BYD Seal, Tesla Model 3 already outselling BMW 3 Series, Mercedes-Benz C-Class in Malaysia

The compact exec duo that are the BMW 3 Series and Mercedes-Benz C-Class have been the staple first ‘I’ve made it’ rung for as long as we can remember, but are things changing? According to JPJ data, more BYD Seals and Tesla Model 3s have been registered in Malaysia compared to the German pair as of January-August 2024.

There are quite a few ways to look at the data – ICE and EV, Europe versus non-Europe, old guard against young charge. And that’s before we even consider the fierce rivalries between themselves (BYD and Tesla, and BMW and Mercedes-Benz).

As of the first eight months of 2024, 2,267 BYD Seals and 1,978 Tesla Model 3s have been registered, against 1,953 BMW 3 Series and 1,684 Mercedes-Benz C-Classes. This brings the score to 4,245 for BYD-Tesla and 3,637 for BMW-Mercedes – a delta of just over 600 units.

BYD Seal, Tesla Model 3 already outselling BMW 3 Series, Mercedes-Benz C-Class in Malaysia

When exactly did the tables turn? Analysing the data cumulatively, instead of monthly, reveals that the Model 3 dominated the first quarter with 768 units from Jan-Mar. But because only 94 units were registered in April (due to wait-and-see for the Performance variant?), it fell behind the C-Class, which had accumulated 953 units year-to-date by that month, although the Mercedes’ monthly sales were much less from here on.

Because the BYD Seal was only launched in February, cumulatively it was at the back of the quartet – but not for long at all. The tipping point was May, when the Seal hit an impressive 581 units – the highest monthly number in the table – allowing it to jump from last place in this comparison to first place cumulatively at 1,421 units.

The Tesla was running second at 1,178 units, the BMW third at 1,142 units and the Mercedes fourth at 1,138 units, year-to-date May – yes, at this point Team EV overtook Team ICE, and the rebound has yet to happen.

The Seal continued to hang on to its crown despite the 3 Series outselling it in June (481 versus 343 units), which actually brought the BMW’s cumulative placing up to second (1,623 units versus the Seal’s 1,764 units).

In July, the Seal broke through the 2,000-unit cumulative mark; the 3 Series was not far behind with nearly 1,800 units because of its strong showing the month before. August saw the Model 3 climb back up to second with 379 units registered within the month, ahead of the Seal’s 205 units. Cumulatively, the Model 3 is now neck-and-neck with the 3 Series.

With a few months left to go before we close the book on 2024, who do you think will come out on top?

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Woot Woot on Oct 07, 2024 at 4:44 pm

Time to do this 4-way shootout!

• BYD will lead all the way through 2024

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 9
  • That’s because ICE cars, are heavily taxed. So it’s not a level playing field. That’s the same world wide. EV’s are even given subsidies previously just to get people to buy it on top of that, ICE cars are penalised with carbon emissions while EV msnufacturers can sell their carbon credits and make billions just doing this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • We will see once the “zero roadtax for EV” policy is over

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
      • Sohai on Oct 08, 2024 at 2:48 pm

We will see once the petrol subsidy is removed.

• Sedaghe sedaghe, hari ni saya menang…. esok harga minyak turun….

Saya ulanggg….

• Triland on Oct 08, 2024 at 3:50 pm

It won’t be like this, since EV is actually one of future car than ICE anyways.

• Mike Tee on Oct 08, 2024 at 11:50 am

The BYD Seal starts from ¥180,000 (RM109k) in China and the C-Class starts from ¥307,000 (RM186k)

Even with the same tax structure it will still be significantly (40%) cheaper than the C-Class. Given that the C Class is selling for around RM300k, we extrapolate that the Seal is RM180,000 with ICE taxes slapped on

• Sedaghe sedaghe, hari ni saya menang… esok harga kereta turun….

Saya ulanggg…..

• Tommy Hng on Oct 07, 2024 at 8:35 pm

Bring in BYD Seagull and it will out sell every vehicle due to its affordability, specification and performance. Not bringing in due to hidden hands of power and interest? Hmmm…. mmm….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
  • But BYD and Tesla aren’t positioned as premium products, as evidenced by the extreme cost-cutting especially in the Tesla. BMW and Merc are still the ‘I’ve made it’ cars to most people, but there’s no denying the BYD and Tesla’s value proposition. I think most pragmatic people would opt for the EVs to take advantage of the tax cut.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
    • ROTI CANAI on Oct 10, 2024 at 8:57 am

to be honest. you think you made it but if you drive your c200 to a valet parking at bangsar shopping centre you will be ignored

• EV Car Mafia on Oct 07, 2024 at 8:47 pm

I am yet to see much of the BYD in KL roads. Tesla is much more noticed though. However, in Johor, I have seen plenty of SG-registered EVs. Do the SG EV cars enjoy the same charging rates as the locals?

• BYD Seal…yes there is not only in KL where can see seal as many but mostly in selangor roads but many too, so far

• Ahmadfuad62 on Oct 07, 2024 at 9:37 pm

How can you compare cars below 250K with above 300K cars?….definitely cheaper cars has more sales volume lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • ROTI CANAI on Oct 07, 2024 at 11:24 pm

People who buy 3 series and c class nowadays are pure badge snobs. Those cars literally have no advantage whatsoever. Even if the prices are equal…. the seal or model 3 are superior to those unreliable German yahudi sausages

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 19
  • Bajib on Oct 07, 2024 at 11:32 pm

Bmw merc…keep skin lah

• after testing the byd seal i am not suprised..what thinking the same thing gonna happen

• Tahniah!!!!

• If not comparing the same price range and just comparing by volume, why not compare straight with perodua bezza or myvi?
    Tesla Model 3 – From 181k
    BYD Seal – From 179K
    C Class – From 288K
    3 Series – From 283K
    You are comparing karipap with apples here. EVs are also heavily subsidized from manufacturing stage all the way to the showroom floor.
    Honda CRV (From 169K) from the month of June 2024 itself is 1070 units.
    Honda civic (From 132K) same segment sells 970 units in June.
    Why not compare with Ford Model T, 13 cars registered since 2000.
    Paultan’s journalism credential is seriously down the drain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 12
    • dsdsdsd on Oct 08, 2024 at 10:09 pm

yes they keep favouring chinese made cars

• People is comparing sedan with the same size. Comparing same price will limit your comparison. Learn to think before put your long story!

• ROTI CANAI on Oct 10, 2024 at 8:52 am

lol salty bmw salesgirl losing her fat commissions?

• HBO-Gone on Oct 11, 2024 at 1:44 pm

Majority where got buy new Merc or BMW. They will buy recond units for cheap and send tho their “conti specialist” to fix up.

• TempeKeras on Oct 13, 2024 at 4:47 pm

Ikan bakar