Tesla scraps plans for EV plant in Thailand, Malaysia, Indonesia – were ASEAN plans serious to start with?

Tesla has cancelled plans to set up an EV factory in Thailand, Malaysia or Indonesia and will instead just focus solely on setting up charging stations. This is according to The Nation, which quoted a source from the Thai government.

The decision to scrap ASEAN factory plans follows a layoff of the team of Tesla executives that visited Thailand late last year. “Tesla is currently only discussing charging stations, with the factory plans suspended not just in Thailand but worldwide. They are not proceeding in Malaysia, Indonesia, or anywhere else except for China, America, and Germany,” the source told the English-language publication.

Thai prime minister Srettha Thavisin declared in November 2023 that Tesla was set to make Thailand an EV manufacturing hub, saying so after he held several meetings with Tesla executives, both in Thailand and the US. Srettha also toured Tesla’s Fremont factory went he went to the US for the 30th APEC Economic Leaders’ Meeting in November (pics below).

Back in Thailand, Srettha and Pheu Thai party leader Paetongtarn Shinawatra, daughter of Thaksin, hosted senior Tesla executive Rohan Patel at the Yi Peng festival in Chiang Mai in the same month. He was then reported as saying that the Elon Musk-led carmaker was surveying three potential factory sites in the kingdom and was expected to announce investments of over US$5 billion (RM22.5 billion) in Q1 2024.

According to the government source, Tesla has decided to cancel such plans and has disbanded that particular executive team. The decision is part of the EV specialist’s withdrawal of investment across Asia and beyond. So, the ASEAN race to lure Tesla’s business for both economic and bragging rights reasons is over, but was Tesla’s plan to build in our region that serious in the first place?

A gigafactory that has been left hanging is Mexico, even though that one – unlike ASEAN – was official. First announced in March 2023, the project has faced delays and uncertainty, among them US presidential candidate Donald Trump’s pledge to impose a 100% tariff on cars made in Mexico, which is seen as a tax-free backdoor. In October 2023, Tesla confirmed it had paused the project due to economic concerns.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments express mixed reactions to Tesla's plans in Malaysia and ASEAN, with skepticism about the government's incentives and promises of factory investment, suggesting many believed Tesla had no real intention to build a factory here. Several commenters feel the government was easily duped or conspired with Tesla for false promises, highlighting that Tesla's presence in Malaysia is more about market positioning than actual manufacturing plans. There is criticism of Tesla prices and capricious strategies, with some advocating for local alternatives like Proton's EVs or BYD. Overall, sentiments are largely negative, emphasizing that Tesla's promised investments are unlikely to materialize, and the government's dealings with Tesla amounted to a scam or a con. Many see Tesla as struggling globally, and comments reflect disbelief that Malaysia or ASEAN will benefit significantly.

• Dah Menang Semua on Aug 07, 2024 at 1:08 pm

PMX… we have secured XX foreign investments…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 14
    • Lol Whut on Aug 07, 2024 at 3:47 pm

Just as Rishi has failed to revitalise UK and forced to resign.
      Just as Biden has failed to revitalise USA and forced to drop out vs Trump.
      High time for PH to resign from gomen now they have failed to attract Tesla which PMX went to town with, he too must take the blame and resign. For ruining the economy for 5 years, PH should be banned from voted and being the gomen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 20
      • Richard Teo on Aug 07, 2024 at 7:02 pm

We need to give PN
        “1” more chance – thru front door
        Re-formatting Malaysia to 2nd-UAE

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 22
    • Hancing on Aug 07, 2024 at 7:22 pm

This should be much bigger news: the Malaysian government got absolutely CONNED by Elon Musk, bending over backwards for him in embarrassingly sycophantic ways (to an audience that doesn’t even admire Musk), giving Tesla undeserved privileges, only to get jack shit in return.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
      • Nurul Izzah on Aug 07, 2024 at 10:05 pm

Bend over you said? Papa likes that!

• Rakyat Malaysia on Aug 08, 2024 at 12:17 pm

Who conned who? Tesla conned PH Gomen, or PH Gomen conned rakyat Malaysia for being voted into power?

• Mike Tee on Aug 08, 2024 at 12:28 pm

See a Tesla article on PT, come to comments to see the toxicity.

China EVs come in, “China trash dumps on Malaysia”. Tesla comes in, “Trash conmen, trash car”.

It’s a car brand. You like it, buy it. You don’t like it, don’t buy it. Jeez people

• Conned by elon on Aug 08, 2024 at 2:10 pm

Clearly you don’t understand the situation.

Malaysian government gave TESLA so much privileges that even Malaysian companies don’t get, just because it promised to build a factory here.

While in reality TESLA promised the same to all countries in south east asia while never really wanted to build a factory in any of them.

• Mike Tee on Aug 09, 2024 at 10:59 am

I don’t see one official announcement that we were ever in discussion to build a Tesla factory here.

Also as I stated elsewhere, Malaysia’s entire *ANNUAL* sales is two days of production in Giga Shanghai. We were never likely to get a factory here

• JustAGuy on Aug 09, 2024 at 6:32 am

So what? I bought my Tesla purely because it wasn’t subject to the corrupt AP system, which is a bigger CON to the rakyat.

• To be frank there’s no way Tesla can compete in ASEAN against the onslaught of Chinese cars, and against their profit nosedive it doesn’t make sense to invest in a losing war which will just see them slash prices just to sell cars here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 5
    • Tesla car won’t sell . Its boring and ugly by Asian standard

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
      • Richard Teo on Aug 07, 2024 at 7:06 pm

BYD Seal way cooler
        than Tesla Model-3

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 13
        • Byd- bodoh young dummy on Aug 08, 2024 at 8:56 am

Byd seal is not cool either. I can say that design will look very ugly in 2 years time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
          • Whatever you said, people wont bother your comment but looking forward the ones with more durable and not much recalls like tesla

• Jom Global on Aug 07, 2024 at 1:34 pm

let’s sell Tesla Solar, Powerwall and Charging @ Malaysia

• 4GR-FSE on Aug 07, 2024 at 1:35 pm

The next wave will be hybrids for SEA..
    EV has hit a roadblock, Tesla is struggling and China EV is over capacity..
    Meanwhile Toyota is enjoying it’s best sales ever with their hybrid line up..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 22
  • Elon M and Donald T has alternative plan

• Sateman on Aug 07, 2024 at 1:37 pm

so just like that tengku zafrul kena con into lifting AP requirement from tesla with promise of fake investment…… hahahhahahahha!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 5
    • Lol Whut on Aug 07, 2024 at 3:48 pm

More like PMX conned millions of Malaysians when he shouted about Tesla investments here. For this obvious lie he needs to step down. Many other honourable leaders & presidents have done the same, so must PMX.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 14
      • Bapakkau on Aug 07, 2024 at 6:39 pm

Sikit sikit step down. Sikit sikit step down. You punya bapak ada step down when he failed to raise you??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 31
        • Make Malaysia Great Again on Aug 08, 2024 at 12:12 pm

Aik, 60 taun bawah BN tak pernah ekonomi negara begitu terok sekarang tapi ari ari Pembangkang jerit ‘turun! turun! turun!’ Sekarang memang sah Pembangkang bawah PMX dah gagal masih tak nak blah? Ish, jangan lagi tipu rakyat, baik ikut nasihat awak tuu, turun sekarang!

• Shiba on Aug 07, 2024 at 5:56 pm

Actually as a Tesla consumer, it does benefit me coz i manage to own one at an unbelievable price as compare to those early adopters who bought from grey market at doubled the price.

Never once i would have thought owning a Tesla till it officially drop the bombshell and announce the price. Without any hesitant, even though i was aiming at BYD range, i booked the next day when the order book open.

Do i regret and move back to ICE since i own an EV, a big NO. Sorry folks to all those EV haters, i am all for EV even though i do have another ICE vehicle which is beginning to feel neglected. Once you own and drive one, you will get it. Just like how people says what the hell with all this touch screen phone….i like my blackberry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 19
      • Sendiri Syok on Aug 08, 2024 at 9:48 am

Syok sendiri…

• Xiaomao on Aug 08, 2024 at 1:44 pm

I drive a European make EV and I agree with your opinion on EVs. But don’t get so smug on Tesla. With what Elon is smoking these days, he might completely pull Tesla’s presence out of Malaysia once gov tax comes into play after 2025 and sales drop. So you will have no service center or support if anything goes wrong. Same goes for many Chinese EV brand only.

• Umm… I think your final sentence contradicted your proceeding argument.

• JustAGuy on Aug 09, 2024 at 6:42 am

I totally agree. I don’t see what the fuss is. Previously, the only option to buy a Model 3 was a USED recon car at RM300k++ from the AP king conmen pukima…er… pekema. Anything that circumvents cartels gets my money (and it did).

• FireAce on Aug 07, 2024 at 1:56 pm

Musky guy will do and say anything to boost share price and many people falls prey to it because he is “Richest person in the world”.

This includes anyone that bought Tesla car. Unless the rich that won’t mind losing lots of money because they can afford it, normal fanboys will have a big issue when the car needed repairs and there is no parts, no specialist or when insurer decided to compensate the ‘Peanut” current value and scrap the car due to extremely high repair cost.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • newme on Aug 07, 2024 at 2:05 pm

On one hand you want investment from the US, then you stab their back by joining BRICS. You can’t have the cake and eat it too. With the impending social media companies debacle, you can say goodbye to all the investment announce previously.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 24
    • Pro-Palestine on Aug 08, 2024 at 9:02 am

India is also in BRICS. Please ask India to leave BRICS. Cannot take risk with snakes within any organization. Orang putih bagi gula gula sikit mereka cepat tunduk dan jilat kaki om putih ni. Bahaya ada org lemah cam ni dalam BRICS

• newme on Aug 08, 2024 at 9:38 am

This is why India’s economy is not going anywhere. BRICS is just a place for losers to group together to pacify each other. In Asia you don’t see developed countries like SK, Japan or Singapore joining this crap.

Learn from successful people and collaborate with them. Don’t be like B40, always complaint about their failure and hate wealthy people while doing nothing and wasting money plus dreaming of bringing down the rich.

• zeeray on Aug 07, 2024 at 2:34 pm

not surprising, since Tesla is not doing well now anyway. Man-child Elon is more interested in X than in his other ventures

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • elon scam on Aug 07, 2024 at 3:00 pm

tesla is a scam and the malaysian govt should pull back all the incentives given

• AP scam on Aug 07, 2024 at 5:24 pm

The only meaningful incentive Tesla got is the AP exemption and 100% equity. Regardless of Tesla intent, this is the right direction. We don’t need useless AP holder providing no value to Malaysians and are just leeching off the public.

• What talk you? on Aug 07, 2024 at 10:13 pm

Provides value to bumi AP holders

• We the people on Aug 08, 2024 at 7:35 am

I agree… My intention is to make my country richer, not certain individuals that has privileges not based on hustle

• JustAGuy on Aug 09, 2024 at 6:47 am

Tesla has exposed what car prices should be if the auto industry is fully liberalized. Just 3 years ago a RECON Model 3 was priced over RM300k benefitting the AP kings. That these clowns from pekema (lol) had to slash their prices massively after Tesla officially started selling their cars here is toppest of kek..

• Musk saw what’s coming – Tesla’s are good cars but no way his brand can compete in value with Proton eMAS.

• Shiba on Aug 07, 2024 at 6:00 pm

Not dishing Geely Galaxy E5 but it will be a good fight as an alternative to BYD Atto 3. To compare with Tesla, it’s like civic trying to be bmw. The ride and handling of tesla is still ahead of the china which tends to be way too soft. The other thing is their Euro Ncap testing which have scored brilliantly and lastly, is their UI. China UI is still lacking what we seen for malaysia context. Maybe there are some good one in china but it’s yet to be launched here.

• Government senang2 kena scam dengan tesla… bagi 100% equity la bagai.

• Make Malaysia Great Again on Aug 08, 2024 at 12:13 pm

Penipu scammer gomen kena scam dari penipu? Hahahaha

• jonathan pang on Aug 07, 2024 at 3:56 pm

so those that lined up for hours during the Tesla Hiring Open-day, all getting laid off lah? right?

• hahahaha tengku zafrul looks like an idiot now

he can still save face by pulling the AP exemption

• ROTI CANAI on Aug 07, 2024 at 6:44 pm

tesla prices gonna skyrocket soon

• 10cent on Aug 08, 2024 at 10:33 am

Musk endorses Trump who wants to pull back all manufacturing back to USA which is they think is the center of the known universe. U all sure u want these type of ppl running our economy? There are alternatives to what they offer without having to please white supremacist ideology. We asians can do better and ARE already doing better. Start believing in ourselves instead of looking up to ppl who think the world revolves around them.

• Mike Tee on Aug 09, 2024 at 11:02 am

It’s not that heavy bro. When buying a car, I buy one that fits my needs and budget, not to make a political statement.

• Mike Tee on Aug 08, 2024 at 12:31 pm

Giga Shanghai produced 2,925 cars DAILY (947,000 annually) in 2023. Probably the entire Malaysia sales for Tesla in a year and you guys thought we would be the place to have a Tesla factory?

I have a bridge to sell to you…….

• Not a big deal. It is normal in business world the company adjust or scrap original plan after they found the plan is not sustainable. What the authority need to do is reviewing the incentive packaging/term and condition given to the particular company and make adjustment if necessary.