Ops Kesan 2.0 will monitor price of goods, services to ensure no profiteering following diesel price increase

The government says it will be carrying out enforcement activities via its just-launched Ops Kesan 2.0 to ensure that there is no element of profiteering on the price of goods and services following the increase in the retail price of diesel to RM3.35 per litre in the peninsula.

The ministry of domestic trade and cost of living (KPDN) said it had implemented a price and service charge data collection process, and this would be used as a basis for comparing prices and service charges before and after targeted subsidies were introduced.

Its minister Datuk Armizan Mohd Ali said all complaints received by the ministry will be handled within 24 hours, and stern action will be taken against irresponsible parties, The Star reports. He said that action can be taken under the Price Control and Anti-Profiteering Act 2011 (Act 723), where individual offenders can be fined up to RM100,000 and business offenders RM500,000, with a possible jail term.

“We have laws, we have punishments, and we will increase the enforcement as we do not want (the government agenda) to be sabotaged or taken advantage of by certain parties who manipulate prices,” he said. He added that all parties or businesses closely linked to the targeted diesel subsidy will benefit from the initiative, meaning that there should be no reason to raise prices.

Armizan said that KPDN has also formed a dedicated task force to look into any issues arising. “We’ve introduced a standard operating procedure for any complaints against price or fee hikes, and follow-up action will be taken within 24 hours,” he said. He said any party involved in price or fee hike complaints must justify the changes within six days.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Many economists already said not possible to prevent price increases . So monitor itu cuma buang masa je.

• Mission Impossible...yes..buang masa je on Jun 11, 2024 at 1:34 pm

Do u know how many hundred thousand kopitiams,foodcourts,restaurants,mamaks etc in Msia?
      Can u cover them for each complaint of price uptick of food?100 percent of them will pass price increases to us .
      Price increases DEFY the LAW OF GRAVITY.
      No sane businessman want to lose money.

• Lets See on Jun 11, 2024 at 6:12 pm

This is bullshit from PH spinners again. Already industries have immediately raised prices and rates. What tok kok is PH tokking about
      https://paultan.org/2024/06/11/tow-truck-companies-concrete-producers-raise-prices-as-not-covered-by-fleet-card-targeted-diesel-subsidy/

• Lets See on Jun 12, 2024 at 11:42 am

What I posted is just the tip of a recessionary iceberg, more will follow
      https://paultan.org/2024/06/12/targeted-diesel-subsidy-express-tour-buses-excluded-in-rationalisation-services-to-cost-15-30-more/

So what kind of “ensuring” they gonna do when companies & whole industries immediately announce Price Hikes while still using subsidised diesel?

• uesless move, people charge higher because life (government) squeeze them too hard. wait till they wanna issue summon and the boss ask them to come forward one by one gentleman.

• Bangkok on Jun 11, 2024 at 12:40 pm

Diesel in Thailand is 5 rm liter you guys are luckiest in the world if we can only dream to have this price

• Karam Singh on Jun 11, 2024 at 1:28 pm

Many pick up trucks are used to deliver vegetables and fruits from cameron highlands to major cities all over peninsular. They are mostly freelance delivery guy, getting roughly rm500 per day per trip.

And they claim to need approx rm150 of diesel daily. Or about 4.5k per month. 15k in total a month.

I told them why not register an enterprise, and then buy 1 tonne hino turbo. Or daihatsu granmax. Or nissan NV100.

They say don’t want. Only ford ranger could do the job.

• Laugh on Jun 11, 2024 at 2:20 pm

Not bad, another alternative source of income.

• Lala Land on Jun 11, 2024 at 3:25 pm

Diesel cost increased by 50% and you expect no price increase for goods/ services related to it? What are you dumb?

• Hmmmm on Jun 11, 2024 at 3:51 pm

Kelakar tul pentadbiran ni….boleh ke harga diesel naik, harga barang x naik. Kalo bisul dh pecah, nanah keluarlah kan.

Xpe2, pi lah buat operasi tu. Tp jangan biarkan kenderaan gomen tu idle lama2….mnyk tu pkai duit income tax aku.

• Ben Yap on Jun 11, 2024 at 4:03 pm

government raise the price of diesel and forbids sellers to increase price. they also want to prevent deficit like how government trying to prevent deficit through fuel subsidy. makes no sense.

• Besi Busuk on Jun 11, 2024 at 4:37 pm

How can the government take action against this? Sue all tens of thousands of sellers that raise their prices?

Either we have high inflation or we will get closer to socialistic of communistic economy……

• Laugh on Jun 12, 2024 at 9:04 am

Any wise businessman will know the trick to get even higher profit.

Steps:
    1. Increase price based on diesel price increase ensuring no offence.
    2. Save cost down later by changing to EV fleet since it’s free tax now or sub out logistics to other companies with the lowest tender possibly using EV.

So with this, all business will be able to cash n on this removal of subsidy on diesel.
    Free cash… siapa tak mau.