RM312 million revenue collected from license plates in 2023, proceeds go to federal consolidated fund

The ministry of transport does not gain from funding initiatives derived from the proceeds of vehicle license plate sales, and instead goes to the federal consolidated fund, said transport minister Anthony Loke, Bernama reported.

Total revenue from sales of number plates last year reached RM311.8 million, and this sum included the proceeds of sales of special registration numbers (NPI), which came to RM21 million, the transport minister said. The sale of special registration numbers began in 2019, and bidding offers started in 2023, with the M_M plate series, Loke added.

“However for the year 2024, as announced by the prime minister during the presentation of the 2024 Budget, a portino of NPI sales will be allocated to the less privileged,” Loke said during a question-and-answer session at the Dewan Rakyat today, in response to Kuala Kangsar member of parliament Datuk Iskandar Dzulkarnain Abdul Khalid.

A portion of the proceeds from NPI sales was allocated to covering driving test fees for B2-class motorcycle, e-hailing and taxi licenses, and in doing so has benefited more than 40,000 underprivileged youths, Loke said. Some 100,000 helmets, including children’s helmets were distributed free of charge to financially disadvantaged families, he added.

The recently-introduced GOLD series of license plates has collected RM17 million in revenue so far, the transport minister stated.

“As mentioned earlier, the GOLD 1 [number plate] was bid by His Majesty the King of Malaysia for RM1.5 million, contributing to government revenue. Half of these proceeds were returned to the ministry of transport for the implementation of initiatives as stated,” Loke continued.

The transport minister also urged the public to only bid for number plates through the road transport department (JPJ), and cautioned against buying from third-party sources to avoid falling prey to fraud.

“If you intend to bid, use the government’s JPJ e-bidding system, [and] avoid third-party channels. Raising awareness is vital as we aim ro the revenue to contribute to government funds, enabling us to implement more initiatives to assist the people,” the transport minister said.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Everyone on Mar 19, 2024 at 6:00 pm

Penipu scammer Loke. Everyone knows JPJ selling the number plates goes back to JPJ coffers but who is JPJ big boss?

You lah Loke!

So you controlling JPJ funding is meaning its belong to Transport Minister lah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 58
    • MB Sanusi on Mar 19, 2024 at 7:01 pm

Rich car owners pay for the poors. So no problemo

• Budak UiTM on Mar 19, 2024 at 10:45 pm

This comment shows the level of Malaysia’s majority education. Simple brain but big mouth like Akmal.

• Roti John on Mar 20, 2024 at 1:28 am

BN did the same in 2016-2017. Can remember the countless of special plate series every few weeks/months back then. Nothing wrong with doing it as long as the money is not being songlap

• I Miss BN 60 Years Rule on Mar 20, 2024 at 4:49 pm

BN not so bad. Back during BN era, special number plate series only comes out only once a month if lucky. Now Loke keeps churning out number plates by WEEKLY. So much so that letters that has no special interest ie JWY or BRW becomes bidded number for reasons only he knows.

• Jawabandar on Mar 20, 2024 at 8:40 am

Everybody knows? Clearly you don’t know. Any proceeds from any federal agencies that collect fees/payment will go to consolidated fund or federal account. That is part of government revenue. I am not his fan but your fact is already out about fund collection.

• sound like you regret bidding that number plate, when RM300 can just get you any number if you are not picky

• jaga your mouth later akmal boikot lu baru tau

• Lolwhut? on Mar 19, 2024 at 6:08 pm

LOL What the bait article is this!
    Headline says: “revenue goes to federal consolidated fund, not ministry of transport”

but in the write up: “Half of these proceeds were returned to the ministry of transport”

So did the money go or did not go to Transport Ministry coz if I read it right, the header is totally wrong and money DOES flow to Loke & co.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • DUMNO on Mar 20, 2024 at 12:39 pm

At least legal fund collection unlike previous UMNO leader that got pardon for taking undertable funds in his personal bank account LOL

• I Miss BN 60 Years Rule on Mar 20, 2024 at 4:52 pm

You bodoh or wat? UMNO is now with Team Madani you friend fire for wat… You want UMNO & BN to leave and PMX to lose his job is it? You mau tembak pun tembak betul lar jangan fong fei kei. Bodoh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
        • DUMNO on Mar 20, 2024 at 8:30 pm

I’m now on PN side u dumbass. Yeah, better BN leave. Don’t want to leave? Why? UMNO rather be anjing PH so that your corrupted leaders can get more pardon kah? Kah kah kah

• BN Hipocrites on Mar 21, 2024 at 12:00 am

Bodoh! U org yg cakap Loke dulu. BN not only full of corrupted people, but hypocrite people. PMX no need UMNO idiots to continue his job but UMNO need him to stay relevant. Siapa yg kalah in GE? Mau cakap org bodoh tapi sendiri yg paling bodoh!

• Kocha Lala on Mar 22, 2024 at 1:07 pm

Hold your cockfight guys. Control what you can control, pointless discussion. Those politicians can be friend or enemy in seconds as long as it benefits them. Lol.

• Instead of becoming a salesman why not resolve the road bully rempit kia and those bodoh road issue. My guess is he can’t get them to work as intended . Sad

• cager on Mar 19, 2024 at 8:09 pm

better to invest in public transport with this fund. not only it will reduce traffic jam but also reduce carbon emission.

• EV Car Mafia on Mar 20, 2024 at 12:48 pm

Exactly. They talk about collecting money, but do they tell about how its being spend? how is this fund utilised by JPJ? From Loke’s comment, the money going into “the federal consolidated fund” sounds shady!

• Rafizi sembang kencang on Mar 19, 2024 at 8:54 pm

Sembang

• ROTI CANAI on Mar 19, 2024 at 9:25 pm

lol big money making business

• Ben Yap on Mar 20, 2024 at 8:34 am

Loke is better than the top minister. Loke earns money through selling of number plates. those who are rich and can afford it will buy. it is better than the minister that every day think of ways to tax the people while doing nothing to improve Malaysia’s economy.

• Sohai on Mar 20, 2024 at 8:40 am

So is using JPJ resources to do something that take away the focus of ministry..
    Cut it down please and get to work. This is not work.

• EV Car Mafia on Mar 20, 2024 at 10:58 am

this is one legal way of raising “gov donations aka ruling party fund” donation. Please dont give cash, but just by a number plate and it will be official. Dont worry about the source of fund!

• Logical Deduction on Mar 20, 2024 at 4:54 pm

So its okay for druglords to spend illgotten gains on buying number plates isit? So meaning your saying its okay for PH Gomen to get sponsored by drug money laaaa

• Longkang Logical Deduction on Mar 20, 2024 at 8:42 pm

So you’re saying the King of Malaysia is supporting illegal scheme?