MG4 EV XPower in Malaysia – 435 PS/600 Nm AWD, 0-100 km/h in 3.8 s, 385 km range WLTP; RM159k est

The return of the MG brand to Malaysia opened the order books for the MG4 EV last week, with three variants announced – the Standard (RM104k), Lux (RM129k) and the Lux Extended Range (RM149k); prices are estimated figures for now.

Announced with the previewed variants, but not physically present with the line-up at the time is the high-performance variant of the range, the MG4 XPower, and now we can bring a live image gallery.

With estimated pricing of RM159k, the MG4 XPower tops the range, priced RM10k above the Lux Extended Range variant, and the added outlay brings a dual-motor, all-wheel-drive electric powertrain that outputs 435 PS and 600 Nm. This draws from a 64 kWh NMC battery that offers up to 385 km of range on the WLTP testing cycle.

The dual-motor configuration of the MG4 XPower is comprised of a 204 PS front axle motor and a 231 PS rear axle motor with a single-speed transmission, enabling the 0-100 km/h sprint to be conducted in 3.8 seconds – if that figure looks familiar, it is in line with that of Performance variant of the BYD Seal, which is also a dual-motor EV, albeit with even more output at 530 PS and 670 Nm.

The aforementioned 64 kWh battery capacity of the MG4 XPower matches that of the MG4 Lux, and is therefore smaller than the 77 kWh battery pack in the MG4 Lux Extended Range, and so the XPower offers the second-shortest battery range of the quartet, above the base variant.

When using the full 150 kW DC charging capability, the XPower takes an estimated 26 minutes to go from 10-80% state-of-charge, or when charged at 50 kW, the same 10-80% measure takes 52 minutes. Home charging at 11 kW AC from 10-100% takes 8.5 hours, according to MG.

Exterior features which mark out the MG4 XPower include a twin aero spoiler, active grille system, 18-inch alloy wheels housing orange brake calipers, while the interior gets a rotary transmission selector, four drive modes (Standard, Sport, Eco, and Custom).

A pair of screen feature on the dashboard, with a seven-inch digital display ahead of the driver, along with a 10.25-inch floating touchscreen unit. Smartphone integration supports Apple CarPlay and Android Auto, while interior trim is comprised of black leather and Alcantara, with orange contrast stitching on the seats, door cards and centre console, while the rear seats offer 60:40 split-folding.

The specifications table of the MG4 XPower also lists MG iSmart, with ‘Hello MG’ voice command recognition, through which the driver can access set schedule charging, range visualisation and available charging points, route planner, the car finder function, lock and unlock the vehicle, control the air-conditioning as well as view vehicle status.

For safety equipment, the MG4 XPower gets the MG Pilot suite that brings front collision warning and AEB with pedestrian and bicycle detection, ACC, traffic jam assist, lane departure warning, lane keep assist, intelligent high beam assist, blind spot detection, lane change assist, and rear cross traffic alert. On the passive safety side, the car comes equipped with six airbags.

Last but not least, available exterior colours for the MG4 XPower are Volcano Orange, Holborn Blue, Dynamic Red, Arctic White, Camden Grey, Black Pearl, Monument Silver, and pictured here, Matte Green. The MG4 XPower comes with a seven-year, 150,000 km vehicle warranty, and an eight-year, 180,000 km battery warranty.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• pay the same price for one vw golf r or two of this?

• Faster than tesla model 3, cx30 & mazda 3

• MGmachinegun on Mar 05, 2024 at 6:59 pm

“Exterior features which mark out the MG4 XPower include a twin aero spoiler, active grille system…”

Actually even the lesser variants get the twin spoiler. In fact, the Xpower exterior is virtually identical to other variants except for the rim design and orange caliper.

Since every variant has the same body panels, it’s a simple way to save cost which transfers to consumers, and 160k for this performance is a bargain if sheer acceleration is all you’re looking for.

• ROTI CANAI on Mar 05, 2024 at 7:12 pm

hopefully the final price will be better than estimated. sokong.

• Nice. Better and cheaper than Model 3 SR

• range anxiety on Mar 06, 2024 at 11:45 am

if all you looking for in an electric is 0 to 100km/h ya this is faster and cheaper but the standard model 3 has 128km more range then and the long range has almost double the range.

• But maintenance cost too expensive and reliability not good and interior also too plain for Tesla. Tesla Model 3 only RM218k vs MG4 Xpower only RM160k but same acceleration and also same top speed. So why buy Tesla? 385 km for MG4 Xpower should be good enough

• Ramee on Mar 05, 2024 at 7:59 pm

buy this car can try Sepang Race, legally, professionally
    ada R18 Bridgestone Turanza 345mm ventilated brake disc

otherwise, a 12sec-100kph Rempit 125CC motor from traffic standstill is already very reckless.

• too quick too dangerous!! on Mar 06, 2024 at 10:43 am

Why need to go so fast for pick up speed?? Can the ordinary guys handle it? And can the other road user has time to react the incoming? is the brakes & car handling able to control it? such acceleration shld only for supercars..Normal cars shld not quicker than 6secs. Btw, y now ev only show acceleration speed, no top speed?? wats the point if can accelerate so fast but limit at 170km/h?? just make it efficient like 500km/charge better than outright acceleration.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
    • nexejoc854 on Mar 06, 2024 at 11:49 am

now fast car is too fast. hilarious take. that variant is for those who wanted faster acceleration and limited top speed. he crashes and that’s on him. if you hate the faster acceleration + low top speed then this variant is not for you. dont buy it, no one forces you to buy it. there is extended version at 520km range / 150kw charge where we have gentari chargers around in here already. but go ahead complain more on a car which you know you wont buy. hilarious.

• too quick too dangerous!! on Mar 07, 2024 at 10:48 am

i think u dont understand wat im trying to say. With this low pricing for such acceleration, it risking the road users. I can foresee many of these will be on the road soon. U mention if they crash, their problem, but if crash to innocent cars & tht involve u, then wat u say? Nowadays, i ve encountered few Evs suddenly sprint & tailgate at fast lane, it really shocked me. Im driving a sub 8secs turboed car. I already felt more than enough for the power. So instead of focusing in acceleration , ev shld focus on increase range. And fyi, im in the look for an EV/phev car as a spare and u r right, i wont choose this.

• Casual rider on Mar 06, 2024 at 12:19 pm

Every cars has it selling point.

• …said the horse drown carriage salesman in 1910..

• Kancil Hybrid on Mar 06, 2024 at 8:57 pm

Drivetrain macam setup sama dengan BYD Anjing Laut je. Kan?

• Christine on Mar 07, 2024 at 12:00 pm

I own an MG4 Trophy in UK. It’s a lovely car to drive. Love how effortlessly the car go uphill with no loss of power and smooth overtaking. The only complain I have is the console. It should be tilted slightly towards the driver as with current design, it reflects from the sun and cannot see the screen on a sunny day. Being said, the sun in UK is higher and brighter. I also dislike to connect my Apple CarPlay via a cable and if i plug in too quickly before the system warms up, I had to unplugged and plug in again. However, it has the Bluetooth connectivity for your phone and music but again, it’s a hit and miss. If you are not as fussy as me, this is a fantastic drive and value for money. I charged my car every three days as we don’t have such heavy traffic as in Malaysia. I would recommend the car for driving but not the infotainment system. BTW you can use your phone app to check on your car status, lock or unlock it and turn on aircon before you enter your car. Great stuff

• Clean King on Mar 09, 2024 at 9:45 am

MG = Mesti Gagal???

• A friend of mine in indonesia has just bought a mg4 with a high specs at cheaper price than what we get in malaysia. Indonesia now has good promo with lots of free gift of accesories, a uk trip lucky draw, and with unlimited years and mileage of battery warranty. Here in malaysia we get higher price with lower benefits with battery at limited years and limited mileage. Indonesia gets better deals!