fixing on Friday and Saturday. If you earn daily wages, you lose income for that day too.

• Omg, how often it need to be “tightened” ?

• what else is new at the bolehland…

• koprt on Feb 15, 2024 at 6:51 pm

Perodua Gear-up X
    Perodua Screwed-up /

• James Am on Feb 15, 2024 at 10:56 pm

Wow . With robot technology we have primitive problem. The reason for rectification I smell could be a bigger one which not being disclosed .

• Fck perodua on Feb 17, 2024 at 4:04 pm

Didn’t get any letter