Level playing ground? Not really, but the government has its reasons to allow Tesla and Starlink to exist in Malaysia as 100% foreign-owned entities, skipping local equity ownership rules. According to prime minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim, the decision was made after taking into account their future contributions to the country.
The PM said said in a written parliamentary reply yesterday that among the considerations were the organisational structure of Starlink, which operates on a global scale that requires a more effective decision-making process; status of ‘Malaysia Digital’ based on the Bill of Guarantees; and Starlink’s direct and indirect benefits in Malaysia.
The reply focused more on Elon Musk’s internet company. “Starlink services is suitable for use in the maritime industry as well as oil and gas, given the Starlink internet connection which is stable in areas far from the coast or in the middle of the sea, enabling ships to have all time high quality internet access,” Anwar said, reported by Malay Mail.
“Efficient internet access allows this industry to monitor operations more effectively, improve navigation security, as well as allowing remote control through effective automation system,” he added.
As for EV maker Tesla, the PM cum finance minister said the exemption was not new as the decision had already been made to approve 100% foreign ownership for new projects, project expansion or diversification projects for the manufacturing sector by existing and new companies starting from June this year.
He was replying to Larut MP Datuk Seri Hamzah Zainudin, who asked the PM to explain why national economic sovereignty and a condition of local equity ownership were set aside, enabling companies like Tesla and Starlink 100% foreign ownership.
We’ve wrote about MITI’s BEV Global Leaders programme that gives Tesla franchise APs, letting it skip the requirement of having a company with bumiputera shareholding import cars for the marque. What does Malaysia get in return? Full story here.
Tesla Malaysia has so far launched the Model Y and more recently, the Model 3 ‘Highland’ facelift. Click on the links for more on the EVs.
With his attitude against the US, lets see if Elon Musk will change his mind.
If lebai PAS still ruling.. msia filled wiv Alphard’s
Haiya you @ioma is not so educated with world affair. Elon Musk does not stand with most US policies la. He is anti-globalist and supports all countries that fights for a fair world order.
How you know? You had dinner with him? Talk like he is your relative.
nobody needs to have dinner with him or to be his relative, in order to know what kind of person he is & what he is capable of because Elon Musk is already himself a high profile figure worldwide, but a child might not know that.
What bumiputera dear Paultan?Companies like Sime Darby, Bermaz, Berjaya, ETCM are not bumis.
One question: When AP crony got rich and successful, why still need to give him free tongkat? He still cannot fish by himself yet? Tanya jer jgn marah
Idk. Why dont you ask those scums by yourself?
1. sime darby is GLC hence defacto bumi controlled.
2. bermaz/berjaya already married with naza hence half bumi
3. only etcm is non bumi which is why you see them unable to expand their business (in Malaysia)
If Elon Mask is a patriotic person, I think he will just ………..
lol, if Elmo was so patriotic he wouldn’t even build factories in China.
Malaysia needs tesla more than tesla needs malaysia.
The phone rang.
Hello…Anwarkor…Elon the Musketeer ,here.
Oh..ya..Elon..whats up?
Can u answer this personal question without AI assistance?
No problem..Your Excellency ,Elon..go ahead.
Can u tell me how many ex girlfriends,concubines,mistresses I have? Before covid and after covid?
Anwarkor…eh..ah..eh…ah..haha..let me call that incarcerated Aussie…wikileaks Julian assange.
Elon…just forget it..I’m pulling out by Dec 25.Merry Christmas…Ho Ho…Ho
Anwar menang, AP hapus
Tesla SpaceX strictly no business dealing with ali & baba equity preferences ok LOL
BYD, NIO, do something la dei, don let saim dabi mess up your brand
It is great they messed up these chinese suckers. I will enjoy seeing their demise in Malaysia
No no no, come buy Tesla
First, FUhyoo!!!Embedded in TSLA tradingview price in an article? well done!
So what the government meant was “100% local-owned entities, cannot skip the local bumi equity ownership rules.” Although, contribute the same.
This means “locals” are not encouraged to create their own businesses here unless they are not affected by local equity ownership rules.
Heard Elon hinted there are going to become electricity retailer once Open Electricity Market implemented soon
Good move .. No useless local directors with links just to get a salary n make them happy…
you think other brand don’t bring benefit to nation? why double standard?
Because he doesn’t want anyone to ambil gaji buta
Allon musks power means money power, otherwise other cos wan to invests here have useless and nonsense requirements that’s make investors Pitts off and they go neighbour countries to invests , and making billions that ultimate benefits to country economical growth
Hi hopes security guard of Elon musk factory in Malaysia not allowed to enter ustad Sophian to come and tarnish Malaysia image , disgusting
Is Anwar senile and outdated?? What so special about Starlink? Huawei Mate Pro alredy got free satelite connectivity. Phone so cheap. Haiyaaa. So out la you PM
Little pink trying very hard.
If you want bumiputra to be sleeping partner in these companies, they wont bother to exit from Bolehland market. They are not as lazy Bumi that want free money.
Don’t be suprised guys. Anwar is building his empire. Every now and then, he needs to give to the “chosen” ones, in return when he retired he has something to hold on. It’s just how the world works
Tesla are not safe. It explode by itself.no insurance company will insure them.