Physical driving licence, road tax will be available from next year, but payment may be needed for it – Loke

New road tax (left), driving licence slip (right).

While digital road tax and driver licenses are here to stay, the government looks like it is softening its view on re-offering physical copies of these. Having said last month that anyone wanting a physical road tax and licence can just print it themselves, transport minister Anthony Loke now says that a new initiative will be introduced next year for those who wish to obtain a physical copy of these documents.

Speaking in the Dewan Rakyat, he said the move is in response to complaints from the public, with a number of people having voiced their preference for physical driving licences and road tax. There will however likely be a fee to have them printed, as the New Straits Times reports.

“In this regard, next year we will announce an initiative for anyone who wishes to print their licence physically. They may need to pay for the printing the physical card,” he said, responding to a question posed by Syed Ibrahim Syed Noh (PH-Ledang) about the matter. He however did not elaborate further on the charges that will be imposed for printing these items.

Loke however reiterated that there would be no turning back in terms of the overall shift to digital, and efforts on this front will focus on identifying areas for improvement. “Since the launch of the road transport department’s (JPJ) digitalisation initiative, the ministry and the department have been committed to continuously improving the MyJPJ application to enhance the delivery of online services to the public, ” he said.

He said that one of the improvements being implemented by the ministry, as part of the department’s digitalisation agenda, is the incorporation of a notification function on the app to alert users about the expiration date of their motor vehicle license (LKM). “This new feature will be announced to the public once it is developed and ready for use,” he said.

He added that the MyJPJ smartphone app has been downloaded by 13.7 million users so far, and over one million transactions for the renewal of digital road tax and licences, amounting to RM121 million. have been carried out so far.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• call me by your name on Nov 20, 2024 at 6:36 pm

what about vehicle for ehailing?

we also need to pay extra for it even though we are forced to have it in physical mode?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
    • Now is paperless or no paperless on Nov 20, 2024 at 11:23 pm

Well done. Always the best minister

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
      • Rakyat Malaysia on Nov 22, 2024 at 12:02 am

Sudah bayar roadtax lagi mau bayar utk print physical?! Pegi mampus lah mentri tarak guna!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • Wee Ka Siong Jr on Nov 20, 2024 at 8:21 pm

How about using the proceeds of sale of syiok number plates,so that rakyat can have it foc.
    Next year cost of living sure going up cos the T15 gonna spend more on petrol..those in business will pass increase to 85 % of those who have subsidies.

• Wee Suppork on Nov 21, 2024 at 5:33 pm

Go ask your wakil to petition suggestions to your lovely finance minister pls

• Rakyat Malaysia on Nov 23, 2024 at 5:38 pm

Petition rakyat Malaysia to vote out PH even better!

• Sohai on Nov 20, 2024 at 8:59 pm

Next year you are still the transport minister only talk lah.

• I wanna be minister of women, family & community development but PMX duwan let me

• Gomorrah on Nov 20, 2024 at 9:43 pm

Woi kalau nak naik harga cakap saja la. Dulu harga termasuk salinan fizikal sekarang kena ada phone baru, ini app itu app, baru ada road tax dan lesen. SOP for all those fellers who would previously ask for these items for ID purposes you never update/fix. And then surprised pikachu face when so many people keep asking for the physical items. Die die want digital. Worldcoin much? Ptui

• these recent efforts by MOT combating less important issues is really starting to piss people off man. there are many more other issues worth fixing than this. enforcement of standardised plate number, modification light/exhaust, cutting queue,bike hit car make bike responsible, where the hell is the lemon law until now nothing meeting meeting meeting no result.

• ahmad on Nov 21, 2024 at 7:08 am

U Turn nak duit ke apa ni…

• opmanmy on Nov 21, 2024 at 8:07 am

Idea is half cook. Those kampung area, old folks, you expect them to be “digital”. Now u-turn as usual.

• Susukotak on Nov 21, 2024 at 8:16 am

Apa tujuan bayar lesen setiap tahun? Bukan ada ujian semula. Lepas tu paksa bayar.

• begood on Nov 21, 2024 at 8:32 am

I wish to have photo in the physical ID. Overseas will not recognize if without photo in the I.D

• dodgeviper88 on Nov 21, 2024 at 9:45 am

Every year driving license cost RM30 per person, which is pure profit but can’t even provide a physical driving license card when requested, only know how to collect money. At least you can give out the physical card for the 10 year license renewal

• Laugh on Nov 21, 2024 at 9:49 am

Really good in making money this gomen.

First, we get what we pay for.
    Then, declare it’s not required and it will be given free if required.
    End result, you pay more and get the same thing.

Stop all these drama, wasting our time and tax payers money to do all these so call improvements.
    Might as well just declare increase roadtax and license price lah.

• sabahan on Nov 21, 2024 at 9:50 am

why still need physical? whats the point of 5G? why they emphasize technology? what for cloud?

digital ID also cost a bomb…. forget others la…..

• Second 5G network winner on Nov 21, 2024 at 8:15 pm

Be careful with what you wanna say. We have payung kuning behind us

• t333son on Nov 21, 2024 at 10:05 am

this guy is more like a businessman than a minister . come on, pls focus more on making the vehicles and roads safe. all the laws are for reference only with next to no enforcement

• Can the ministry think and plan before do something?
    https://worldofbuzz.com/its-not-difficult-anthony-loke-tells-msians-driving-in-thailand-to-just-print-their-digital-driving-licences/

• EV Car Mafia on Nov 21, 2024 at 11:47 am

It looks like they overlooked the fact that not everyone has data access or that there are areas with data signal issues.

• newme on Nov 21, 2024 at 12:05 pm

This is additional burden to the people. We have been getting physical license and road tax all these while with the amount we paid. Now forced to pay more in the name of advancement.

• After this what? Need to pay for turn on the indicator light?

• Sohai on Nov 21, 2024 at 3:50 pm

With all these investment in digitization, can the ministry quantify the manpower cost saved?
    Those workers in JPJ that are now having more time… what they do?

• Limteh, yumcha, mengeteh

• opmanmy on Nov 22, 2024 at 8:14 am

What they do? Lepak and borak…what else were you thinking. Try go to any gov dept…the round around is just “amazing”. Well, slightly improvement but still long long way to go like a private corporation KPI. If follow private corp KPI, sure lots of officer dah “di-goreng kan”.

• Sekejap cakap digital saja, sekejap cakap boleh cetak, nak duit cakap terung terang!

• Nubies on Nov 22, 2024 at 8:39 am

Fixing what’s not broken. And making it worse. While there are a lot of issues regarding our transportation concerns. Digitalisation is okay if it is more convenient. So far, it has not been more convenient, but a lot worse with that app, this app, sign in this, sign in that. And then making the most convenient path with physical card, by making us paying for it. Too much effort on useless matter.

• kepala hotak on Nov 22, 2024 at 6:05 pm

he thinks his fathers money we owed him. kepala hotak dia.

• Juragan on Nov 22, 2024 at 6:34 pm

Pelaburan tak berapa nak masuk, jadinya sedut duit rakyat…. Pandai dah Uturn sana sini……

• Anak Negeri on Nov 22, 2024 at 9:39 pm

There is a simple way to solve it. To find out if the person have a valid driving license ask the driver to produce his MyKad. From the MyKad number the JPJ or police can check using their own phone or device to access their data bank to see if the driver has a valid license. The same with road tax and insurance. Check the data using the license plate number.

• Censored by moron on Nov 22, 2024 at 9:41 pm

Can’t comment