Hyundai Motor Company, which also owns the Genesis and Ioniq brands, reached a major milestone on September 29, 2024 as it hit 100 million units of global cumulative production. In an official release, the company said the achievement was accomplished in just 57 years since its foundation.
The commemorate the milestone, the company held a ceremony at its production plant in Ulsan, Korea to celebrate the delivery of its 100 millionth and first vehicle, an Ioniq 5, directly to a customer. The event featured a celebratory display commemorating ‘100 million and 1’, symbolising Hyundai Motor’s commitment to pushing one step further with its past accomplishments as the foundation.
“Reaching global cumulative production of 100 million vehicles is a meaningful milestone that was possible thanks to our customers around the world who have chosen and supported Hyundai Motor since the very beginning,” said Jaehoon Chang, president and CEO of Hyundai Motor Company.
“Taking on bold challenges and being in constant pursuit of innovation has enabled us to achieve rapid growth and will empower us to take one step further toward another 100 million units as a mobility game changer,” he added.
The Ulsan plant began operations in 1968 and holds significant historical importance, with South Korea’s first mass-produced independent model, the Pony, rolling off the line in 1975. Since then, the company has expanded its global footprint with production facilities in Turkey, India, the United States and the Czech Republic, all of which contributed to the company surpassing 50 million vehicles manufactured in 2013.
Comparing Hyundai to Proton probably started to sell home made cars around the same time but 1 just flew another one well all thanks to the cronies supplier who gave sub par products and charge at inflated prices to destroy the brand up till today.
Should Proton rebadge Hyundai instead?
Inb4 idiots claimed Hyundai & Proton are same age but bashing proton for not being as success. Hello! Hyundai cars is as old as Malaysia itself! If you want to bash oso plis get your facts RIGHT!!
okok, time to take your meds don’t need to get so angry.
so when proton reaches 57 years old it will be world number 3 ya?
queue the comments drawing comparisons with Proton
it’s really impressive how far Hyundai has come in such a short period of time – although Malaysians still having a strong love relationship with Japanese brands, Hyundai is actually remarkably popular in the US, Europe, and even closer to home – Singapore.
benchmark Hyundai Motor Group with Proton (they’re about the same age) and it’s a shame where our local counterpart sits in the grand scheme of auto makers.
yep, Hyundai is now the 3rd largest automotive group in the US – overtook Ford on their own turf
This is those idiots. Big header says 57 years. Manada Proton is 57 years old!
okay proton fanboy…when proton reaches 57 years old do you think it’ll be the world’s 3rd largest?
i highly doubt Proton will be a world top 10 automotive group by 57 years old…don’t even mention top 3
“about the same age” is relative i suppose…in a total scheme of automotive brands several that are plus minus a century old; so brands within a decade-ish gap are kind of same “age/era” i would think.
Hyundai – Tech moving too fast until price unreachable in Malaysia.
Proton – Tech not moving forward some even backward but price still relative cheap in Malaysia.
it doesn’t take a genius to tell that whatever is cheapest sells the most.
like it or not, the ugly truth is that majority are broke and national, chinese, japanese cars are what most of us can afford…even jap cars are trying to price-up these days hence you’re starting to see a growing number of chinese cars on the road.
it’s all down to price and like it or not, the truth is you don’t hate on what you can afford so you learn to like it and bash the things you can’t – it’s simply natural human behaviour.
brands like Mazda / Hyundai make great cars – they’re just too expensive for most Malaysians’ wallets. in places with stronger currencies, the price difference becomes more marginal which makes it easier to trade-up without feeling too big a pinch.
Hyundai should re-structure @ Malaysia,
can sell more?