Foreign news reports of impending petrol, diesel price hike untrue, as gov’t hasn’t discussed matter – Fahmi

The government says that foreign media reports suggesting the country has decided on a price hike for petrol and diesel is not true. That’s because the cabinet has not yet discussed the matter, according to communications minister Fahmi Fadzil.

“I have studied the matter carefully and can confirm that the matter was not discussed because I am also a cabinet minister. Therefore, don’t put the cart before the horse or don’t announce before it has been announced,” the unity government’s spokesman said.

“We are aware that several foreign based media have pre-empted the process and I hope all parties, including the media, can obtain information from credible sources,” he explained, reminding all media to not publish reports based on sources that have not been verified or identified, as Bernama reports.

Late last week, foreign media reports indicated that Malaysia is set to cut fuel subsidies by June. Quoting official and industry sources, the reports said that diesel prices would float to market rates in a matter of weeks after the Kuala Kubu Baharu by-election on May 11, and this would be followed by a staggered rise in retail rates of petrol.

Fahmi’s call to not speculate on the targeted subsidy programme was echoed by the deputy minister of domestic trade and cost of living (KPDN), Fuziah Salleh. She said all parties should wait for the official announcement by the government.

“The announcement should be made by the government itself. Regardless, we are implementing several mechanisms to prepare ourselves so when the targeting programme is implemented, we will be ready. Among them is providing lorry vehicle fleet card facilities to enjoy the diesel subsidy when the programme is launched. Now, we are actively registering companies so that they can get the subsidy,“ she said.

That the targeted subsidy programme is set to be introduced is without question. Last month, economy minister Rafizi Ramli reportedly reiterated that Malaysia will reduce subsidies for petrol this year in order to reduce the country’s fiscal deficit.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Well, you know what they say… when there’s smoke…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • Richard Teo on May 06, 2024 at 6:23 pm

Who U vote also same one…
      Country no money need
      borrow at cheap rate

(2014) BOSSKU era
      Replace fuel subsidy with targeted hand-outs https://paultan.org/2014/11/18/replace-fuel-subsidy-targeted-cash-transfers/

(2019) Mahathir 2.0 era
      1/RON 95 targeted fuel subsidy plan is ready, Cabinet approval soon – electricity bill to determine eligibility https://paultan.org/2019/09/28/ron-95-targeted-fuel-subsidy-plan-is-ready-cabinet-approval-soon-electricity-bill-to-determine-eligibility/

(2022) PERIKATAN’s era
      2/Govt fuel subsidy bill expected to be RM28b for 2022, blanket subsidy to end in favour of targeted subsidies https://paultan.org/2022/05/21/govt-fuel-subsidy-bill-expected-to-be-rm22b-for-2022-blanket-subsidy-to-end-in-favour-of-targeted-subsidies/

3/BMW cannot receive the same subsidy as Kancil, says Azmin as he calls for targeted fuel subsidy system https://paultan.org/2022/05/24/bmw-cannot-receive-the-same-subsidy-as-kancil-says-azmin-as-he-calls-for-targeted-fuel-subsidy-system/

4/Targeted fuel subsidy pilot test – B40/M40 to receive e-wallet credit, but everyone to pay higher fuel prices https://paultan.org/2022/07/29/targeted-fuel-subsidy-pilot-test-b40-m40-to-receive-e-wallet-credit-but-everyone-to-pay-higher-fuel-prices/

(2023) Anwar’s era
      5/Formulating a targeted subsidy mechanism ‘complex’, but gov’t working on it as fast as possible https://paultan.org/2023/06/19/formulating-a-targeted-subsidy-mechanism-complex-but-govt-working-on-it-as-fast-as-possible-anwar/

6/Government conducting public survey on targeted subsidies – RON 95 implementation in 2H 2024 https://paultan.org/2023/12/04/government-conducting-public-survey-on-targeted-subsidies/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
      • RM1.50/L petrol mana? on May 07, 2024 at 10:22 am

Only PH Gomen promised cheap fuel when the become Gomen. Right now where is that cheap fuel they promised? PH Gomen continue to troll millions of Msians

• Once the KKB election wraps up, I anticipate they’ll announce a price increase. Haha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • Rakyat Malaysia on May 07, 2024 at 10:49 am

This useless Gomen xleh pakai like used diapers ady. We need Sheraton Move 2.0 now!

• Angry Voters on May 08, 2024 at 8:16 am

KKB voters! This is time for you to rise up your anger and vote PH out so they know the rakyat’s fury!

• newme on May 06, 2024 at 2:00 pm

Foreign new untrue? Didn’t the gov is the one that day price hike will happen this year?

• Future High Income Guy on May 06, 2024 at 5:06 pm

“Malaysia aim to be a high-income country.”
    Out of sudden, after reading all these news about cutting subsidies, I just realized that the slogan implies that we are targeting to be high-income country, but are not targeting to be low-expenses, nor “livable” country.
    Busted me.

• Dah Menang Semua on May 06, 2024 at 6:08 pm

Wawasan 2020
      U don’t know?
      Ask car plate owner
      of “MALAYSIA 2020”

• Master Foo Ling Yew on May 06, 2024 at 11:33 pm

Here is Wisdom
    Ong Lai Ong Lai the donkey cries
    On the tip of the hive lovely nectar lai
    Elegant and graceful but empty wai
    A fine match for the fool follow lies.
    He throw honey in soup and chant Bo Lai Bo Lai

• Don’t believe things politicians say. LMAO. Trust the news source

• Lala Land on May 07, 2024 at 9:57 am

Those voting at KKB should not vote for PH government to give them a signal that if they continue to go against their manifesto they will be going down.