We’re less than a month away from the 2024 Kuala Lumpur International Mobility Show (KLIMS), which will be happening from December 5-11 at the Malaysia International Trade and Exhibition Centre (MITEC), located in the Dutamas area of KL. Show organiser Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) held a media briefing session today, and we have plenty to share with you.
The last time we had a KLIMS was six years ago, and that 2018 show came half a decade after the 2013 edition – seeing how ‘limited edition’ MAA’s flagship motor show is, you shouldn’t miss KLIMS 2024.
Following the trend of international car shows switching from ‘motor’ to ‘mobility’, KLIMS 2024’s theme of ‘Beyond Mobility’ is said to emphasise sustainability, electrification and autonomous driving. There are close to 70 exhibitors, and they will cover nearly 30,000 sqm of MITEC’s floor space over two levels. MAA is targeting at least 250,000 visitors, which would surpass 2018 figures.
“KLIMS 2024 serves as a crucial platform for the automotive industry to showcase its latest advancements, providing insight into transformative trends such as EVs and eco-friendly mobility solutions. With the Malaysian government’s ongoing commitment to sustainable and innovative mobility solutions, including incentives for EV adoption and policies supporting green technology, we see an exciting trajectory for our automotive sector,” said MAA president Mohd Shamsor Bin Mohd Zain.
“As we enter this new era, KLIMS 2024 will highlight innovations across the industry, encouraging stakeholders, from manufacturers to consumers, to embrace technologies that drive environmental responsibility and efficiency. We are thrilled to celebrate this 10th edition of KLIMS, which underscores Malaysia’s potential as a regional leader in the future of mobility,” he added.
OK, so what can we look forward to? The list of participating car brands include Perodua, Proton, Toyota, Honda, Mitsubishi, Nissan, Mazda, Kia, GWM, MG, Xpeng and Aion. Modenas and Kawasaki will also bring their two-wheelers. There will be new model launches from Perodua, Nissan, Toyota, GWM, Kia, MG and Mazda, among others. MAA head Shamsor said that this list is 90-95% final and there are ‘one or two brands’ that will confirm their participation in the coming days.
As before, there’s a lucky draw, and ticket holders stand a chance to win a Toyota Yaris 1.5G Limited and a Perodua Axia X. Grand and first prizes aside, the lucky draw prize list includes a 10-day smart #1 test drive by Avis, rideable scooter luggage, electric scooter, mystery gifts by Ferrari, 70mai dashcams and special edition KLIMS 2024 Touch n Go cards, among other goodies. The total value of all the lucky draw prizes is RM250k.
Prizes aside, there will be a race simulator contest, a social media photography contest, seminar and pocket talks, and car club gatherings. Also lined up is a die-cast car showcase and a special display of four Ferrari F1 cars, from Michael Schumacher’s race car to Charles Leclerc’s single-seat office.
Tickets are priced at RM20 for weekdays and RM25 for Friday, Saturday and Sunday (including December 11, which is a public holiday for Selangor). Teens aged 13-17 and college/university students (with valid student ID) pay only RM10, while entry is free for kids aged 12 and below. The show hours are 10am to 8pm on weekdays and 10am to 10pm on weekends and December 11.
As for transportation, MITEC isn’t near a train station, but there are free bus rides to the convention centre from Sunway Putra Mall and Pasar Seni, and the frequency is every 30 minutes, depending on traffic conditions. For those who are driving there, once you’ve parked, there are van pickups from the Matrade open car park and the National Hockey Stadium to MITEC.
Also, car rental firm AVIS will have a fleet of 20 cars offering free rides from those two locations, plus The Met outdoor parking, Publika, KL Sentral and PWTC. Finally, there will be special promo codes from e-hailing partner MyRide.
Once again, KLIMS 2024 will be at MITEC from December 5-11, so come and check out the latest models and concept cars, and while doing so, put yourself in the running to drive away a Toyota Yaris 1.5G Limited or a Perodua Axia. Tickets can be bought online at the KLIMS 2024 official website – see you there!
Last time people look forward to go KLIMS. Cars display ok-ok and chicks not bad. Now, the show flooded with funny branded cars and the chicks, all covered like ketupat.
Bet me the Kia one we will see the pre-refresh Sportage on the their booth stand instead the new refresh one launched in Korea. What a lame Bermazs**t.
If the good side maybe we will see the EV3 or facelifted Carnival or Sorento.
Car launches in Bolehland are often underwhelming, yet almost every automotive website and YouTuber just retell the same tech specs provided by the brands, or elaborate on them a little more, claiming every new model is the “best,” regardless of the brand.
Influencers and paid promoters are simply regurgitating marketing content, and it’s all about views and ad revenue. Despite this, we still get caught up in their hype, twisting our own perceptions based on what they say.
Meanwhile, netizens engage in endless online arguments, attacking each other over petty differences. It’s just a lot of senseless noise.
Last minute to fulfil kpi I think!
Such a shame MAA!
Nobody buying these cars anymore so Toyota/P2 giving out like candies. Sad.
People not attracted if give middle kingdom cars.
for a motor show, it doesn’t seem like there are a lot of brands that will be present.