This just in – during a Handal Ceria production facility tour in Cyberjaya today, it was revealed that there will be a new small-font version of the JPJePlate (currently EV-only but will be extended to all cars in the future) that holds up to 13 characters (letters + numbers).
The current JPJePlate (normal-sized font) will be used for registrations up to eight characters only. That means number plates of 9-13 characters long will use the new small-font version (think CHANCELLOR, XXVIASEAN, PUTRAJAYA and MALAYSIA special series).
According to our sources, JPJ has agreed that future special number plates will not exceed 13 characters in total, and there are currently no plans to produce JDM-style square number plates.
So we suppose MADANI 11 (8 characters) will use the normal-sized font while MADANI 111 (9 characters) will use the small-font version?
Came across the new EV plate the other night and my HD dashcam could not capture the registration number on it. The white background is too reflective
That means we can fly thru AES speed cams at nite?
Speed camera has anti-glare lens and captures in inverted monochrome format almost similar to negative film.
Nope. The new AWAS camera is so good with 4K high resolution that it can show the fine and small paint scratches on my car.
So I’m “happily” paid RM300…
THIS. Guess I’m not the only one that noticed how glaring it is.
nice,
maybe the white background should change to full chrome
the purpose of the dashcam doesnt need to be able to identify the car plate, it is police’s job.
And how does a police able to identify the car plate? By the dascam lah. It’s the same as the function of CCTV. To identify the face of the criminal. If it just a figure, how the hell the police will identify them?
ASAP dump the cheapo HD dashcam, procure a better QHD or higher wif F/1.6 WDR HDR 60fps dashcam
Is RFID tag. No need to “see” the plate to know the number .
Up!
no square plate?
Wish to have the USA designed square plate with fancy fonts and personalized alphanumerical.
Jangan sampai nanti the paint will wear off.
So much tech also no point.
The ministry in-charge of this department loves to make something insignificant, significant.
Kapcai macam mana?
Micro fonts or what?
Aesthetically white color plate is not nice. It doesn’t blend into the car design well, instead it sticks out like a misplaced puzzle piece. Black plate is always more harmony to most car design.
europe looks at you in confusion