2024 Ora 07 previewed in Malaysia – two variants, up to 640 km EV range; Tesla Model 3, BYD Seal rival

After opening the order books for the Ora 07 just a few days ago, GWM Malaysia has now previewed the electric vehicle (EV) ahead of an official launch. The 07, which is also known as the Lightning Cat or Grand Cat, will be offered here in two variants: Long Range (pictured here) and Performance.

Both feature an 83.5-kWh nickel manganese cobalt (NMC) battery, with the Long Range variant providing up to 640 km following the NEDC standard. The base option comes with a front-mounted electric motor rated at 204 PS (201 hp or 150 kW) and 340 Nm of torque for a top speed of 170 km/h.

Stepping up to the Performance nets you a dual-motor, all-wheel drive setup providing 408 PS (402 hp or 300 kW) and 680 Nm, enabling a higher top speed of 180 km/h and 0-100 km/h time of 4.3 seconds. This heightened level of performance does come at the cost of range, which drops to 550 km (NEDC; 430 km WLTP).

GWM Malaysia didn’t provide detailed charging information, but it should be similar to the 07 sold in Thailand, which is available with the same two powertrain options. The 07 supports AC charging (Type 2) at up to 11 kW while peak DC fast charging (CCS) peaks at 88 kW. There’s also support for vehicle-to-load (V2L) at up to 3.3 kW to power accessories.

In terms of size, the 07 measures 4,871 mm long, 1,862 mm wide, 1,500 mm tall and its wheelbase spans 2,870 mm. These figures are comparable to the Tesla Model 3 and BYD Seal, both of which the 07 competes against.

The 07 is built on GWM’s Lemon platform and boasts an aerodynamic fastback shape with a drag coefficient of just 0.22. Do you like the look? Does it remind of you of another vehicle from a German brand? That’s a debate that belongs in the comments, so share your thoughts down below.

Key cues include oval-shaped LED lighting units at the front and rear, 18- or 19-inch wheels, an active rear spoiler, frameless door windows and a good helping of chrome accents. On the inside, you’ll find simple horizontal dashboard that accommodates a 12.3-inch infotainment touchscreen as well as a 10.25-inch digital instrument cluster, the latter spread across three binnacle pods.

There’s also a T-shaped centre console which is angled and has a hollowed-out section underneath for a storage cubby and power outlets. Overhead is a large panoramic sunroof, while other features include leather upholstery, dual-zone climate control (with rear vents), a powered tailgate, powered front seats with massaging function, an 11-speaker Harman Infinity sound system as well as support for Android Auto and Apple CarPlay.

The 07 will come with with advanced driver assistance systems including lane departure system, lane keeping assist, blind spot detection, intelligent evasion, traffic sign recognition and more.

Three exterior colours will be offered to customers, namely Crystal Purple, Amethyst Gray and Jade White, with black and brown being the interior colours. As reported previously, customers who place an early booking will receive a limited-time offer of a five-year free maintenance package (inclusive of parts and labour).

We were told that the 07 will be launched very soon, although GWM Malaysia isn’t giving an exact date for now or even any indication of pricing for that matter. Would you pick this over comparable EVs like the Tesla Model 3 and BYD Seal?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Dodge lost its imagination :-/ on Mar 04, 2024 at 11:20 am

When a Porsche had sex with a Beetle and get electrocuted :-/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • suomynona on Mar 04, 2024 at 1:40 pm

Those eyes looks like its horrified to be what it is

• Really? This car suits for youngster girls and looks cute.

• Tesla User on Mar 04, 2024 at 4:28 pm

Tesla is definitely a better car. But with Tesla Malaysia kind of lousy service, it will soon bye bye

• He Long Must on Mar 04, 2024 at 3:55 pm

When 911 had a ONS with Bentley

• not handsome enough to be rival of BYD Seal and Model 3.

• Bad Dog on Mar 04, 2024 at 11:35 am

Can you also share the more realistic WLTP range?

• ROTI CANAI on Mar 04, 2024 at 12:06 pm

unless they are selling it at 30-50k cheaper than the Seal its gonna be a hard sell

• So this is ora good dog or what?

• Nice. Mini Porsche

• stick on Mar 04, 2024 at 2:20 pm

should be named copy cat

• Ora brother

• Bobby on Mar 04, 2024 at 4:24 pm

Cat and Seal are storming SEA.

• Are you saying Tesla are now scared to see this car coming too?

• President xi on Mar 04, 2024 at 6:57 pm

China invasion

• Pro-Palestine on Mar 06, 2024 at 11:10 am

Never heard China invaded other countries before. So far only USA, Israel, Europeans and Japanese have invaded other countries. I trust countries that never invade others. China is a good friend and business partner.

• where to preview 07

• Mark L. on Mar 05, 2024 at 11:23 am

Wah lao eh! Juling mata hati keliru sakit kepala otak pening. I see porsche I see mini, I see lexus I see Honda, look sporty look sissy, looks fierce looks cute. Externally sleek with low coefficient drag, inside looks like an alice in wonderland playland. Power not bad but of all names, call it a “lemon” platform. God knows what kind of marketeers are behind the brand, but it did make me blink my eyes and take several looks at this Great Wall mini Poramera

• Pro-Palestine on Mar 06, 2024 at 11:12 am

Wah lao eh!!! Juling mata tengok kamu I pun sakit kepala. I see monkey, I see chimpanzee, I see Baboon, looks cute, looks stupid, looks dangerous. God must have a good plan when he designed your face. I love all of God’s creation even though it can be confusing