Proton, through its Pro-Net EV division, recently opened the order books for the eMas 7 (stylised as e.MAS 7), which is estimated to start from RM120,000. Expected to be launched sometime in December (likely coinciding with KLIMS 2024), the brand’s first EV will be offered in two variants called the Prime and Premium.
If you’re not sure which one to get, we’re here to help. In this post, we’re comparing both variants so you know what you’re getting with each. Before getting into the difference, let’s first focus on what is the same for all versions of the eMas 7 that are set to go on sale.
First up, both variants share the same electric motor at the front that is rated at 218 PS (215 hp or 160 kW) and 320 Nm of torque. This is good for a 0-100 km/h time of 6.9 seconds and a top speed of 175 km/h.
As for equipment, the eMas 7 comes standard with automatic LED headlamps, active high beam control, pop-out door handles, roof rails, rain-sensing wipers, powered side mirrors (with heating function), a 10.2-inch digital instrument cluster, 15.4-inch touchscreen infotainment system and a multi-function steering wheel.
The list continues with leatherette upholstery, a six-way powered driver’s seat, keyless entry and start, walk away auto lock, a wireless phone charging pad as well as single-zone climate control with N95 filter and rear vents.
On the safety and driver assistance front, there are six airbags (front, side, curtain), brake auto hold, a 360-degree camera, rear reverse sensors, adaptive cruise control, forward collision warning with automatic emergency braking, lane keeping assist, rear collision warning, rear cross traffic alert with automatic braking, lane change assist, a blind spot monitor, door open warning and traffic sign recognition.
The available colours are Platinum Silver, Turquoise Green, Slate Grey, Quartz Rose and Lithium White – check out Theophilus Chin’s renderings of the eMas 7’s colours above. The interior only comes in Indigo Blue, which appears very much like black if you’ve seen the car in-person at the recent Auto Car Expo (ACE) – the Premium variant was showcased to the public then.
In terms of differences, the Prime variant of the eMas 7 uses Geely’s Aegis short blade lithium iron phosphate (LFP) battery with an energy capacity of 49.52 kWh for a WLTP-rated range of 345 km (410 km NEDC). The Premium’s battery has a higher capacity of 60.22 kWh, which bumps the range to 410 km if following the WLTP standard (470 km NEDC).
Both variants support AC charging at a max capacity of 11 kW, with the Prime needing 4.9 hours to get from a 30-80% state of charge (SoC), while the Premium needs 6.1 hours. The range-topper can handle a higher DC input of 100 kW compared to the Prime that manages 80 kW, but both are quoted as being able to get from the same 30-80% in 20 minutes with fast charging. A vehicle-to-load function is standard across the board.
Moving on to equipment, the Prime comes with 225/55 Giti tyres paired with 18-inch wheels, with the Premium sporting larger 19-inch units and 235/50 Goodyear rubbers. Other bits of kit exclusive to the Premium include a panoramic sunroof, a powered tailgate, a front active grille shutter and an auto-dimming rear-view mirror.
Additional features that the Premium get are a windshield-projected head-up display, a memory function for the front driver’s seat, a four-way powered front passenger seat, ventilation function for the front seats, 256-colour ambient lighting, a 16-speaker sound system instead of the Prime’s six-speaker setup as well as front parking sensors.
Money on the table, which variant of the Proton eMas 7 would you go for? How much do you expect the two variants of the EV to be priced at when it is launched later this year? Share your views in the comments below.
GALLERY: Proton eMas 7 at ACE 2024
GALLERY: Proton eMas 7 interior preview
GALLERY: Proton eMas 7’s colours
AD: Drive the Proton model of your dreams. Submit your details and Proton PJ will get in touch with you.
Saw this at the ACE, visually it’s quite a nice car with all the features needed. But personally more interested in the PHEV variant, hope that Proton can bring it in soon.
Me too interested with the eMAS PHEV version, equip with THor PHEV system. Look promising, pure EV range of 100 to 15okm and combine range can acheive 1300km range with DC fast charge.
Some of the cars used in the showroom previews has the cream interior which is confusing. I hope Proton will offer more interior colour options at launch instead of the all-black interior.
Ya would like to hv the White interior. Indigo Blue look horrendous
Biasa lah… Rebadged from whatever sample it was shipped to us.
80-100kw dc charging speed is a problem
Is ok, drive your Seal with your 2cm
yes i enjoy my anjing laut a lot. please enjoy your rapidkl
Starting price between 100k and 115k would be tempting.
Suggestive price from 120k is a put off.
Protong is killing its X90 suv with this kind of price range.I wont be surprised, X90 cant even sell 50 units monthly by the 400 odd dealership.
Most of the bookings already gone to BYD due to the attractively priced MPV M6.
Dolphin already starts at 100k…and Zafrul very proud say perodua EV is below 100k (not like below 90 or below 70).but below 100k. so this car how can start with 100k. ask for cheap also must understand what you are getting…all the spec no need money to buy ar. give u 100k, u want 80k.. just go try your luck at lucky draw station la..suits u
PT team, do you guys know what’s the function of the “front active grille shutter” and why it’s only for the top spec?
I assume it’s for battery cooling, so is the lower spec car just always open? or is sealed and does not need the extra cooling?
what malaysia needs now is PHEV or EREV that has a range of 1000 km – good fuel consumption + no range anxiety …
but PHEV and EREV don’t get tax exemption like EV does
How about u build yourself, genius.
Aiyoo, old tech already. Proton, please rebadge Zeekr
Then you just go and buy Zeekr lah.. why you want to kacau proton? Just because you can’t afford Zeekr and you ask Proton to build a Zeekr for you? It is more like your wallet problem than Proton’s problem..
If you want a Rolex, just buy a Rolex.. Don’t ask Casio to rebadge a Rolex for you because you can’t afford it..
The RM120 was presented as “Estimated Price” but not “Starting From”. 120k should be the price for Premium since the top-trimmed Galaxy E5 costs only 157000 yuan (RM96k) in China. https://carnewschina.com/2024/07/27/sunday-china-drive-geely-galaxy-e5-byd-atto-3s-game-changing-rival/
I can’t understand how this almost doubled in price compared to the original car in China. I thought there’s a tax exemption on CBU EVs until 2026?
Gov set 100k minimum price, to force CBU EV makers to earn more. Although its proton, it’s not make in Malaysia yet. Once made in Malaysia, they cut specs and made it just slightly below 100k. Cos Malaysia every parts also expensive.
Make you left and right also don’t feel like choosing.
120k? lol, as i have guessed it earlier. Too expensive for the range. I’d prefer hybrid, no range anxiety. Let’s see how much Nissan Kick e-Power will be. If price 70-75k range, can consider for such car segment/size.
70k. Lol. We are spending RM, my friend.
China Geely E5 price RM70K , now here 120K I think too high profit ,since this model China Geely during design time already consider right hand size same time develop , why Proton sale too high price ? RM100K to RM110 is acceptable .
Range is very poor at this price? proton you must be kidding
120K is expensive for CBU unit. As CKD unit in later later launched in 2025 price may drop sharply
Money on the table?
Only if the Premium version is priced at the suggested 120K price
Why the price is significantly higher compared to Thailand and China? Źeekr,MG and Tesla models prices are similar across the markets.
We don’t need 19 inch wheels for the top variant. We need range and not adding more weight onto the wheels.. 18 inch is good enough.
19 inch tires are freaking expensive and they are more suited for premium brands, not mass market segment..
Unless this e.Mas is not meant to be affordable for the masses…
Range and charging time is the major issue here.
Expected better real time mileage.
Those heavy footed + travelling long distance will be getting an even less than 300km beware.