Reminder – you can share your vehicle’s digital road tax with another driver via the MyJPJ app

The MyJPJ app, introduced last year, offers plenty of useful features, most notably the ability to display a digital driving licence (in case you forget it) and road tax (e-Lesen Kenderaan Motor, or e-LKM). The latter enables drivers to skip putting the tax sticker on your windscreen for a cleaner look, while still keeping their cars road legal.

Some of those features may have gone unnoticed by motorists. Just today, X user Aysha Ridzuan (@ayshardzn) shared that she only recently found out that the app enabled car owners to share their digital road tax with another driver. This functionality, introduced at the start of the year, means the said driver can pass through road blocks and inspections even if the car’s physical tax sticker is not present.

To do so, you have to open the MyJPJ app (you will obviously need to have an account with your car registered first), then tap on “Profile” and then “Motor Vehicle Licence.” From there, you can select the number plate of the car you want to share with the other driver, which will bring you to the digital road tax. At the bottom, tap on “Share LKM” and then the plus icon.

Here, you will have to enter the IC number of the other driver, along with the start and end date of the shared road tax. Tap on “Submit” then confirm the details of the driver by selecting “Yes”. The app will then show you the safety code you will need to share with the other driver to activate the shared road tax.

As a reminder, it is necessary to share the digital road tax with the other driver instead of simply a screenshot, as the latter can be edited. Letting the police or JPJ officer view the digital road tax in the MyJPJ app is the official way, and it helps prevents fraud.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Kata enforcer boleh check melalui sistem. Makin menyusahkan org. You create a system to ease the people and the process. Now days there are parking which uses camera to detect number plate. Cannot use that to detect ke?

• Sohai on Jun 07, 2024 at 9:32 pm

Why need to let JPJ or police to view the digital roadtax? I thought they have access to the system and check themselves? The onus is on them to proof that I don’t have valid roadtax.

• Jangan jadi bodoh on Jun 10, 2024 at 8:40 am

I have never need to share my roadtax with another user, there is high chance for forgery and saman comes to me instead. Why dafuq do I want to share via app now, stupid Loke?
      Why don’t you share me your IC, Passport, License details too?

• why do we need to bother or trouble ourselves with this sharing? or even need app to show LKM?
    the reason for digital LKM is because JPJ/Police/etc can check LKM from their system on the spot right?

• Nikki on Jun 08, 2024 at 12:08 am

Didn’t Loke say that police / JPJ cannot request for the road tax from the public? Instead, they should have their own device to verify the validity of the road tax?

• BENGONG on Jun 08, 2024 at 8:52 am

Menyusahkan orang pula, polis/JPJ nak check sila guna systemlah sendiri

• YB Anthony, boleh tau keputusan naiktaraf lesen B2 bila akan dimaklumkan kpd umum. Dah lama ni, masih berbicang ka?

• Roadtaxhuh on Jun 08, 2024 at 11:25 am

Don’t understand. Why not jpj/police just go to some portal and check themselves?

• Lee cheng san on Jun 08, 2024 at 8:00 pm

How can i get a rd tax sticker and do away with all these impractical obsolete funxtions?

• Mionel Lessi on Jun 09, 2024 at 11:01 am

Loke’s got the smile of a seasoned auctioneer now. Probably can apply for a job at Sotheby’s after his political career ends.

• Ben Yap on Jun 10, 2024 at 8:48 am

Law enforcement have to do their own duty to check by themselves. why ask us to proof? duit sudah bayar and we still need to proof that we paid? you already take the money, you do the job la.

• Chong Wee Kiong on Jun 11, 2024 at 11:41 am

Why are you making them more lazy…. System is good, let do their job checking N don’t just stop and disrub the flow of vehicles

• Dear Jonathan Lee,
    “As a reminder, it is necessary to share the digital road tax with the other driver instead of simply a screenshot, as the latter can be edited”. The above statement is by you or JPJ, please clarify, thanks

• Fizain on Jun 10, 2024 at 2:00 pm

Aiyah .have to share the digital road tax for JPJ and police to view? I tot the whole digital thing is to make life easier for car owners and drivers..? The authorities can check the status themselves without asking driver to show the digital roadtax, cant they? Recently, My wife was stopped by JPJ while driving a car under my name..and the JPJ officer insisted she downloaded the MyJPJ app on the spot. The car had a valid roadtax, but she had no photocopy of the road tax on her.

• a stupid system which opens up to more fraud and plate switching..

• All time fav on Jun 16, 2024 at 3:30 am

This is what happened when one didn’t use 100% of their brain.