BYD Malaysia confirms local cars not affected by power steering recall – no fire risk in Malaysia

Subsequent to the recent power steering system recall in China, BYD Malaysia has confirmed that none of its cars are affected by the issue that caused the fire risk. The company said the rectification measure, which involves 96,714 units of the Dolphin and Yuan Plus (also known as the Atto 3), is limited to the Chinese domestic market and does not pertain to internationally-sold vehicles.

The recall is centred around defects in the production of the electric power steering column assembly controller, according to a Car News China report. On Chinese-market models, the capacitors on the controller’s circuit board may come with micro-cracks caused by closing the equipment tool cover.

Chinese-market BYD Dolphin

The said cracks may grow when the vehicle is in use, leading to short circuits, overheating and potential fires. Repairs made as part of the recall involve the installation of insulation pads on the controller.

Again, this issue only affects vehicles sold in China, and Malaysian-market models are not affected. Our cars likely use different components on account of them being right-hand drive.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Krishnan on Oct 01, 2024 at 8:21 pm

Boleh land

• Good

• Yup more safer than Tesla

• Abang on Oct 01, 2024 at 10:02 pm

BYD the best!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • Bat meat soup on Oct 01, 2024 at 10:04 pm

This trash belongs in its home country. Only they celebrate junk, S Darby cry lah u

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 18
  • Benyamin Yisrael Dawid on Oct 01, 2024 at 10:10 pm

Everything good until one goes BOOM!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
  • Patriot on Oct 01, 2024 at 10:13 pm

Haha kete mission impossible, lepas jalan dah bole self destruct

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • Super on Oct 01, 2024 at 10:14 pm

Better than the one of the brand with caught many times under scandal and also lots of recalls

• Aside thiss….when assemble BYD cars?

• ROTI CANAI on Oct 01, 2024 at 10:46 pm

saim dabi kantoi

• Crock on Oct 01, 2024 at 10:59 pm

Great. Time to buy BYD

• Bagus la BYD Malaysia

• Bob Mal on Oct 02, 2024 at 8:16 am

Seriously Malaysia must be the most special country that there is no recall as announced by major countries while our recall comes 10 years later or more just like those Takada airbag to replace after recent announcements by some manufacturer

• Shape on Oct 02, 2024 at 9:42 am

Bravo

• Eclipse on Oct 02, 2024 at 9:45 am

Yeah, should be no worries and very safe

• Peppa on Oct 02, 2024 at 12:40 pm

Idc. F you byd and sime darby motor too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • Mike Tee on Oct 03, 2024 at 12:38 pm

You are BYD, new brand in a country (small market but still you are new to it). Your cars are susceptible to fire risk, do you hide it or do you recall?

What is more likely? Our batch is not affected, or BYD MY just sat in a meeting and went “Ah, nvm lah, let them burn”?

You hate everything China and is bigoted, we get it. Don’t let it show lah.