Jaecoo J6 EV confirmed for Malaysia – RHD version to be put on public display at Malaysia Autoshow in May

We recently brought you coverage on the Jaecoo J6 while in China, and it’s now been confirmed that the fully electric SUV will be making an appearance here in right-hand drive form at next month’s Malaysia Autoshow.

The J6 is also known as the iCar 03, with iCar (like Jaecoo) being a sub-brand in Chery’s portfolio. For export markets, it is called the J6 and joins other ‘J’ models such as the J7 and J8. If you’re looking for an SUV with a boxy and rugged look that is somewhat “compact,” this is something to look forward to.

On that mention, the J6 measures 4,406 mm long, 1,910 mm wide and 1,715 mm tall. Its wheelbase is relatively long for an SUV this size, at 2,715 mm. The dimensions make it just slightly shorter than the J7 (4,500 mm), though the J6 is a touch wider (+45 mm) and taller (+35 mm).

As mentioned in our previous post, the J6 has a slightly different look compared to the 03, with the former getting its own grille design, no illuminated ‘i’ logo on the lighting units and no storage box at the back. The RHD version set to debut in Malaysia will come with said storage box and the iCar 03’s grille at the front.

In China, the iCar 03 is available with a choice of rear- or all-wheel drive electric motor configurations. According to local Chinese reports, the dual motor version is rated at 279 PS and is capable of getting from 0-100 km/h in 6.5 seconds on its way to a limited top speed of 150 km/h. With a CATL-supplied 69.8-kWh lithium iron phosphate (LFP) battery, the range is up to 501 km following the CLTC standard.

Other highlights of the J6 include a side-hinged tailgate, pop-out door handles, a large infotainment touchscreen, a dash integrated digital instrument cluster, electric door poppers and even a crystal drive mode selector. Also available is a set of roof-mounted solar panels that can help add charge to the battery pack, as well as ADAS cameras from popular drone-maker DJI.

GALLERY: Jaecoo J6 and iCar 03 in China

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Side hinged rear door is bad design

• Which is worst? on Apr 29, 2024 at 8:06 pm

Rear door fall on the road or rear axle broke in half?

• Dah Menang Semua on Apr 30, 2024 at 2:42 pm

Buy Cherry
        Free Brembo
        Free Safety bar
        Free Life insurance

• Side hinged is ok as i used to own a vitara. With spare tyre attached to rear door.

• TempeKeras on Apr 29, 2024 at 8:45 pm

Lembut macam Donat J Co

• DonkeyKong on Apr 29, 2024 at 11:48 pm

Looks tough from the outside but that’s tofu dreg deception for you. Maybe after a few times of taking hard bumps these cars will fall apart like a comedy prop car

• TheSaint on Apr 30, 2024 at 8:30 am

Love the quirky design.

• ROTI CANAI on Apr 30, 2024 at 9:58 am

TIME FOR DAMAGE CONTROL LA CHERY

• Sohai on Apr 30, 2024 at 12:05 pm

I dont think is just me, but many is reconsidering Chery related cars witht the recent axle problem. How bad is the QC especially for the CKD batch?

I like the spec, I love the design of the J6. But until there is clarity on the QC, I won’t buy. That poor welding on the axle is life threatening error.

• Mike Ombana on Apr 30, 2024 at 8:01 pm

As usual, make sure Quick Check (QC) sticker pasted on window before taking delivery. If possible, request for 5 stickers