Chinese EV-maker Xpeng plans to enter RHD markets Hong Kong and ASEAN – Thailand, SG and Malaysia

Xpeng G6

Another Chinese EV brand is set to arrive in Malaysia soon, and it’s Xpeng. The Guangzhou-based company’s co-founder and CEO He Xiaopeng said that Xpeng will launch its first right-hand drive model in the second half of this year as it expands beyond its home market.

RHD markets that are in Xpeng’s sights are Hong Kong and Southeast Asia. In the latter, He said Thailand, Singapore and Malaysia would be targeted by the carmaker, of which the Volkswagen Group owns 5%.

“In tandem with Xpeng’s go-global 2.0 strategy, we have formed partnerships with an increasing number of capable dealers abroad, with an ultimate goal of making best-in-class smart electric cars accessible to customers around the world,” said He in a written reply to questions from the South China Morning Post.

Xpeng G6

Xpeng currently makes only left-hand drive cars, and most of those are sold in mainland China. Aside from Hong Kong (RHD is a British legacy) and ASEAN, the firm has plans to enter key European markets.

According to SCMP’s report, expanding into RHD markets will provide Xpeng with a cushion against a potential sales decline in China, where an EV price war is damaging the profitability of almost all players.

Earlier this month, Xpeng announced that it was extending a 20,000 yuan (RM13,047) discount on its G6 SUV until the end of the month, following BYD’s February move to price the latest Qin Plus DM-i PHEV 20% below the ­previous edition. The following day, three other carmakers priced their best-selling EVs below the 100k yuan (RM65,239) mark to compete. A race to the bottom? That’s why Chinese carmakers have to now look beyond their domestic market.

Xpeng G6

As for which Xpeng model will be coming to our shores, company’s president Brian Gu told SCMP last year that its first right-hand drive car would be an updated edition of the bestselling G6 SUV. He added that it would probably reach Hong Kong in late-2024. If ASEAN’s RHD markets including Malaysia are next, are we then looking at an entry by Xpeng in 2025?

In China, the G6 is priced from 209,900 to 276,900 yuan (RM136,933 to RM180,642). Built on an 800V architecture, the rear-wheel drive variant of the G6 has a 296 PS/440 Nm motor while the all-wheel drive variant gets two motors with a total system output of 487 PS and 660 Nm.

Two battery packs are available – a 66-kWh LFP unit for RWD models (CLTC range 580 km) and a 87.5-kWh NMC that’s good for 755 km (single-motor) or 700 km (dual-motor) of CLTC range. The max rate for DC fast charging is 480 kW. Check out the G6 below – what do you think of the crossover’s organic looks and EV package? And will Bermaz be Xpeng’s local partner? Full story here.

GALLERY: 2023 Xpeng G6

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Sohai on Mar 12, 2024 at 1:23 pm

Chinese company work hard and find ways to improve sales instead of crying and asking govt for protection or bail out. Very different to some of our local companies and entrepreneurs’ mentality

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
    • newme on Mar 12, 2024 at 5:18 pm

The reason why there are so many EV brands in China is because these people were after the gov subsidies. They produce and produce, just to get the subsidies. This is why there are so many EV graveyards in China and some dumping their stocks in other countries.
      Now many brands cannot sustain and facing problems. Some even closed down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
      • oldyou on Mar 12, 2024 at 6:48 pm

Meaning buy at your own risk? Silap hari bulan, kompeni bungkus no more spare part & tech sapot! Can jailbreak & install biyadi or Tesla software onot?

• Mike Tee on Mar 13, 2024 at 9:49 am

You saw one video of the supposed “EV graveyard” containing tens of thousands of new EVs

Go YouTube search “Inside A Chinese EV Graveyard” and see how it’s been debunked

• Emergency Vehicles on Mar 13, 2024 at 8:55 am

Encik Sohai tak tau, Chinese corporation also find their fundings from the Chinese Government, which gives them the upper hand to built mega factories for free, they probably have almost no investment for machineries and plants which is how they can cut prices give competition to other company doing things from scratch.

• why they take subsidy to build car? why dont they take subsidy to buy mercedes and enjoy?

you take subsidy , eat and go to toilet only.

That is why Malaysia poorer and poorer.

• President Xi on Mar 12, 2024 at 1:23 pm

Be prepared with china invasion. First wave was our smartphones, then one belt one road infra projects (with crazy expensive debts loaned to mesia for ECRL and another one which bankrupted Sri Lanka) and now our EVs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 22
  • ROTI CANAI on Mar 12, 2024 at 1:29 pm

Please come in on your own. Don’t join any of these useless Malaysian ap kings

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Isn’t this brand suffered from high cost, low demand and corruption lately?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
  • buttu on Mar 12, 2024 at 3:04 pm

Hope can change name, for now sound soo China

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
    • Right? We know the Chinese are patriotic and all but they’re overdoing it to the extent of being cringey. Can’t be their English still at kampong level. President Xi will shut down your company if you have more acceptable “international” brandnames? I feel u, Jack Ma

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
      • Pro-Palestine on Mar 13, 2024 at 9:05 am

Chinese are proud of their culture and very confident with it. I really respect people like that unlike some weaker race that worships the their satanic colonist master. This weak race thought they are classy by speaking their colonists language hahahaha. No wonder their race is so weak till today. Look at Philippines and India. So weak mindset.

• MB Sanusi on Mar 12, 2024 at 5:56 pm

What drink is xpeng? Air ketum ais?

• Mike Tee on Mar 12, 2024 at 3:41 pm

Can’t wait for the X9 (MPV)!

• This is same gang as manual transmission wannabe. Giving false hope for automakers.

Can’t wait for this, release manual trans for that. Like you gonna buy it.

• Mike Tee on Mar 13, 2024 at 9:51 am

Oh my god how am I going to prove to a random dude on the internet that I will buy a car? I can’t sleep well now.

• X(i Jin)Peng on Mar 12, 2024 at 6:00 pm

This kopi peng is hnghhh. Tiru aston martin dbx ni

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • @NotBruceWayne on Mar 13, 2024 at 8:32 am

good design..inspired by Aston..I’ll take it. I wish protong take inspiration from well designed marques as well.

• HuHong Xiopeng on Mar 13, 2024 at 11:46 am

Mengapa China banyak kilang EV? Mungkin dulu mereka pernah mengeluar kereta mainan RC. Dari pengalaman membuat kereta mainan RC dulu membolehkan mereka membina EV. Pengalaman mereka mengeluarkan power bank juga membantu industri EV mereka.

• Proton on Mar 13, 2024 at 9:31 pm

Patutlah kete keluaran kami sendiri tanpa Mitsubishi & geely tak menjadi. Sebab mesia ada pengalaman tanam padi & getah je

• HuHong Xiopeng on Mar 13, 2024 at 11:49 am

Mengapa China banyak kilang EV? Mungkin dulu mereka pernah mengeluar kereta mainan RC. Dari pengalaman membuat kereta mainan RC dulu membolehkan mereka membina EV. Pengalaman mereka mengeluarkan power bank juga membantu industri EV mereka.

• Habislah… More Chinese ev coming…5years later can throw away car already.. suddenly company and kilang MIA.. left u with no spare parts or whatsoever..