Nissan Kicks e-Power launched in Malaysia, series hybrid, 129 PS, 280 Nm, 21.7 km/l, RM114k-126k

At long last, the Nissan Kicks e-Power has been launched in Malaysia at the ongoing Kuala Lumpur International Mobility Show (KLIMS) 2024. The VL is priced at RM113,800; the VLT at RM121,800, OTR before insurance. Add RM4,000 for a black roof on the VLT.

The five-star ASEAN NCAP safety rated Kicks e-Power carries a front-mounted 129 PS/280 Nm electric motor is hooked up to a 82 PS/103 Nm HR12DE 1.2 litre naturally-aspirated three-cylinder that only serves as a generator for the 2.06 kWh battery, with no mechanical connection to the wheels.

The century sprint is done in 9.5 seconds. ‘In-gear’ acceleration is also strong, the car able to get from 100 to 120 km/h in four seconds flat. Fuel consumption is rated at 21.7 km per litre, resulting in a claimed total range of up to 900 km with the 41 litre fuel tank. You get a choice of Normal, Sport and Eco drive modes, plus a one-pedal e-Pedal Step mode. EV mode (petrol engine stays asleep) is possible up to 2.5 km at 40 km/h.

The VL comes with full LED front lighting (headlamps, fog lamps, signals), auto-folding wing mirrors, 17-inch alloys (no spare, tyre repair kit), ‘zero gravity’ fabric seats (manual), electronic parking brake with auto hold, auto air con, cruise control, a 7.0-inch digital meter panel, an 8.0-inch infotainment touchscreen with Apple CarPlay/Android Auto and six speakers. Safety wise, it’s seven airbags plus forward collision warning and braking (AEB).

The VLT adds on two-tone (brown-black) leather for the seats (brown is also on the door cards and dash), a 360-degree around view monitor, intelligent rear view mirror (LCD screen with camera), active cruise control, blind spot warning and rear cross traffic alert. You can have the VLT in two-tone paint as well; count this in and there are three variants in total.

Speaking of colours, choose from Black Star, Brilliant White Pearl, Brilliant Silver (VL only), Red Pearl, Sunrise Orange and Dark Metal Grey (VLT only). VLT buyers can opt to have a black roof on orange, white, red and grey.

Warranties are five years/100,000 km for the vehicle and eight years/160,000 km for the battery, ECU, inverter and electric motor. The first 500 customers get a RM5,000 intro rebate and two years extra on the EV warranty for a total of 10 years/160,000 km. See our full review, full gallery and spec run-through for more information.

Nissan Kicks e-Power VLT at KLIMS 2024

Nissan Kicks e-Power VL at KLIMS 2024

Nissan Kicks e-Power VLT Malaysia drive gallery

Nissan Kicks e-Power VLT two-tone in Malaysia full gallery

Nissan Kicks e-Power VLT two-tone in Malaysia showroom

Nissan Kicks e-Power VL in Malaysia showroom

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• nice pricing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
  • Paul Chan on Dec 04, 2024 at 11:09 am

i had interest in this particular ePower Kicks for the longest time. But with the future of Nissan handing by threads, it may not be wise to invest in one? anyone with insider news please share.

• Santok Singh on Dec 04, 2024 at 1:53 pm

You might look at Corolla Cross hybrid. The fuel consumption reading is on par with the epower Kicks. And it’s a Toyota so it’s not in financial troubles.

• Liyana on Dec 04, 2024 at 6:33 pm

e-POWER is different, it’s 100% electric motor driven and charged by petrol, which gives it much better torque and response compared to normal hybrids

• Aliff on Dec 04, 2024 at 6:22 pm

hmm..I think they stand a chance with their innovation of e-Power

• Sillyme on Dec 05, 2024 at 9:59 am

Was there on the launch, Nissan Japanese side reaffirmed their commitment that Malaysia will have priority in launching new e-POWER lineups. Expect that Nissan will pull through

• We need Serena C28!! on Dec 07, 2024 at 9:28 am

i only interested in serena c28 epower. No where to be seen? when it is going to launch? Y keep launching SUV tht abundance in the market? What is TC marketing team doing? Cant u see wat the market need? There is no competition in the midsize mpv market!!! Fired all TC mkting team!

• Lance Chau on Dec 04, 2024 at 11:16 am

harga macam mahal sikit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • opmanmy on Dec 04, 2024 at 12:41 pm

Ingat max 90k baru can consider. Ini mahal woi, for dated model.

At that pricing, lots of other better options.

• GGCar on Dec 09, 2024 at 10:38 pm

90k can you get HR-V or Corolla Cross? I feel like this is lowest on the market for this segment SUV. Too low government won’t allow due to protect national car like Perodua & Proton/Geely.

• Liyana on Dec 12, 2024 at 9:15 am

This is the cheapest B-segment non national SUV on the market i think. And it’s powered with e-Power, fuel efficiency is great!

• fathi on Dec 04, 2024 at 9:43 pm

harga berpatutan jugak kalau tengok spec dia betulx2

• fudgemesideways on Dec 04, 2024 at 11:23 am

Mati sebelum sampai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
  • ClownsEverywhere on Dec 04, 2024 at 11:27 am

Outdated jacked up Almera with Hybrid

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
    • This is the latest e-power model though, a totally different type of hybrid!

• too late on Dec 04, 2024 at 11:44 am

lambat sangat, now already many EV and CCP cars, tak laku lagi dah. semua salah TCM always lambat mcm siput

• with that pricing i see no reasons to not go for HRV instead.

• Zuskopi on Dec 04, 2024 at 12:15 pm

Let’s imagine this. Knowing the mess that Nissan is currently in, and you still buy one. Then you hope for the best but then lose sleep worrying, will Nissan die, will Nissan live. You think you could resell it but who’s going to buy it from you? So stressful. You buy, you die. You don’t buy, Tan Chong die. Nissan dying already a given, just waiting for plug to come off. Animals go extinct, so can brands, so can Nissan. This is so exciting! Nissan “KICKS” the bucket!

• matt chai on Dec 07, 2024 at 12:33 am

no lah, Nissan has been around for ages and this is a good comeback. kasi lah chance dulu

• The pricing is not bad actually. Hope nissan can still stay relevent, otherwise more people lose their job is not good for the industry.

• There is new kicks 2025 on others market.. they give malaysian old unsold car

• Ben Yap on Dec 04, 2024 at 1:40 pm

anyone buying this car will risk facing trouble when TCM closed its doors.

• after reading the expert reviews which are predominantly positive, i think it’s worth considering, go test drive first

• kosumaledoko on Dec 04, 2024 at 11:17 pm

Don’t think it will an issue, if Nissan went bankrupt, another China car brand will scoop it up, just like MG, as Nissan brand still have value.

The only thing to worry is they might not cover warranty for pre-takeover vehicle.

• GGCar on Dec 10, 2024 at 12:06 am

Nissan had the same situation before, was saved by Renault previously. Now Honda & Nissan most likely to join soon.

• Sohai on Dec 04, 2024 at 2:07 pm

Pricing is actually quite ok with the RM5k rebate…

• Jinpin on Dec 05, 2024 at 9:43 am

Nice pricing. When government scrap the petrol subsidy, you will be pleased with the double mileage this car generate with same amount of fuel. No pinch whenever you need to fill up the tank.

• Mayor on Dec 06, 2024 at 9:06 am

When a new generation is being launched everywhere else in the world and TCM just launching this gen here shows how committed they are to our market. Not only Nissan bleeding, local rep also the same…

• GGCar on Dec 10, 2024 at 12:03 am

Actually In Singapore and Thailand they are using the one TCM released Kicks E-POWER model as the latest. New Kicks launched in USA its a RHD and 4×4 with Turbo. Do

• outdated design.. where everywhere else got the 2025 version.. we stuck with the last gen..

• Matt Dom on Mar 10, 2025 at 2:30 pm

people saying the 2025 Nissan Kicks cannot compare to this piece of museum display because of e-power, is missing the point. Whatever engine it may have used, no excuse can be done that the chassic and platform is almost 10 years old. ride and handling will suffer. Structural design suffers, coz all from old tech.