PM Anwar on why harga minyak tak turun – promise made when S. Arabia petrol was 50 sen; now RM2.62

PM Anwar on why <em>harga minyak tak turun</em> – promise made when S. Arabia petrol was 50 sen; now RM2.62

At today’s Dewan Rakyat sitting, prime minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim touched upon the topic of fuel prices while responding to questions posed by Khoo Poay Tiong (PH-Kota Melaka) regarding the definition of T15 in relation to the planned targeted subsidies for RON 95 petrol as well as the mechanism that will be used for the 2% dividend tax rate.

Responding to calls from some parties to lower fuel prices, which was something he once proposed when he was in the opposition, Anwar highlighted in the past that neighbouring countries had higher fuel prices compared to Malaysia, even if some produced oil such as Indonesia.

“Sometimes, when [ministers’] speeches are made, it is left out that I always compare with Saudi Arabia. That is erased. So, there is no sincerity in debating but only playing political charades because Saudi’s petrol price is RM2.62 (per litre) [today] and when we proposed the fuel reduction back then, the price in Saudi was 50 cents (per litre). Why is this not mentioned today?” Anwar said.

“If oil prices drop sharply, it means that the people’s projects have to be reduced. So, we have a choice here, that’s why we will increase [the price of RON 95] according to the market price for foreigners, non-citizens and also T15,” he added.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard's strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Ben Yap on Oct 29, 2024 at 2:32 pm

“there is no sincerity in debating but only playing political charades because Saudi’s petrol price is RM2.62 (per litre) [today] and when we proposed the fuel reduction back then, the price in Saudi was 50 cents (per litre). Why is this not mentioned today?” Saudi Arabia average salary is SAR 10,000 which is RM 11,600 while Malaysia’s average salary is RM 6,600. Why didn’t PMX mention this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 13
    • pengomel on Oct 29, 2024 at 3:46 pm

ok so what are you trying to say? the higher salary, so the higher fuel price? so if saudi salary 11600 = 2.62, so malaysia salary 6600 = 1.49? first thing first, how it can be comparable? so the country with low salary can get low fuel price too?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 83
      • Ben Yap on Oct 29, 2024 at 4:59 pm

It is all about the Malaysians buying power.

• watmau on Oct 29, 2024 at 4:59 pm

its basically purchasing power which boils down to cost of living, which our ratios have gone (pay more get less). there you go i have simplified it and spoonfed to you.

• Dah Menang Semua on Oct 30, 2024 at 2:07 pm

Pee-N bisa minyak RM1.5
        Yakin sokong PRU 2027

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
        • anti walaun on Oct 30, 2024 at 8:50 pm

minyak 1.50.. bila kluar jalan besar kena hambat dengan polis suruh balik.. bodo punya comparison time covid

• If you make 6600 you will receive subsidy regardless, so what’s your point? Subsidies cripple a country and economy, we need to live a life in reality not subsidies.

• YB KInte Kunte on Oct 29, 2024 at 7:43 pm

Folks..let me enlighten u why Saudi petrol is RM2.60 now as claimed by PMX.
      After the Saddam Hussein war ended,Saudi has to spend huge sums amounting to Billions of USD to buy arms from USA for security.USA say pangsai,Saudi only can shit.
      So with so much money going to taikor USA as protection money,u expect petrol at 50sen now? Surely,Saudi prince knows his maths..he cant give his rakyat 50 sen petrol.
      So,thats where the RM2.60 came about.
      But here,do we have war with our neighbours? Our defence budget is paltry compared to Spore.
      So ahwahkor is using this Rm2.60 to debate …you folks faham? You cant use Saudi as example. If USA didnt knock out Saddam,Saudi Arabia is a province of Iraq now.
      Folks,watch the ex UN president Mr Mabhubani(Singaporean)speeches in you tube.Then u wont be so easily swayed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • HOW BOUT BRIM ETC AND WHATEVER BANTUAN? SAUDIS DOESN’T HAVE THAT. WHEN THE CRIPPLE ONES SAY PANGSAI, GOVERNMENT ONLY CAN SHIT….

• So what he is concluding that he would have definately reduced the fuel price back then but it’s not possible at present.
    Right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • RM1.50/L petrol mana? on Oct 30, 2024 at 8:57 am

Rakyat asking: Where is the today win tomorrow price down?

• PMX - Penipu Meleisia Ke-10 on Oct 29, 2024 at 4:40 pm

Sedaghe sedaghe
    Hari ni saya menang
    Besok harga minyak turun
    Saya ulanggg….

• Peter on Oct 29, 2024 at 5:06 pm

Goreng Goreng

• Sohai on Oct 29, 2024 at 5:08 pm

I dont understand the rational. Why are we comparing it with Saudi petrol price again?
    During GE15, the Crude oil price was around USD70 per barrel. It is also around the same price now…. That’s a better comparison don’t you think? Because that’s closer to the basis of subsidy required.
    Cheap fuel price is part of the manifesto of this gomen. So naturally, when it is voted in office, the rakyat rightly expects it to happen.
    No sincerity when debating this subject? please look in the mirror…

• Madani 8481 on Oct 29, 2024 at 5:16 pm

Maknanya hari ini saya blh berkempen spt sembang 8481 pun blh terbang…

• Sudah tentulah PBT on Nov 05, 2024 at 7:39 pm

Ya benar tu tuan. Sungguh teliti pemerhatian tuan. Cuma sy hrpkan agar cukup2 la 8481 yg sedia ada ni…

• We let him cook too much. Now oledy burnt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • Its already burnt when he took over. He stopped the country from becoming charcoal. But the thing is rakyat only care about short term benefits like lower fuel prices, so the perception is life has gotten more difficult.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • Sinful Anwar = Sinwar on Oct 30, 2024 at 4:35 am

Notice the similarities?

• YB Albert on Oct 30, 2024 at 9:14 pm

Similarities ? Sir,you must be kidding.
      But anyway,I just had a dream…by May next year,this ron 95 subsidy thing remains.Rafixi will shut his big mouth.
      Israel and Iran ..the tit for tat has been non stop like the Ukraine war,oil price has spiked to above 100 USD a barrel..at Rm4.50/5.00 /litre…which PM wants to go downhill b4 GE16?
      Petronas will get a bumper harvest,so dont worry.
      U turns in politics is biasa in Bolehland.

• ahmad on Oct 30, 2024 at 6:57 am

buka mulut je mohong. Dia ni ckp tak guna otak. Dia umum dulu baru kaji

• Robinhood on Oct 30, 2024 at 9:21 am

How about in year 2022 when you mention the same thing in your own party assembly? Kenapa minyak tak turun? “Tak turun sebab I tak jadi PM” Don’t spin lah. Anyway come out with a fair system and your stupid criteria of fuel subsidy distribution based on income is not pragmatic. Do you know there are millions of people who have no proper or fake income records? A billionaire son can also be a B40!!! Can you access their bank accounts data or not??? Do you there are so many loopholes in your diesel subsidy rationalization plan??? Are the data you collected verifiable and really true!!!Talk to the bankers and you will understand. Turun padang and don’t be lazy!!! Otherwise, guarantee you kerajaan satu penggal!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • Bila org lain jadi pm, dia cakap semua boleh turun harga. Dia hebat, bila sendiri jadi pm, dua brg saja tak boleh.
    INI tak boleh, ITU pun tak boleh!

• mr1031 on Oct 30, 2024 at 2:29 pm

mengaku ajela bang non..tak payah spin

• pmx crazy on Oct 30, 2024 at 5:00 pm

hello pmx

• Janji dicapati on Oct 30, 2024 at 5:26 pm

Full of excuses

• So now all politician also can tokok and when menang can give the same alasan right?

May those that tokok dilaknat tuhan as they always said. Amen to that.