E-hailing driver charging up to RM30 extra for air-con

You may have seen the photo above circulating on social media, purportedly showing the inside of an e-hailing vehicle where a cardboard sign on the roof asks passengers to pay between RM20 and RM30 extra for air-con depending on the blower speed.

The cardboard sign adds that ‘basic air-con’ is provided in front – surely that can’t mean the pair of electric fans hanging from the front passenger sun visor?

Needless to say, netizens are having a field day lambasting the issue, with some saying air-con is rightfully part of the service and others asking the e-hailing company to investigate and/or fire the driver in question.

Some humour in there too – one user suggested passengers charge drivers for star ratings, while another asked: “What’s next, a fee for seatbelts?” One comment make me chuckle – you can buy a fan on Shopee for less than RM30, use it in this car and ask for cashback!

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Ah loke Goh, do somethinglah. on Nov 20, 2024 at 10:47 am

y he wanna do that? Bcoz of:
    1. crazy low fare he rcvd after 20% deduction.
    2. force Auto Accept low fare rm4-5-6, even u r driving a 6 seater.
    3. Force Auto Accept even it is super jam or heavy rain with crazy low fare!!
    4. Got suspended if cancel unacceptable , illogical fare.
    5. less than rm1 per km or per min drive.
    6. Accept low fare job but need to wait diva diva take their sweet time to arrive.

anymore may add below!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 23
    • Sohai on Nov 20, 2024 at 9:08 pm

Is the rule of the game. You can’t create your own rules. But you can choose not to play and find something else to do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
    • Why So Serious on Nov 21, 2024 at 9:05 am

This must be from Air Asia Rides. The driver is just following Tony Fernandes business model. That person is lucky the driver did not charge extra to store luggage in boot or else must bring inside as carry on (and there is chargeable weight restrictions on top that).

• For those never drive grab before , stoo comment . Cause u never know how hard the driver earn money through grab. Do u all know grab taking 20% from driver while driver have 5o paid for the petrol and tyre and maintanance of the car. If u all blame the driver and felt u are clever , come and try drive grab for 1 month.

• Anonymous on Nov 20, 2024 at 11:40 am

The thing is, the faster the blower fan the more efficient the aircon becomes. If it was a climate control his compressor would work less (the cabin reaches set temperature quicker). If it was a manual AC then the compressor’s cycle is fixed. At max speed a typical blower is only about 0.5-0.8 hp. So he’s charging more for less.

• Boomer era taxi on Nov 20, 2024 at 1:00 pm

Try driving under heavy rains or thunderstorm with air-conditioning switch OFF. Misting on front windscreen and all doors’ window. You could only demisters your rear windscreen…..

• Ben Yap on Nov 20, 2024 at 3:19 pm

this is akin to airasia… he must be tony’s best friend.

• Y ah? on Nov 20, 2024 at 10:50 pm

i think it is not only AA, many budget airline (or not) also charge for other things like seat selection, checkin luggage or extra weight, wifi access, etc..but y nobody complain & action taken??

• Why So Serious on Nov 21, 2024 at 9:06 am

Tony is also into ride hailing now. Go figure where this taxi is from.

• A con scam on Nov 21, 2024 at 9:36 am

Grab should subsidies center with aircond services machine for grabdriver with a affordable charges. Problem nowadays bengkel aircond charging rm60 top up maybe only 60% gas purposely made u come back after 1 week then claimed your cooling coil or condenser leaking charging u thousand plus to repair.

• Lanciaoowwwawawa on Nov 21, 2024 at 10:09 am

if grab and others taxi doesn’t exist we just don’t care.if you hate do your job just quit.

• Just u only!! on Nov 21, 2024 at 11:21 pm

u dont care doesnt mean majority wont. ehailing exist bcoz of demand. Imagine, if everyone drive their own car, how jam will it be? Parking full, double or triple parking everywhere. Frankly speaking, most ehailing driver want reasonable fare to compensate their effort, not asking exorbitant fare. Pay peanuts get peanuts. Just look at budget airline, many rather pay more for standard airline why? Even SIA is profitable than those budget airlines. U pay extra u get extra..thats the reality. Ppl willing to pay more for better service in every industries. The problem is Gr comm is 20% which is indirectly affect the fare and profit for the drivers. Just reduce it to 10%, so every1 will benefited.

• ROTI CANAI on Nov 21, 2024 at 10:16 am

Boikot grab. Hidup bolt

• air hailing on Nov 22, 2024 at 4:48 am

Learnt that business model from Air Asia eh, but using cupboard cutouts to block the vent just makes the whole thing looks even cheaper

• Ehailing drivers r PARTNER not worker! on Nov 22, 2024 at 8:49 am

There r many misunderstanding abt ehailing driver. They r not working nor receive salary from Ehailing company. They r Partners. Ehailing companies r just a Platform for any Car Owners to use their vehicle to earn money. Just like AirBnB or booking.com. These platforms dont own those properties. So as owners, dont u think they hv right to set their own rules on their own property? Those ehailing platforms shld not force drivers to accept any job tht might not profitable for them. They can give discount on their own expense but not tru drivers. Gment shld monitor these platforms not to exploit car owners, not find ways to make it difficult for the car owners to earn extra from taking risk & time to just to put food on the table.

• Jamal on Nov 22, 2024 at 5:16 pm

Inilah akibatnya bila geng teksi buat e-hailing? Potong selagi boleh potong.

• For those never drive grab before , stoo comment . Cause u never know how hard the driver earn money through grab. Do u all know grab taking 20% from driver while driver have 5o paid for the petrol and tyre and maintanance of the car. If u all blame the driver and felt u are clever , come and try drive grab for 1 month.

• U pandai sangat cuba datang cuba bawa grab untuk satu bulan.