PM Anwar on why harga minyak tak turun – promise made when S. Arabia petrol was 50 sen; now RM2.62

At today’s Dewan Rakyat sitting, prime minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim touched upon the topic of fuel prices while responding to questions posed by Khoo Poay Tiong (PH-Kota Melaka) regarding the definition of T15 in relation to the planned targeted subsidies for RON 95 petrol as well as the mechanism that will be used for the 2% dividend tax rate.

Responding to calls from some parties to lower fuel prices, which was something he once proposed when he was in the opposition, Anwar highlighted in the past that neighbouring countries had higher fuel prices compared to Malaysia, even if some produced oil such as Indonesia.

“Sometimes, when [ministers’] speeches are made, it is left out that I always compare with Saudi Arabia. That is erased. So, there is no sincerity in debating but only playing political charades because Saudi’s petrol price is RM2.62 (per litre) [today] and when we proposed the fuel reduction back then, the price in Saudi was 50 cents (per litre). Why is this not mentioned today?” Anwar said.

“If oil prices drop sharply, it means that the people’s projects have to be reduced. So, we have a choice here, that’s why we will increase [the price of RON 95] according to the market price for foreigners, non-citizens and also T15,” he added.