Transport minister Anthony Loke has said vehicle owners have six months to settle their traffic summonses at a special flat rate of RM150. This offer will cover three traffic offences, including exceeding the speed limit, not complying with traffic light rules, notice 114 (requiring the offender to be questioned) and notice 115 (saman tampal) – these usually cost RM300.
“We have given the special rate for six months so that those who did not pay their summonses could do it immediately. If they do not pay their summonses, they cannot renew their driving licences,” Loke said in a report by The Star.
The payment period is from tomorrow (January 3) until June 30 this year, and payments can only be made through JPJ counters (including mobile ones) and kiosks, or the MyJPJ app. Payments cannot be made through other channels, including MyEG or Pos Malaysia. “Some of the outstanding summonses have already been blacklisted without them knowing. So when their road tax is due for renewal, they cannot renew their road tax,” Loke said.
“The moment their road tax or licence is due for renewal, they cannot renew it due to their outstanding summonses. That is why we gave them a six-month grace period so that they can pay up their summonses with a special rate of RM150, so that they can immediately renew their licence or road tax,” he continued, adding that there are currently two million outstanding summonses under the Automated Awareness Safety System (AWAS).
On a related note, Bernama reports that the accumulation of demerit points would be temporarily suspended from tomorrow until June 30. During this period, the JPJ enforcement division will review the method of implementing the demerit points system.
thats right folks, our yearly sales are back
Guess some dont even bother since some justify themselves no need to even buy insurance (even driving big car) because they drive short distance and if kena just know la how to get away from it.
Why don’t make it cannot sell car , cannot take loan if saman not settled. Many still drive without valid road tax and license .
Lorries & buses are crashing left and right yet Loke here is rewarding lawbreakers. No surprises coming from a lawbreaking party. Too bad we cannot impeach him for not doing his job as Transport Minister!
Anwarkor…if u dont need the money from fast collection of compounds…just issue an order to Ahlokekor to STOP all these bad practices.
Next time,people who rob and maim will think they will get some “discounts” when hakim pass sentence.
I thot the deposed trojan horse was bad.Now ahlokekor is worst.
The rakyat is tired,fed up,disillusioned already with cukai pintu n medical insurance skyrocketing.
Perhaps a one term Madani germen is getting closer with so much infighting by trojan horses attacking coalition partners.
Dear JPJ, PDRM,
Can we stop this practice giving discount for traffic offense. What message are you trying to send to all drivers? Keep breaking the law, discount is there for everyone to enjoy? No wonder we are among the nations which have highest traffic accident in the world. Stop being popular to gain votes. Lives is more important !!
Even this discount ah….people oso no pay. Why bother lah when no enforcement. Come on lah…..you blake the tlaffic light color ah, fine oledi so murah…some more got discount…..no need pay oso can lah….cause cannot renew road tax never mind lah….still can drive what. Bo enforcement ma. Aiyah our gomen….come on lah. Tomollo have drunk driving accident oso no pay, then get discount….finally nothing oso happen. When will there be real action….oh i got forget, this is boleh land.
Why don’t maintain the summon amount and just block the person from renewing road tax and license? Government makes more money and morons are off the road. Win win situation.
I helped my client to paid 2 speeding jpj summons amunting Rm600 around 3.30pm on 2/01/2025, my question is can my client claim back his half 50% discount money? I don’t think he can….
My comment is If Jpj kept given special discount like this, really not fare to others that paid earlier, future, public won’t pay earler anymore.
I also paid that day near noon. When I asked can appeal, they said no, it’s fixed. By evening , the news of summon discount was out
Exactly. I also paid proactively that day near noon. I asked whether can appeal, they said no, fixed amount. Before evening, got the news of discounts offered to summons.
if gov maintain the summon amount and block the person from renewing road tax and license, all people will call this gov is cruel, tak ada timbang rasa. if block people from buy/sell car, also will say this gov is cruel, tak ada rahmah. so, instead with different approach give flat rate and period to settlement until 30 june, this look better and soft. BUT, please after 30 june using the same approach without giving discount, ok?
This discount is specifically targeted at land transport users who are cautious and unwilling to risk skipping their road tax renewal. For those who remain stubborn, no effort will change their mindset.
I take my precious time to edit video and pictures, then forward to JPJ for them to take action and now you give discount?
Flat Rate Summon RM150
Flat Rate Summon RM150. What is the discount voucher code?