Tesla Model 3 Highland Long Range facelift in Malaysia – 629 km range WLTP, 0-100 4.4s; price from RM218k

The Tesla Model 3 facelift, also dubbed Highland was launched in Malaysia last week, alongside the opening of the first Tesla Experience Centre in Malaysia in Pavilion Damansara Heights.

The Model 3 is offered in Malaysia in two variants, the Standard Range rear-wheel-drive priced from RM189,000, and the Long Range all-wheel-drive priced from RM218,000. It is the latter we have photographed here in this live image gallery.

Here, the Model 3 Long Range AWD gets a dual-motor powertrain as well as a larger capacity battery, enabling a WLTP-rated range of 629 km, compared to the 513 km range (WLTP) for the Standard Range variant. The Long Range AWD can also be recharged at a higher DC rate of up to 250 kW, whereas the Standard Range takes DC charging at up to 170 kW.

Both versions of the facelifted Model 3 reach a top speed of 201 km/h, though it is the Long Range AWD that does the quicker 0-100 km/h sprint at 4.4 seconds; the Standard Range RWD manages the acceleration benchmark in 6.1 seconds.

As shown here, the facelift brings styling changes with slimmer headlamps, more prominent LED DRLs as well as new tail lamps and rear bumper. The Pearl White multi-coat paint finish seen here is a standard offering, though more are available; Solid Black or Deep Blue Metallic are RM5,000 cost options, as are Stealth Grey (RM7,500) and Ultra Red (RM11,000).

This example of the Model 3 facelift is outfitted with 19-inch alloy wheels, shod in tyres measuring 235/40R19. Inside, the Model 3 gets a black interior as standard, though buyers can specify a white interior for RM5,000 more. Seats are ventilated units in this Highland facelift.

A new steering wheel houses the indicator signal controls in place of conventional stalks, while the transmission is now controlled via the touchscreen; a physical set of gear selector buttons on the front of the ceiling serve as backup controls. The main touchscreen itself is now brighter and faster responding, while the rear occupants now get an eight-inch unit in the back of the centre console.

In terms of audio, the Model 3 Long Range AWD gets a 17s-speaker setup with dual amplifiers and dual subwoofers, which is up from the 14-speaker count on the pre-facelift. The facelifted Standard Range RWD gets a nine-speaker, single-amplifier sound system.

For driver aids, all versions of the Model 3 come with Autopilot as standard, though this can be upgraded to Enhanced Autopilot for RM16,000, or the Full Self-Driving set for RM32,000.

Initial deliveries of the Tesla Model 3 Highland facelift are scheduled to commence before the end of the year; check out our live image gallery here to see the EV in greater detail.

Learn more: ,

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Wan Azizah on Oct 24, 2023 at 11:25 am

My dream car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
    • Nika G mangsa Zina dinpagoh on Oct 24, 2023 at 3:19 pm

Mine too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
    • Ahlokekor on Oct 24, 2023 at 4:05 pm

What if this dreamcar..the laptop malfunction..all blackout,is there another standby laptop,like in aeroplanes?
      Is the car gonna crash,without visible laptop functions?
      Or call Elon the Musketeer?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 10
      • If you mean what happens if the display crashes then yes, the car will be drivable without it. You can relax now.

• tricycle on Oct 24, 2023 at 2:32 pm

This is super nice. Great value for money. It would be fun to drive. 4.4 sec is wow.

Still I don’t like EV because of hassle of charging compared to fuelling petrol/diesel.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • I got 2 EVs and this Tesla 3 I’ve ordered will be my 3rd. I don’t like the hassle of going to gas station when I can easily charge at home haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 15
      • Dont be over gungho on Oct 24, 2023 at 3:49 pm

Recalcitrant John
        Wait until u sampai your outstation destination one day n discovered the chargers r defective in that locality,n u have to tow your blardy car 50km away to the nearest charger.

• Not a fan boy just passionate on Oct 25, 2023 at 3:47 pm

very much less need service also I assume? your life is my dream bro

• KalauDahMiskin on Oct 24, 2023 at 4:09 pm

Saya duduk flat PPRT so tak dapat la nak pakai EV sbb tak tau mana nak cucuk plug… mintak gomen tolong masuk kan dalam budget tahun depan peruntukan EV charger dkt setiap flat murah utk kemudahan rakyat..

• Bukan semua duk pprt miskin on Oct 24, 2023 at 8:00 pm

Tarik extension cord dari rumah boleh kot

• ROTI CANAI on Oct 24, 2023 at 5:34 pm

cantik, pandu kereta ni i x mau pandu kereta yahudi mcm mercedis bmw dgn audi

• He Long Must on Oct 24, 2023 at 8:02 pm

Now, where’s that ocean mammal?

• To take you away from your comfort zone and to allow you to learn something new is always nagging. Just like the transition from a horse to Ford model-T. Or from manual transmission to automatic transmission. Now, the future is electric. Same we can say for smartphone.
    Have an open mind.

• not all EV are the same on Oct 28, 2023 at 6:53 pm

tesla is semi autonomous driving, that’s the unique selling point which sets it apart from other vehicle, EV or not

• Alex259 on Nov 05, 2023 at 6:11 pm

Never mention home AC charging spec. Can any expert tell me here