BYD recalls 96,714 vehicles for potential fire risk in power steering system, Malaysian cars not affected

A recall of nearly 96,714 vehicles has been filed by BYD due to a manufacturing fault that presents a potential fire risk, reported Car News China citing the State Administration for Market Regulation (SAMR) of China. The sum of vehicles recalled involve the Dolphin and Atto 3 (also known as the Yuan Plus), and BYD has filed a recall plan with the SAMR defective product recall centre.

Two BYD entities will conduct the recall, and these are BYD Auto Industry, which will recall 87,762 units of the Dolphin and Yuan Plus manufactured between February 4, 2023 and December 26, 2023, and BYD Auto, which will recall 8,952 units of the Yuan Plus manufactured between November 2, 2022 and June 19, 2023.

These vehicles have been recalled due to defects in the manufacturing process of the electric power steering column assembly controller, said Car News China. When the equipment tool cover is closed, this may interfere with capacitors on the controller circuit board, causing micro-cracks in the capacitors. These cracks may grow when the vehicle is in use, and could lead to short circuits, overheating and potentially lead to fires.

The repair, as instructed to BYD dealers, is to install insulation pads on the controller, and the repairs will be carried out for customer vehicles free of charge. Affected vehicle owners will be contacted by registered mail, WeChat and via phone calls.

While this recall is the largest in BYD’s history, all affected vehicles are made in China, and Malaysian units are not affected. Given that Malaysian market models are right-hand-drive, these vehicles likely use a different part from those affected in China.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• kiniha on Sep 30, 2024 at 11:44 am

BYD Burn Your Dream

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 52
    • Badrul Yisham Danial on Sep 30, 2024 at 12:27 pm

Stop day dreaming later becomes crispy jerky

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • But still better than Tesla

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 9
    • All cars have problems. Nothing is perfect

• Mudahlupa Wuhan on Sep 30, 2024 at 2:39 pm

poof! LOL

• You mean mazda but afraid that can catch engine fire too since got engine combustion issues

• Peppa on Sep 30, 2024 at 5:28 pm

Since when Mazda engine catch fire? You mean Hyundai-Kia right? IDIOT

• Meanwhile mazda sales aren’t doing well, this proves you otherwise and can see why mazda owners don’t want to take mazda car again after so many problems and talking complaints about engine issues

• Peppa on Oct 01, 2024 at 3:16 pm

Says who? The expensive CX-30 and CX-5 sales in Malaysia keep growing month after month. Even the Mazda3 beats Altis last month. Keep the lies you got there in your tiny brain. Even in the U.S, Mazda sales grew so fast. The only market that sales decline is in the Europe due to lack of hybrid offering which applies to not only Mazda. Again, you are retarded and embarassment to your bloodline

• Excepj on Oct 01, 2024 at 5:13 pm

@Peppa

You must be dreaming, wake up mazda salesman. Did you see CX5 sales and also CX30 sales aren’t picking up anymore than you claimed that CX5 sales and CX30 sales are growing?….He is telling you the truth but yet you come and denied on what he said…cause you didnt some more research anyways. Look carefully before you comment.

• Knowledge please on Oct 01, 2024 at 5:19 pm

@CA0 and @Excepj
            Don’t mind him, he still thinks that mazda is more like bmw/mercedes/audi stage

• Knowledge please on Oct 01, 2024 at 5:17 pm

But Hyundai-Kia proves you wrong where Hyundai-Kia is more popular than Mazda….open your eyes

• Ok BYD hater, I know why you happy with this news

• meladam on Sep 30, 2024 at 12:03 pm

as usuals, malaysia will close eyes till the part fall apart like the famous mini tomato

• Plain BS on Sep 30, 2024 at 2:15 pm

Msian cars still not affected! Just like Chery still refuse to do recall for axle broken issue.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
      • ClownsEverywhere on Sep 30, 2024 at 4:27 pm

Recall alrdy stupid, read news lah

• Did you read on long incidents happened for chery and also why Chery Malaysia have already solved many problems where many people face quality issues, have you? Btw, japanese cars also got recalls but yet problems unable to solve and many owners have headaches after going to aftersales many times where problems unable to solve but more problems came out

• The only BS here is your biasedness

• TinKosong on Sep 30, 2024 at 12:06 pm

EV still long away to refine

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 25
    • Mike Tee on Sep 30, 2024 at 3:33 pm

Put “recall” into this website’s search bar and read the other news.

1.5m BMW worldwide
      400k BMWs in US
      4.3m cars in Japan using Denso fuel pumps
      24,345 Totoyas, 10,978 MB in Malaysia
      1.8m Tesla (Over the air fix, not mechanical)

Most of these are ICEs that has been around for more than a century and yet not “refined” in your words.

• EV is more advanced and less problems than gasoline cars

• Better than Tesla

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
  • No matter which car brand was, there will be always problem

• But at least don’t have more fire risk for buying EV than gasoline cars

• Patriot on Sep 30, 2024 at 3:36 pm

“Malaysian cars not affected” hahaha bertuah betul agen2 ccp tempatan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 16
  • cukaboi on Sep 30, 2024 at 3:38 pm

Vehicles sold in mesia is always better build than the rest of the world or someone just keep pushing things under the rug??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • This brand, even got recall, at least BYD also helps to fix owners problems, where didn’t hear any problems. Much better than mazda where mazda also have recalls but problems can’t able to solve

• Peppa on Sep 30, 2024 at 3:44 pm

The amount of byd worshippers being delusional are seriously concerning. You all need help

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 21
    • Yeah, better than japanese car fanboys that always talking baseless facts but never owned one

• lithium on Sep 30, 2024 at 5:01 pm

Same for BYD or China cars haters… the western propaganda is strong.

China cars in Malaysia are an alternative for consumers – do not understand the hate when its a good thing for Malaysians. If it weren’t for cars like BYD, Ora or Chery – you think Tesla, Honda, Proton, Toyota etc will offer high rebates or reduce their selling price? Its a big wake up call for these car makers that sell cheaply made cars to us at high prices. If you do not like it dont buy.

• Coming out from the mouth of a racist..cheers

• So, saying the truth is being called a worshipper now? You need help with your inability to separate facts from your biasedness.

• Waiting for BYD haters to celebrate when looking at this news….sighhhhhj

• Tofu dreg on Sep 30, 2024 at 4:39 pm

Not surprised. China brand

• PoorMental on Sep 30, 2024 at 6:29 pm

Don’t feel surprised also, when either Japanese or German car burning

• Sushi QC on Sep 30, 2024 at 8:22 pm

So, Toyota recalling 3.5 V6 used in their flagship Lexus LX and Land Cruiser should be called what?

• Wee Ken Fatt & Soh Ken Wee on Sep 30, 2024 at 4:53 pm

I think you all parents should recall you because of otak tak centre and send them to the Tanjung Laichi mental hospital some where near Cibet mountain.

• Panjang on Sep 30, 2024 at 5:20 pm

Wow…people are too focus bashing brands and bringing up this and that but forget the main content of this article.
    They are fixing the issue by installing an insulator pad. Thats a fancy name for installing some sort of foam or just a double sided tape to dampen the contact.

• Good! Malaysia is always being excluded!

• Sehusi on Oct 01, 2024 at 3:55 pm

Every carmakers should set up plants and churned more cars from Malaysia since every recall will not affected Malaysian one! SG4 can take this oppurtinty fast.