e-Invoicing: Puspakom says tax identification number must be provided for all transactions from July 25

Puspakom has announced that from July 25, 2024, all customers wanting to carry out any vehicle inspection or checks at its branches or make payment transactions online via MyPuspakom will need to furnish their tax identification number (TIN) as part of the process.

The vehicle inspection agency said that this is in line with the enforcement of the electronic invoicing (e-Invoice) system by the inland revenue board (LHDN), which is aimed at promoting transparency in financial and taxation matter and improving the country’s taxation system. The first stage of the system’s implementation is set to begin on August 1.

The TIN is a unique number issued by LHDN to individuals and businesses in Malaysia, and is basically the number assigned to your tax file to identify you. For individuals, this is your IG number, previously given a SG or OG identification prefix.

According to Puspakom, the information required for individual customers is their MyKad (IC) number and TIN, while corporate clients will have to provide their company registration number, SST number and TIN.

The agency says that customers must ensure they have a TIN before making an appointment on its website. It added that this is necessary to ensure that every payment transaction can be processed correctly and efficiently both by it and LHDN. The e-invoicing system will of course also apply to new car purchases.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Batman on Jul 22, 2024 at 9:48 pm

I did not PH to get TIN. This is so wrong. I will swing my vote next upcoming PRU.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 10
  • vincent on Jul 22, 2024 at 10:47 pm

If student how?
    What TIN to give la?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • Vladimir Putin on Jul 23, 2024 at 6:16 am

Milo tin, Ovaltine, nicotine

• Ruslan Bahari on Jul 23, 2024 at 7:51 am

All they have to do is open a tax file. Its quite simply done on-line with the tax department.

• Mike Tee on Jul 23, 2024 at 11:45 am

Good point. You can only get a TIN at 18 years old but you can drive at 17. They have to rectify this. Bring one up or bring the other down

• Menteri Formula on Jul 23, 2024 at 12:24 pm

Just give TIN KOSONG

• hazri on Jul 24, 2024 at 12:39 am

use guarantor/parent TIN laa. apa susah. itu pun tak boleh fikir ke.

• Louis lee on Jul 22, 2024 at 11:38 pm

Nice, this is to help on govt to prevent those salary and business owner did not register tax even is below salary range.

• anwar menang, rakyat dikencingkan on Jul 23, 2024 at 9:42 am

Puspakom is a private entity. Why do they need our income tax number?

With so many puspakom employees taking bribes from runners to pass vehicles not working properly, is it safe to give income tax number to puspakom?

• kenny lim on Jul 23, 2024 at 10:03 am

If you are an adult and working, common sense that you should have an income tax account. Just give them the number, not give them additional money, why so difficult? Unless u till now, you do not have one and did not pay tax la. Which is wrong. If you can afford car, should pay tax la

• pengayuhbasikal on Jul 23, 2024 at 10:29 am

buy car also must register with LHDN first .. otherwise…jalan kaki lor….wait…later..my guess is.. if you want to buy / reload e wallet / tng card …also need TIN … Jalan kaki lor…ekekekekeke

• Hmmmm on Jul 24, 2024 at 5:31 pm

What…u think u dont have to provide your TIN when buying your shoes ar?

• aardvark on Jul 23, 2024 at 10:36 am

the stupidest tax implementation procedure in the universe

just use GST lah

• Totally Irrelevant Nonsense

• anwar menang, rakyat dikencingkan on Jul 23, 2024 at 11:01 am

puspakom is a private entity. you have no right to our income tax number!!

• Disable Runner on Jul 23, 2024 at 12:59 pm

Like this runner cannot ask for extra “on the spot Gao dim” special rate lo… or, booking is booking, gao dim is still gao dim leh?

• how la on Jul 23, 2024 at 3:40 pm

later can’t buy underwear without tin no..this is too much

• opmanmy on Jul 23, 2024 at 9:01 pm

Perhaps, cannot even buy goreng pisang from food stall. Muahahahaha.

• ANTI EV on Jul 23, 2024 at 4:16 pm

Puspakom… you are a private organization. You are not specified/ authorized by the Federal constitution to have the personal info other then that of the vehicle and the owner.

• better get used to it on Jul 23, 2024 at 7:32 pm

get used to it. even lazada and shoppee already start to collect TIN from sellers

• ANTI EV on Jul 24, 2024 at 11:42 am

No. I and many other will not get used to it.
        remember the c19 baksin… many were fooled by the electronic media and even signed the consent form… indicating that they were all dumb and stupid to take a poison and then even sign a consent form relieving the gov from taking action if any AE event were to happen

The same concept here…

• Sick&Tired on Jul 23, 2024 at 4:46 pm

Extremely disappointed with this madani government! Why must we provide this to puspakom! Next election boycott! How I wish PN was more inclusive. As it is they are a bunch of extremist!

• hazri on Jul 24, 2024 at 12:43 am

the best way to catch pelari cukai. own burger, pisang goreng stall, nasi lemak, nasi kukus, caj customer mahal2, profit thousand K a month and buy car cash, but never declare tax.

• Bieight8 on Jul 24, 2024 at 1:29 pm

foreigner how?